Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Is there a stigma? LT RS vs SS (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5611)

CUPRA 07-28-2008 11:48 PM

Is there a stigma? LT RS vs SS

I am relatively new to the US, and even newer to American 'Muscle Cars', being born and bred in Scotland. Moved here a little over 5 years ago.. always had European/Japanese cars.

So my question is this... my budget is probably only going to allow me to stretch to an LT with the RS package...

Is there a stigma attached to having a V6 RS Camaro vs the base V8 or SS version?

I know there are people who will say 'you can never have enough power' or 'a true Muscle Car should be a V8. However, the projected 27mpg and 304bhp out of the V6 seems decent enough...

Discuss...?

Kyle2k 07-28-2008 11:55 PM

The fact that this Camaro with maybe $500 worth of mods will shame almost every car that is "higher" in its segment (for instance: the Mustang v6 AND v8, the 350z, etc, etc, etc) proves that you don't need an SS to have fun. Furthermore you will be able to fully option your car and still keep it affordable ;)

boxmonkeyracing 07-29-2008 12:10 AM

buy whatever your budget can afford. if that's what you can buy then get it. . .now aday people are accepting v6 sports cars where back in the day not so much.

TAG UR IT 07-29-2008 12:16 AM

I think there was....something that went along with owning an SS.

BUT....times are changing.

And this new V6 is going to take the cake all across the board in the V6 car market. If there was a stigma, it's gone w/ the wind now. My honest opinion.

phlegm 07-29-2008 12:59 AM