Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Forced Induction - V6 (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=98)
-   -   V6 STS Turbo Install (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=105212)

MTI Racing Kevin 09-10-2010 01:09 PM

V6 STS Turbo Install
 
Check out this V6 Camaro getting the STS Turbo treatment!

STS Turbo has designed a very cool turbo kit for the V6 Camaro. This kit uses an STS turbo running at approximately 6 psi of boost. It includes all the necessary hardware and accessories for a great fit and finish. Jim's Camaro retains the stock driving characteristics until he mashes the gas and the turbo spools up making an additional 120hp to the rear wheels. That is extremely impressive considering that the car came factory with 300hp. We also installed a single Auto Meter boost gauge with a single pillar pod along with a Turbonetics T4 turbo blanket to keep the turbo spooled with heat and protect the components around it.

Customer's impressions"The turbo spools up very quickly and is awesome on the highway when I mash the gas, the car is so much fun to drive".

MTI Racing and STS Turbo put together a great combination. Please call or visit us at (770)919-7774 www.mtiracing.com


http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4153/...cf07504279.jpg

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4130/...ae52ddc70e.jpg

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4108/...e9cd846fd5.jpg

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4084/...e914f32c1d.jpg

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4130/...84bc00421a.jpg

Tiny 09-10-2010 01:12 PM

well. I guess that answers my question lol.

christianmotox 09-10-2010 01:21 PM

Sweet, any issues with the tune?

Mcnamee 09-10-2010 01:23 PM

hmm what were the final dyno numbers? everyone seems to be getting around the same as the SS for wheel horse, I thought STS was saying 400 + but i guess its because of tuning problems right now getting it to go past 5 psi.

Z Madness 09-10-2010 01:45 PM

Did you guys change the spring or use a boost controller to get the 6 psi? Also, no A/F gauge?

Maurdib 09-10-2010 02:59 PM

I thought people were only seeing 5 did you really achieve 6?

Z Madness 09-10-2010 05:03 PM

The 5 is because of the 5spi spring in the wastegate. You can up the spring if you like. 5psi is reached rather quickly.

elsololobo02 01-13-2011 05:58 PM

Z Madness...or anyone who knows about turbos. Is it the tune or the size of the wastegate spring that effects how much psi you can boost to? If it is the spring is it simply replacing the spring to get more boost or do you have to buy a boost controller?

GretchenGotGrowl 01-13-2011 06:32 PM

You can use the springs alone or with a boost controller. Using a stiffer spring ups the boost.

elsololobo02 01-14-2011 06:59 PM

Gretchen,

Thanks for the info. I think I will keep the boost at 5 PSI for the moment until more testing is done so I don't have to change out rods, pistons, valve springs or tranny from stock. I'd rather err on the side of safety when working with stock tolerances/capabilities.

JANNETTYRACING 01-14-2011 07:38 PM

Any chance we can see a dyno graph before and after?

Looks Real Good guys.

Ted.

camaro guy 01-14-2011 08:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by elsololobo02 (Post 2731525)
Gretchen,

Thanks for the info. I think I will keep the boost at 5 PSI for the moment until more testing is done so I don't have to change out rods, pistons, valve springs or tranny from stock. I'd rather err on the side of safety when working with stock tolerances/capabilities.

i dont think anyone makes those parts. how do you plan on changing them and or the tranny?

elsololobo02 01-14-2011 10:16 PM

That is why I feel safe keeping the psi at 5 rather than increasing the boost. As of right now there are very few upgraded aftermarket parts (rods, pistons, tranny etc.) and I don't want to surpass the tolerances/capability of the stock components. I just think more testing needs to be done to be able to increase boost (beyond 5-6 psi) to a level that the stock components can effectively handle without breaking. At some point in time if you keep adding in power (FI) you will eventually have to start upgrading to parts that can handle the total power output.

GretchenGotGrowl 01-15-2011 09:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JANNETTYRACING (Post 2731620)
Any chance we can see a dyno graph before and after?

Looks Real Good guys.

Ted.

I've got a before, but it will be on a different dyno and location. I'll try to get another before we start, but mine is going to be a quick turn around. I can't remember if Z posted a dyno before the turbos on his (thinks are a little harder to get on the islands :(, so it's been a lot harder for him.).

GretchenGotGrowl 01-15-2011 09:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by elsololobo02 (Post 2731525)
Gretchen,

Thanks for the info. I think I will keep the boost at 5 PSI for the moment until more testing is done so I don't have to change out rods, pistons, valve springs or tranny from stock. I'd rather err on the side of safety when working with stock tolerances/capabilities.

Quote:

Originally Posted by camaro guy (Post 2731704)
i dont think anyone makes those parts. how do you plan on changing them and or the tranny?

I think we can get rods, but they may not be too big a problem. Definitely want to replace the bolts. Pistons are a totally different matter. These things are funky to deal with the DI, so it will take a custom set. I'm saving for that now. As for the tranny, I'm considering complete replacement but I'm not sure how that will work with these new type controllers. That's going to take a bit of research. There's a guy locally that says we could rebuild it ourselves, but I think he's assuming there are parts available.

Anyways, I starting at 5-6 psi, too. I'll do lots of logging as I work my way up to 8-9. I think she can handle it, but probably not much more. I'll working on some stuff to lower the compression a bit, but that's going to take a while (and money) to do it right. Some may be possible with custom pistons, but probably not enough without decreasing effeciency of the DI setup. Biggest think will the to tear it apart at some point and see what it really looks like in there.

a red maro 01-15-2011 11:08 PM

one thing's for, i would really be nervous with the turbo being that low to the ground. i would be cringing at every single puddle no matter the depth.

jim505 01-17-2011 08:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JANNETTYRACING (Post 2731620)
Any chance we can see a dyno graph before and after?

Looks Real Good guys.

Ted.

You can find it in this thread:

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=100329

Jim


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.