Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   Remote Start on Manual Transmission (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=19983)

Dentyneice 04-25-2009 05:40 PM

Remote Start on Manual Transmission
 
Hey all. I put in an order of a 2SS manual and really want to put in a remote start / alarm system in it. I'm wondering since the camaro comes with Passkey III theft deterrent system, will I be able to install a remote start? I was aiming for the viper 5901 system since it actually says it can be installed in a manual plus it has nice accessories like remote window control. I wasn't sure I could get this since it sounds impossible to start the car w/o your own passkey III key in the ignition for the manuals.

__________________
Ordered: 2SS/RS, Manual, CGM, Sunroof :happy0180:

Future additions:

Tint
Viper 5901 Remote Start / Alarm
CAI
Exhaust
LT Headers
Cam Upgrade
Centrifugal Procharger (after car is paid off)

camaro5 04-25-2009 06:23 PM

Aftermarket installers can do it.

You get a spare uncut key with the chip programmed to your car.

They install it in a bypass box in the IP, that is connected to the remote start system.

They also - for legal reasons - demand installing a shifter sensor that inures the vehicle is in neutral.

More than $1000 installed, from what I found.

theholycow 04-25-2009 06:44 PM

Wouldn't a CAGS-equipped car already have a shifter position sensor? If it didn't, it couldn't lock you out of gears without taking the chance that it's locking you in to that gear.

camaro5 04-25-2009 09:22 PM

CAGS only looks at TPS, RPM, coolant temp, maybe a few other parameters, and then energizes the blocking solenoid to block 2nd and 3rd gears.

I'm not sure if the PCM knows what gear it's in, but even if it did, tapping into that data would be difficult or impossible.

An installer explained to me that they physically install a laser sensor in the shifter area to confirm neutral. That's why it's so expensive...

I've debated spending the money many times.


Of course, if we install it ourselves, we just leave mr. sensor out. But, that could turn into a nightmare...idk

edog 04-25-2009 10:36 PM

I had one installed in a Maximia years ago. It did not have passIII. I thought it was funny when it would start in gear and lung forward.

New2010CamaroLover 04-25-2009 11:05 PM

I'd be really interested in this, i don't wanna pay 1000 bucks though. I was wondering if you could either buy, or ask for the normal switchblade key for the camaro with the auto start button on it, and when you went aftermarket to get the auto start installed on your manual just have them use the same key...:iono:

Prolly not, but it'd be nice..

theholycow 04-26-2009 07:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by camaro5 (Post 433723)
CAGS only looks at TPS, RPM, coolant temp, maybe a few other parameters, and then energizes the blocking solenoid to block 2nd and 3rd gears.

That was my first thought, and it's possible as long as someone who changes their gear ratios (say, putting in a shorter rear end) disables CAGS (which they surely would)...else they could get stuck in 2nd gear.

I wonder if CAGS also watches the clutch sensor, and you could avoid it by clutchlessly shifting or fooling the clutch sensor.

Quote:

I'm not sure if the PCM knows what gear it's in, but even if it did, tapping into that data would be difficult or impossible.
It would have to, or else you could get stuck in 2nd. What if you do a 2nd gear launch and CAGS engages the solenoid to prevent you from shifting into 2nd...

My thought was that if there was a shifter position sensor, you wouldn't tap into the computer's data; you would just tap the sensor itself. Don't forget, every sensor has to get its analog signal to the computer before it becomes digital data.

Quote:

Of course, if we install it ourselves, we just leave mr. sensor out. But, that could turn into a nightmare...idk
I suspect that an insurance claim would be denied if your negligent installation allowed the remote starter to move the car and damage something (or, God forbid, hurt someone). There is another way, though. I've heard of remote starters that won't start the car unless, when you exited the car, you left it running and remotely shut it off.

LosXC451 04-26-2009 08:36 AM

It's impossible to have remote start on a manual transmission, who's gonna put the clutch in...unless you buy a robot to do it

theholycow 04-26-2009 08:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LosXC451 (Post 434357)
It's impossible to have remote start on a manual transmission, who's gonna put the clutch in...unless you buy a robot to do it

Step 1: Park car in neutral
Step 2: Hook up remote start unit to clutch switch to bypass clutch switch
Step 3: Enjoy

It's far easier than bypassing anti-theft stuff.

LS/V6 04-26-2009 11:50 AM

As far as i know viper alarms comes with a bypass for the clutch. i could be wrong tho i usually am. My car now is a 5-speed and has remote start.

2010SSRSM6 04-27-2009 03:16 AM

I've seen a car "remotely start" and drive through the front of a store in Virginia Beach. Most states make it "illegal" to install remote start systems in manual cars for this reason. It's a nice feature to have, but I wouldn't take that chance with my new $40k toy that I've been waiting on for over 2 years.

Dentyneice 04-27-2009 03:49 PM

There are remote starters already out that will not work unless you follow specific instructions. I think the basic idea is leave the engine running, have the clutch in neutral and push a button on the remote start for at least 3 seconds. This lets the remote start detect that the clutch is in Neutral and then the car will shut off itself.

edog 04-29-2009 06:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LosXC451 (Post 434357)
It's impossible to have remote start on a manual transmission, who's gonna put the clutch in...unless you buy a robot to do it

It is NOT impossible. I had a viper alarm.

I had it done through Best Buy install group when I worked there. You should leave it in neutral, but if not the car will start and it will start lunging forward.

Back in the 90's you were not required to push the clutch in to turn the engine over. It has been that long since I owned a manual. Not sure what it is like now.

Nexus6 04-29-2009 09:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LosXC451 (Post 434357)
It's impossible to have remote start on a manual transmission, who's gonna put the clutch in...unless you buy a robot to do it

with that kind of logic,shouldn't you need a robot to turn the key as well ? :rolleyes:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.