Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=73)
-   -   Cost of a Tune? (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=45338)

Tanner 10-01-2009 07:15 PM

Cost of a Tune?

I have everything I'm going to do to my Camaro now. I put the Borla's on and the Roto-fab CAI. I just got the American Racing Long Tubes with cats and X-Pipe. I just talked to a guy in Phoeinix that would install the headers for $350 and do a tune for $600. Does this sound in line? I was thinking about getting the Vector Motorsports PowerFlash Tuner or Diablosport Predator or Trinity Programmers. The Powerflash is $599 right now. The Predator is $369. The Trinity is $599.

I'm a novice at tuning and see that these look simple enough. Would I need another tune down the road just to make sure everthing is still tuned properly. If that's the case I guess buying one the units and doing it on my own would be better. Are the shop tunes any better than one of these units you can buy?

toehead93 10-01-2009 07:27 PM

That seems high for a tune but good for the install.

Tanner 10-01-2009 07:48 PM

That's funny because he said he was giving Camaro people a special on the tune.

domano 68 10-01-2009 08:02 PM

Sounds like the Diablo Predator would be a better deal than the Vector tune since with the Diablo you get the handheld device plus a tune compared to Vector's tune with just a cable plus another $230. I'd like to understand the differences and which would be a better buy.

POWERFREAK 10-01-2009 08:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by domano 68 (Post 994210)