Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Camaro V6 LLT Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=38)
-   -   Few questions regarding my black-ice olater (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=259582)

tjk_art 11-06-2012 07:08 PM

Few questions regarding my black-ice olater
 
So I got this installed today, and was just curious if anyone has had trouble with the missing parts (two furthest back bolts, and the brace on the throttle body)

Also, after I started up my car the second time since installing, I got a quick flash of "Service Stabilitrack" and then it went away.. hasn't come back on since. Is this normal or an issue?

Thanks

Ventmaster 11-06-2012 07:22 PM

Nope- no one to my knowledge has had an issue without those points of connection.

The Stabiltrack light comes on each time you start your car briefly, just like the check engine light, ABS light and all the other "idiot lights" come on to let you know they are working.

Be sure to re-torque your IM bolts in a week or two, to 18ft/lbs (usually need about a half turn or so). They can loosen a bit after a few heat cycles. :thumbsup:

chevy 3 11-06-2012 07:29 PM

I've had no problems with the extra parts. The stabilatrack warning is nothing. Mine has done this for three years and no problems.

tjk_art 11-06-2012 07:51 PM

Thanks guys. Just to clarify, it's not the light coming on. The screen is literally telling me "Service Stabilitrack" and showing a wrench.

pgustavson 11-06-2012 08:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ventmaster (Post 5780996)
Be sure to re-torque your IM bolts in a week or two, to 18ft/lbs (usually need about a half turn or so). They can loosen a bit after a few heat cycles. :thumbsup:

Make sure the engine is cool before you re-torque the bolts...

Not sure about the the "Service Stabilitrak" message. I have always disconnected the negative battery terminal when installing mods and have never encountered any messages or codes. I've heard of that message appearing after loading a new tune though. Are you tuned???

nikos30 11-06-2012 08:39 PM

take it in...the insulator wont mess with your warranty either.

RubyCamaro 11-06-2012 08:47 PM

You can go by an autozone & have them read the code if it re-appears. Or try driving it around some & see if the code clears. I was told it takes like 40-50 miles for your car to "re-learn" after the mods are added. If it does not show up again I would not sweat it. I had to re-index my windows a couple of times after my install that was the only message I got.

C586 11-06-2012 08:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RubyCamaro (Post 5781343)
You can go by an autozone & have them read the code if it re-appears. Or try driving it around some & see if the code clears. I was told it takes like 40-50 miles for your car to "re-learn" after the mods are added. If it does not show up again I would not sweat it. I had to re-index my windows a couple of times after my install that was the only message I got.

They can't read any codes besides engine codes. And you would probably need to help them even do that. Idk how autozone is still in business with how they work.

10RsCamaro 11-07-2012 07:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjk_art (Post 5781091)
Thanks guys. Just to clarify, it's not the light coming on. The screen is literally telling me "Service Stabilitrack" and showing a wrench.

When entering the car, if u start the car by just tapping the key the service stabile track will come on for 3 seconds and go away. If u hold the key in on start up it will not appear. :thumbsup:

C586 11-07-2012 11:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 10RsCamaro (Post 5782463)
When entering the car, if u start the car by just tapping the key the service stabile track will come on for 3 seconds and go away. If u hold the key in on start up it will not appear. :thumbsup:

That's not true. I never once saw the light or warning and always started my car that way.

LVDran 11-08-2012 12:07 AM

I got that Service Stabilitrak as well when I installed mine. Guy that helped me install it says that its common to get that when you unplug the MAF (along with a CEL) or some such thing. Nothing to worry about afaik. Now if it has shown up more than just that once id be a little more worried.

Ventmaster 11-08-2012 09:04 AM

2010 Owner's Manual, page 4-24:

"The Stabilitrak system or the Traction Control System (TCS) indicator/warning light comes on briefly while starting the engine.

If it does not, have the vehicle serviced by your dealer/retailer. If the system is working normally the indicator light will then go off."

The manual goes on to say the indicator flashes while the system is doing its job on a low traction surface and if it comes on and stays on while driving, the vehicle needs service.

I think by "indicator/warning light" they mean the screen (Service Stabilitrak) and warning light- as that does come on briefly each and every time I start my car, since I bought it.

This may have caused so much consternation among owners that GM has removed that light from the start-up sequence, so some got it and some don't. :iono:

C586 11-08-2012 11:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ventmaster (Post 5786421)
2010 Owner's Manual, page 4-24:

"The Stabilitrak system or the Traction Control System (TCS) indicator/warning light comes on briefly while starting the engine.

If it does not, have the vehicle serviced by your dealer/retailer. If the system is working normally the indicator light will then go off."

The manual goes on to say the indicator flashes while the system is doing its job on a low traction surface and if it comes on and stays on while driving, the vehicle needs service.

I think by "indicator/warning light" they mean the screen (Service Stabilitrak) and warning light- as that does come on briefly each and every time I start my car, since I bought it.

This may have caused so much consternation among owners that GM has removed that light from the start-up sequence, so some got it and some don't. :iono:

Thats normal, its called a bulb check. But no warnings should be on the DIC on startup. If any service warnings come up on the actual DIC something needs to be checked because thats not how its supposed to work.

Sikoriko 11-08-2012 03:29 PM

Do you have a tune?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.