Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Which warning do LT headers throw off (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=118664)

metallicide 12-05-2010 08:04 AM

Which warning do LT headers throw off
 
Have a warning like light on my speedometer that looks like an alternator light or somtin...its orange and on the face of the gauge.....not sure what it is.

Kwaz1335 12-05-2010 09:17 AM

Otherwise known as your check engine light? Get your car tuned by a reputable shop and they will be able to eliminate it. Your engine is throwing codes because the O2 sensors are farther away than original and are not heating up fast enough or getting too much of the bad stuff that cats are supposed to eliminate. You can either have your car tuned to have the secondary O2 sensors eliminated or you can insert O2 bung extenders.

SSMOKINHOT 12-05-2010 09:26 AM

I believe headers usually make the check engine light come on. Have you consulted the owner's manual?

http://www.c6registry.com/Technical/...maromanual.pdf

Alain 12-05-2010 01:14 PM

get the bung extensions, cheap fix. payed 20 bucks for mine off ebay

Big Daddy Kane 12-05-2010 08:40 PM

I would get the computer tune done. That way you can tune the computer for the headers and get even more power.

Revo1 12-05-2010 09:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Big Daddy Kane (Post 2611174)
I would get the computer tune done. That way you can tune the computer for the headers and get even more power.

+1. Tune the beast, the only way to really get rid of that code.

metallicide 12-05-2010 10:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Revo1 (Post 2611455)
+1. Tune the beast, the only way to really get rid of that code.

I realize this was a stupid question the way I worded it. I left out some info. I thought it was something electrical because my remote start wouldnt work but I guess a check engine light disables remote start.

Getting tuned next week when the S/C goes on. Just have to deal with it until then.

trudawg660 12-09-2010 11:01 PM

I installed my kooks a week and a half ago, and I don't have a tune as of right now. for the first week the CEL did not come on but a few days ago it came on. people say it doesn't affect anything but I have notice the car doesn't change gears the same. I have a L99 and if I'm in 5th gear and push the gas a little it would normally drop into 4th gear. now I have to push it even harder to get it to drop into 4th.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.