Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Camaro V6 LLT Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=38)
-   -   Oil breather install help (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=183207)

jlauber588 11-18-2011 11:41 PM

Oil breather install help
 
So I got a catchcan and breather for my v6 camaro and the directions were lacking on how/where the oil breather goes. Does anyone know how to install the breather on a stock engine with still stock air intake. Any pics would also help. Thanks

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk

mhog 11-18-2011 11:51 PM

The breather replaces your oil fil cap.

SIXJAK 11-19-2011 12:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mhog (Post 4043891)
The breather replaces your oil fil cap.

yeah what he said and make sure to plug the breather nipple on your intake as well as the breather port in back of the motor (driver side). Good luck.:thumbsup:

SC2150 11-19-2011 10:46 AM

Is it a RX Products flow controlled checkvalved unit? If not you may need a tune to prevent a CEL due to the unmetered/un-restriced air entering w/out the MAF metering it. If you need help PM your email & I can email you the instructions that include what to cap off. :thumbsup:

Lgndryhr 11-19-2011 03:10 PM

Uh....I just replaced my oil cap with the breather when I bought it with my catch can. I have the stock intake. Was I supposed to do something too?

SC2150 11-19-2011 10:18 PM

Yes. If using a breather you need to delete the fresh air line and cap the unused nipples or you will have your fuel trims going crazy from the unmetered air (log and watch them). :thumbsup:

Lgndryhr 11-20-2011 01:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC2150 (Post 4047028)
Yes. If using a breather you need to delete the fresh air line and cap the unused nipples or you will have your fuel trims going crazy from the unmetered air (log and watch them). :thumbsup:

Oh....opps. Is there a HowTo for this? How can I check my fuel trims? I don't have a way to log it. Much appreciated!

Lgndryhr 11-21-2011 10:29 PM

Anyone have a HowTo to do this properly? Please and thank you!

hunterv6 11-21-2011 10:50 PM

I think I also installed my rx breather wrong didn't know I need to cap the fresh air line

SC2150 11-22-2011 10:01 AM

Checkvalved Breather






NOTE: For the V8 If installing the optional breather you must cap off the nipple on the front inner side of the passenger valve cover and eliminate the hose to the airbridge and cap that end off as well to prevent unmetered air from entering the system.




Make sure to apply some oil to the O-ring to aid in removal!!


On the V6, The tube that runs from the CAI (or stock airbox) to the rear of the drivers side valve cover needs to be deleted and both fittings capped.

hunterv6 11-22-2011 10:06 AM

:thumbsup:thanks had mine on wrong for months i alway wonder where the two caps went.

jlauber588 11-25-2011 12:50 AM

Does anyone have a pic of the stock intake after the breather install on the drivers side?

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk

Lgndryhr 11-25-2011 01:21 AM

I too would like to see this. It would help.

camaro-21 11-25-2011 01:18 PM

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=183477. If you go to this thread there are some pics


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.