Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Separate key and fob (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=303538)

pr3dict 06-23-2013 01:35 PM

Separate key and fob

Soooo does GM or an aftermarket company make a key and fob separate from each other? I frequently have to drive places and run in for only a few seconds and would hate to have to turn the car on/off every time I do that. So what I usually do is keep key in ignition and use a quick release key chain and take the fob with me and lock the car...

ALSO, and this is a big one, I am a firefighter and there are many times in the middle of the night that I have to get up and drive to the firehouse (rather quickly) and then park the car and jump on a truck. It kills me to start the car up beat the **** out of it and then turn it off in a matter of 3 minutes. So what I normally do is when I get to my destination I keep the car on and lock it because calls are usually only a matter of 1/2 hour so I'd rather keep my car idling for a half hour then turn it on and off so quick like that. Also a lot of the time someone will take my key from from my locker and turn the car off for me if I'm gone for an extended period of time...

Any suggestions?

RJT Impala 06-23-2013 01:40 PM

when you get to the station, turn the car off, lock it, then use the remote start. It willshut off after 10 minutes and it will remain secure.

pr3dict 06-23-2013 01:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RJT Impala (Post 6704862)
when you get to the station, turn the car off, lock it, then use the remote start. It willshut off after 10 minutes and it will remain secure.

I ordered a m6 no remote start =/

RJT Impala 06-23-2013 01:48 PM

Sorry--I missed that.

pr3dict 06-23-2013 01:49 PM