Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   Do the head units have a Subwoofer out? (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=19079)

Vash 04-18-2009 08:35 PM

Do the head units have a Subwoofer out?
 
Do the head units have a Subwoofer preamp output?

Figured I would just ask the question and see if anyone knows.

ZZcamaro 04-19-2009 09:36 AM

I do not think so.....But, there should be somethign prewired to the rear where the optional subwoofers can go. I would think it is prewired as most cars use only one wire harness. Somebody will just have to identify where that is. And with the battery in the trunk, the subwoofer shoudl be an easy install!

TAG UR IT 04-19-2009 11:26 AM

I think there is a pre=amp output. I heard someone saying it was in the trunk. We'll just have to wait and see.

MTron 04-19-2009 11:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TAG UR IT (Post 416645)
I think there is a pre=amp output. I heard someone saying it was in the trunk. We'll just have to wait and see.

that would be a dream come true. From what i have read about the BA system it seems to have great sound quality, and decent volume levels, so adding a nice sub and amp in the trunk to boost the bass a bit would be super easy if there is a per-amp sub output back there

ZZcamaro 04-19-2009 10:23 PM

The question is....would that pre-out be full or sub only? Sub only I would think...Although I would like to be able to find and replace the factory amp on the BA system

SSCamaro2010 04-27-2009 02:35 PM

when i ordered my car i left my 1ss sound system stock, i didnt order the BA one, will the stock sound system still have Subwoofer preamp output??

69Firebird 05-13-2009 08:43 AM

Has anyone with a 2SS or 2LT been able to Confirm if there are pre-out hookups in the trunk?
If so is there also an accessory feed to turn your amp on and off?

I have two 12's and an Amp ready to go in, it would be awesome if there is already wiring in place.

Camar0wn3d 05-13-2009 09:19 AM

I read on another post that the cigarette lighter 12V outlet is switched by the ignition. I plan on piggybacking off that and running wire to the trunk to get my remote lead for the amp.

+1 would love to get an answer on the pre-amp outs though.

Gentry78 05-13-2009 01:24 PM

i already asked this in another thread and this is the best anwser i got so far

Quote:

Originally Posted by mcernik (Post 449394)
Well I ripped the trunk apart.
On the left side is what appears to be an amplifier.
On the right side is a small fuse panel.

There may be a switched power in that panel, I forgot to look, I was busy looking for some kind of harness to plug into but found nothing.

I talked to a service tech at my dealership this morning and he said they have really no info on the addon sub/amp package or even a service manual on the Camaro yet.

So for now it looks like the only way to do it is a Hi-Low converter off the rear speakers.


CWI 05-16-2009 01:35 AM

It would just be too damn easy if there were a switched 12V and pre out wires. I hope they are there though.

At least we know it's easy and convenient to get the power from the battery.

Rogue Leader 05-16-2009 08:16 AM

There is no way they are offering this dealer installed sub woofer box option without some way for the dealers to easily hook it up. Before anyone cuts any wires I suggest we wait till a service manual shows up somewhere, or even better, the sub box and instructions show up.

JDBeck23 05-16-2009 08:43 PM

if there is a pre-amp and power hook up in the trunk... I'll kiss the ugliest woman working on the Oshawa line! I've always wondered why car manufacturers havent started doing this!

And to top it off, those who like the look of the factory headunit can easily add a subwoofer and keep the factory head unit, everybody wins!

Gentry78 05-19-2009 01:22 AM

why do so many people think there will be everything in the trunk, that makes no since all that means is extra wires and components, that will cost more that GM ain't gonna spend and be a waste for the majority of the public that will new touch the system. i'm pretty positive were going behind the dash for the signal if its even there, if not its real easy to to hook up a line level converter, or use the high level inputs with low pass filter on the amp but not recommended

Supermans 05-19-2009 01:58 AM

Someone who own a camaro, please let us know about the standard sound and BA upgrade in all models...

Tal 05-19-2009 01:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gentry78 (Post 500093)
why do so many people think there will be everything in the trunk, that makes no since all that means is extra wires and components, that will cost more that GM ain't gonna spend and be a waste for the majority of the public that will new touch the system. i'm pretty positive were going behind the dash for the signal if its even there, if not its real easy to to hook up a line level converter, or use the high level inputs with low pass filter on the amp but not recommended

It's because of the dealer installed sub GM has planned, it makes sense that they would run a few wires back there at the factory to keep the dealer installs easy and trouble free. Installing extra speaker/power wiring can be much more efficient in man-hours when it's part of the factory assembly even if a relatively low percentage of buyers opt for the sub. Wire isn't terribly expensive and it's easy enough to offset the cost of a lot wires with what they'll be charging for the 'GM' subwoofer.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Supermans (Post 500130)
Someone who own a camaro, please let us know about the standard sound and BA upgrade in all models...

Seems a bit off-topic for this thread, there are already a few other threads discussing/comparing the standard and BA speakers though.

