Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Suspension / Brakes / Chassis (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=93)
-   -   Magnetic Ride Control - Marketing Hype or Real Performance Advantage? (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=177885)

calbert1999 10-21-2011 02:57 PM

Magnetic Ride Control - Marketing Hype or Real Performance Advantage?

I've been doing research to understand the big deal around the latest information with the Camaro ZL1 having Magnetic Ride Control.

I'm not an engineer but my understanding is that the shocks have some kind of special fluid and electronic sensors that allow the vehicles computer to adjust camber to provide a stiffer or less stiff feel based on road conditions.

So, the question is; Considering, this technology has been around for several years in other vehicles since 2002, is it just Marketing Hype because it's going to be in the ZL1 or is it really a true Peformance Advantage? Aren't there more recent and better shock technologies on the market?

For example; Does this avoid the need for any aftermarket coilovers, bushings, control arm upgrades, trailing arms / links or sway bars or will you still require additional suspension upgrades if you want better suspension performance?

Apex Motorsports 10-21-2011 04:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by calbert1999 (Post 3912405)
I've been doing research to understand the big deal around the latest information with the Camaro ZL1 having Magnetic Ride Control.

I'm not an engineer but my understanding is that the shocks have some kind of special fluid and electronic sensors that allow the vehicles computer to adjust camber to provide a stiffer or less stiff feel based on road conditions.