Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Camaro V6 LLT Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=38)
-   -   Thinking out loud: 3.6L V6DI (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4144)

Mr. Wyndham 05-16-2008 12:42 PM

Thinking out loud: 3.6L V6DI

So, I'm bored at work today - and I'm goin' through GM's powertrain site, reading up on the Direct Injection V6 we're likely to get. Mainly trying to figure out if it's possible to Turbo it.

Here's what I found:

The engine has a forged crank and connecting rods.
It has a fuel shut-off at 7000rpms.
CR is an astounding 11.3 : 1 :help: (why is that astounding?)
Because it only requires regular unleaded - they don't even "reccomend" premium!!!

I'm no powertrain engineer...but does this engine seem to be built for Forced Induction, or at least "willing" to accept it? The innards should be able to handle it; and by simply using premium fuel; you should easily be able to push 5-7 lbs of boost into it.

Thoughts?

Dan 05-16-2008 01:01 PM

A CR of 11.3:1 doesn't seem like its ready for FI to me.

GTAHVIT 05-16-2008 01:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan (Post 69999)
A CR of 11.3:1 doesn't seem like its ready for FI to me.

Agreed,

That is extremely high CR for blowers or turbos. You might get away with 5 pounds of boost, but I wouldn't go past that. For the money you'll spend on FI, I don't think you'll be happy with the end result. That high of a compression ratio doesn't really give you a lot of room to grow.

Now, don't get me wrong that's a great little motor.

AirGoya 05-16-2008 02:20 PM

Can someone catch me up on what CR is, and what the numbers mean?

Mr. Wyndham 05-16-2008 02:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AirGoya (Post 70013)

Compression Ratio