Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   Help Finding 5 Volt Source *** (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=240161)

Indyblue98 07-27-2012 07:17 PM

Help Finding 5 Volt Source ***
 
Really need to know how to access 5 volt power.
The rest is just ranting and whinning.:confused0068:
Purchased a Dashtronix Gauge Projector that allows the DIC and HUD to display Boost and Air Fuel Ratio's.
The unit comes with a Map Sensor that requires 5 Volt input.
When I contacted DashTronix what wires are 5 volts.. the response was to find a 5 volt sensor wire, and piggyback into the fuse for that sensor .:rolleyes:
Don't connect to 12 volts it will destroy the unit.
OK,,, where is the source of this 5 volt sensor.
Response ,, model specific , do your own research.:mad0259:
Originally bought the unit in May and was installed when the Supercharger was put on.
But it was not compatiable so the Dashtronix and the Inovative Wideband were both sent back to Dashtronix for an update.
10 weeks later it returns with a 1 page install sheet.

This is supossed to be calibrated for a 12-13 Camaro
so why not tell me what the used for setup?

audiomikej 07-27-2012 07:47 PM

You could always buy a 5 volt regulator from digikey.com for like a $1, take the 12 volts safely down to 5 volts. Electronics 101.

Indyblue98 07-27-2012 07:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by audiomikej (Post 5355816)
You could always buy a 5 volt regulator from digikey.com for like a $1, take the 12 volts safely down to 5 volts. Electronics 101.

Thanks , From the Dashtronix response I was expecting a 5 volt source somewhere already available.
Guess thats why they said to do my own research.

jeepguy_1980 07-27-2012 08:02 PM

USB is 5v, so any phone charger should do the trick, or maybe the PDIM. There's also this, if you don't want to make your own solution.

http://www.1topstore.com/en-usd/car-...5w-p21794.html

jeepguy_1980 07-27-2012 08:08 PM

3 Attachment(s)
More

Indyblue98 07-27-2012 08:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeepguy_1980 (Post 5355851)
USB is 5v, so any phone charger should do the trick, or maybe the PDIM. There's also this, if you don't want to make your own solution.

http://www.1topstore.com/en-usd/car-...5w-p21794.html


Cool , Thanks

gutterball 07-27-2012 09:17 PM

go to walmart, they have a unit that plugs onto 12v and you select the voltage out via a slide switch, 3v, 5v, 6v, 9v, 12v etc

CWI 07-28-2012 08:02 AM

Jeepguy, you gave a LS diagram. The OP has a 2SS

jeepguy_1980 07-28-2012 08:25 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CWIweldace (Post 5357480)
Jeepguy, you gave a LS diagram. The OP has a 2SS

BCM and radio are still the same.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.