Supermans 05-19-2009 02:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tal (Post 500132)
It's because of the dealer installed sub GM has planned, it makes sense that they would run a few wires back there at the factory to keep the dealer installs easy and trouble free. Installing extra speaker/power wiring can be much more efficient in man-hours when it's part of the factory assembly even if a relatively low percentage of buyers opt for the sub. Wire isn't terribly expensive and it's easy enough to offset the cost of a lot wires with what they'll be charging for the 'GM' subwoofer.

However can someone acknowledge this or deny this who has a Camaro? I can't believe this info is still something nobody seems to know about still.. Furthermore wether or not ordering the BA upgrade matters or not...

Tal 05-19-2009 02:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Supermans (Post 500134)
However can someone acknowledge this or deny this who has a Camaro? I can't believe this info is still something nobody seems to know about still.. Furthermore wether or not ordering the BA upgrade matters or not...

Most people aren't going to be in a hurry to fiddle around figuring out where any such wiring is or isn't until GM gets the sub upgrade for sale since it's install directions should make it clear what we have to work with. Mcernik is the only one anywhere that's really looked much at all so far (at least that I've seen post about it anywhere). I do understand your standard vs BA stereo question a bit better now but I wouldn't hold your breath waiting on any solid answers. The subwoofer isn't supposed to require the BA system though and I doubt GM would want to have two seperate install procedures but that's just logical speculation which may or may not correspond to GM's logic. :iono:

JDBeck23 05-19-2009 02:26 AM

There's a similar thread where an owner could not find an open "harness" in the trunk. But noted that there was what looked like a factory stereo amp and a small fuse box on different sides of the trunk. If it is in fact the factory stereo amp, then it would be very easy for GM to make a harness that splits the appropriate signals off for use with the MTX sub upgrade.

Rob916 05-20-2009 01:07 AM

I just installed an Arc Audio KS 500.1 amplifier and Arc audio 12" sub in a dual aeroport box today and I will say that it was very easy to work with. The Boston Acoustics amplifier was in the trunk behind the panel to the left hand side behind the left tail light. The BA setup has a full range output for the front speakers and bi-amplified outputs for the rear 6x9's (separate high and low frequency speaker outputs). I tagged a Peripheral LOC to the low frequency outputs. You can tag the factory amp turn on for the remote wire, it is a white wire on the very end plug. Overall it was very installer friendly as the battery was also in the trunk. Next week the vehicle is coming back and I am removing the Peripheral LOC and installing an Arc Audio summing LOC, installing a 4 channel Arc amplifier to go along with the KS 500.1 and changing out the front components and rear 6x9's.

Lovestanda 05-20-2009 06:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob916 (Post 503161)
I just installed an Arc Audio KS 500.1 amplifier and Arc audio 12" sub in a dual aeroport box today and I will say that it was very easy to work with. The Boston Acoustics amplifier was in the trunk behind the panel to the left hand side behind the left tail light. The BA setup has a full range output for the front speakers and bi-amplified outputs for the rear 6x9's (separate high and low frequency speaker outputs). I tagged a Peripheral LOC to the low frequency outputs. You can tag the factory amp turn on for the remote wire, it is a white wire on the very end plug. Overall it was very installer friendly as the battery was also in the trunk. Next week the vehicle is coming back and I am removing the Peripheral LOC and installing an Arc Audio summing LOC, installing a 4 channel Arc amplifier to go along with the KS 500.1 and changing out the front components and rear 6x9's.


Can you give us an idea of cost? Great post by the way!!:)

MTron 05-20-2009 03:14 PM

pics!!????

kdoske 05-20-2009 04:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob916 (Post 503161)
I just installed an Arc Audio KS 500.1 amplifier and Arc audio 12" sub in a dual aeroport box today and I will say that it was very easy to work with. The Boston Acoustics amplifier was in the trunk behind the panel to the left hand side behind the left tail light. The BA setup has a full range output for the front speakers and bi-amplified outputs for the rear 6x9's (separate high and low frequency speaker outputs). I tagged a Peripheral LOC to the low frequency outputs. You can tag the factory amp turn on for the remote wire, it is a white wire on the very end plug. Overall it was very installer friendly as the battery was also in the trunk. Next week the vehicle is coming back and I am removing the Peripheral LOC and installing an Arc Audio summing LOC, installing a 4 channel Arc amplifier to go along with the KS 500.1 and changing out the front components and rear 6x9's.

:iono: ummmm, what....

Vash 05-20-2009 05:51 PM

Yea speak engrish.

We need someone with access to the online service manual to check the wire diagrams and ports. Might have to add a crossover to it.

lakers171 05-20-2009 06:00 PM

i lost you after "i just installed"

patriotpa 05-20-2009 06:09 PM

PLEASE don't turn this beautiful car into another rolling speaker. The ricers do that enough. DON'T rice up the Camaro!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.