Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=67)
-   -   Power Port Mod, power without ignition on (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=109776)

overhaulengines 10-08-2010 12:22 AM

Power Port Mod, power without ignition on
 
5 Attachment(s)
i got used to have a direct power point like in my f250 and also in my van, you know where you can plug in your device and charge it and dont need to have the key in the ignition. well our camaro's are not designed to work that way. soooooo, i ran direct power to my power port so i dont have to have the ignition on or key in.:D, i purchase a tap fuse from autozone for like 6.00, tap off the fuse box by the driver side, pulled my console up, cut the red power wire to the power port and capped it. I then ran the new wire from the fuse panel and bingo, i can charged my phone or any other device without the key turned in the ignition.:D

Lupe

Ivan @ Southwest Speed 10-08-2010 12:58 AM

Dig it!!

Been thinking about this for a while. Well done!
Ivan

overhaulengines 10-08-2010 11:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ivan @ Southwest Speed (Post 2418145)
Dig it!!

Been thinking about this for a while. Well done!
Ivan

thx, works perfect.

lupe

Sir Nuke 06-05-2012 03:27 PM

which fuse did you tap into, which number? I'm looking at the diagarm in the manual in the pdf.....but the image is too fuzy. and I'm at work and can't go and look.

overhaulengines 06-05-2012 03:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sir Nuke (Post 5077309)
which fuse did you tap into, which number? I'm looking at the diagarm in the manual in the pdf.....but the image is too fuzy. and I'm at work and can't go and look.

i will check when i get home, don't have my ride here.

lupe

Myfirstgixxer600 06-05-2012 04:24 PM

Was just thinking about doing the same thing yesterday. Good job. Looks like a clean install.

GVA 45TH 2SS 02-16-2014 11:51 AM

I just went to do this and realized That in that orientation, your 20 amp fuse is being protected by the 10 amp fuse below it.
power to that fuse (display) comes from the near side of the fuse holder.
any other place in there we can use a fuse tap?
maybe can I use the spare locations that have one terminal that is hot (the other is missing)

2012LS3VERT 02-16-2014 09:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GVA 45TH 2SS (Post 7425962)
I just went to do this and realized That in that orientation, your 20 amp fuse is being protected by the 10 amp fuse below it.
power to that fuse (display) comes from the near side of the fuse holder.
any other place in there we can use a fuse tap?
maybe can I use the spare locations that have one terminal that is hot (the other is missing)

The tap fuse doesn't work that way. The fuses are in parallel, and the lower fuse is just to protect the original circuit and the upper fuse only protects the added accessory. You are good to just use it as shown.

GVA 45TH 2SS 02-17-2014 07:27 PM

Yes I know they are in parallel, but in the orientation shown the power is coming in from the right side of the lower fuse 10A.
since the left leg is the supply side of the fuse tap (feeds both fuses).
simple test here- take the bottom fuse out and I bet you will not have power on the pigtail.
orientation does matter on these fuse taps, unless your pigtail fuse is smaller than the original circuit/fuse.
FWIW I ended up using the trunk fuse location and all is good.
My outlets are powered all the time already because my Night owls came with a jumper that goes in place of the relay for the outlets. I just needed another tap for more lighting.

layzurguy 02-17-2014 09:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GVA 45TH 2SS (Post 7429390)
Yes I know they are in parallel, but in the orientation shown the power is coming in from the right side of the lower fuse 10A.
since the left leg is the supply side of the fuse tap (feeds both fuses).
simple test here- take the bottom fuse out and I bet you will not have power on the pigtail.
orientation does matter on these fuse taps, unless your pigtail fuse is smaller than the original circuit/fuse.
FWIW I ended up using the trunk fuse location and all is good.
My outlets are powered all the time already because my Night owls came with a jumper that goes in place of the relay for the outlets. I just needed another tap for more lighting.

Just pull a nice sized fused cable from the battery, and make your own fuse panel in the cockpit. Fuse taps are great for onesies and twosies, but more than that, and it looks like a street map from LA. Whut up Geoff!?!

GVA 45TH 2SS 02-17-2014 10:08 PM

I just pulled the tap to power one circuit, but added a second for future mods. both are on switches, its a little messy in the pic. but its not as bad as it looks LOL
http://i153.photobucket.com/albums/s...psi9lqn71w.jpg

http://i153.photobucket.com/albums/s...psp9hrtnko.jpg

layzurguy 02-19-2014 09:44 PM

Looks good. Can't wait to see the additions.

64stingray 02-24-2014 04:36 PM

I was just looking at this post and found a few things wrong, sorry but I don't know how to bring up a quote so 1 thing, GVA 45TH 2SS saw one the add a cct. is plug backward, this way the supply voltage for the pwr outlet goes through both fuse, not good. 2nd the 12v supply for F11, 12, 13, and f14 goes through F8, called the battery fuse, it's a 30a. fuse, there is already the onstar and display fuses which adds up to 17.5 Amps, if you add the pwr. outlet, 20 Amps, you can have 37.5 Amps triing to go through F8,30Amps. I think a better solution is use F8 and make sure the pig tail points toward the 2 spare fuses, F20, F21


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.