Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   Remote Start on Manual Transmission (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=19983)

Dentyneice 04-25-2009 05:40 PM

Remote Start on Manual Transmission
 
Hey all. I put in an order of a 2SS manual and really want to put in a remote start / alarm system in it. I'm wondering since the camaro comes with Passkey III theft deterrent system, will I be able to install a remote start? I was aiming for the viper 5901 system since it actually says it can be installed in a manual plus it has nice accessories like remote window control. I wasn't sure I could get this since it sounds impossible to start the car w/o your own passkey III key in the ignition for the manuals.

__________________
Ordered: 2SS/RS, Manual, CGM, Sunroof :happy0180:

Future additions:

Tint
Viper 5901 Remote Start / Alarm
CAI
Exhaust
LT Headers
Cam Upgrade
Centrifugal Procharger (after car is paid off)

camaro5 04-25-2009 06:23 PM

Aftermarket installers can do it.

You get a spare uncut key with the chip programmed to your car.

They install it in a bypass box in the IP, that is connected to the remote start system.

They also - for legal reasons - demand installing a shifter sensor that inures the vehicle is in neutral.

More than $1000 installed, from what I found.

theholycow 04-25-2009 06:44 PM

Wouldn't a CAGS-equipped car already have a shifter position sensor? If it didn't, it couldn't lock you out of gears without taking the chance that it's locking you in to that gear.

camaro5 04-25-2009 09:22 PM

CAGS only looks at TPS, RPM, coolant temp, maybe a few other parameters, and then energizes the blocking solenoid to block 2nd and 3rd gears.

I'm not sure if the PCM knows what gear it's in, but even if it did, tapping into that data would be difficult or impossible.

An installer explained to me that they physically install a laser sensor in the shifter area to confirm neutral. That's why it's so expensive...

I've debated spending the money many times.


Of course, if we install it ourselves, we just leave mr. sensor out. But, that could turn into a nightmare...idk

edog 04-25-2009 10:36 PM

I had one installed in a Maximia years ago. It did not have passIII. I thought it was funny when it would start in gear and lung forward.

New2010CamaroLover 04-25-2009 11:05 PM

I'd be really interested in this, i don't wanna pay 1000 bucks though. I was wondering if you could either buy, or ask for the normal switchblade key for the camaro with the auto start button on it, and when you went aftermarket to get the auto start installed on your manual just have them use the same key...:iono:

Prolly not, but it'd be nice..

theholycow 04-26-2009 07:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by camaro5 (Post 433723)
CAGS only looks at TPS, RPM, coolant temp, maybe a few other parameters, and then energizes the blocking solenoid to block 2nd and 3rd gears.

That was my first thought, and it's possible as long as someone who changes their gear ratios (say, putting in a shorter rear end) disables CAGS (which they surely would)...else they could get stuck in 2nd gear.

I wonder if CAGS also watches the clutch sensor, and you could avoid it by clutchlessly shifting or fooling the clutch sensor.

Quote:

I'm not sure if the PCM knows what gear it's in, but even if it did, tapping into that data would be difficult or impossible.
It would have to, or else you could get stuck in 2nd. What if you do a 2nd gear launch and CAGS engages the solenoid to prevent you from shifting into 2nd...

My thought was that if there was a shifter position sensor, you wouldn't tap into the computer's data; you would just tap the sensor itself. Don't forget, every sensor has to get its analog signal to the computer before it becomes digital data.

Quote:

Of course, if we install it ourselves, we just leave mr. sensor out. But, that could turn into a nightmare...idk
I suspect that an insurance claim would be denied if your negligent installation allowed the remote starter to move the car and damage something (or, God forbid, hurt someone). There is another way, though. I've heard of remote starters that won't start the car unless, when you exited the car, you left it running and remotely shut it off.

LosXC451 04-26-2009 08:36 AM

It's impossible to have remote start on a manual transmission, who's gonna put the clutch in...unless you buy a robot to do it

theholycow 04-26-2009 08:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LosXC451 (Post 434357)
It's impossible to have remote start on a manual transmission, who's gonna put the clutch in...unless you buy a robot to do it

Step 1: Park car in neutral
Step 2: Hook up remote start unit to clutch switch to bypass clutch switch
Step 3: Enjoy

It's far easier than bypassing anti-theft stuff.

LS/V6 04-26-2009 11:50 AM

As far as i know viper alarms comes with a bypass for the clutch. i could be wrong tho i usually am. My car now is a 5-speed and has remote start.

2010SSRSM6 04-27-2009 03:16 AM

I've seen a car "remotely start" and drive through the front of a store in Virginia Beach. Most states make it "illegal" to install remote start systems in manual cars for this reason. It's a nice feature to have, but I wouldn't take that chance with my new $40k toy that I've been waiting on for over 2 years.

Dentyneice 04-27-2009 03:49 PM

There are remote starters already out that will not work unless you follow specific instructions. I think the basic idea is leave the engine running, have the clutch in neutral and push a button on the remote start for at least 3 seconds. This lets the remote start detect that the clutch is in Neutral and then the car will shut off itself.

edog 04-29-2009 06:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LosXC451 (Post 434357)
It's impossible to have remote start on a manual transmission, who's gonna put the clutch in...unless you buy a robot to do it

It is NOT impossible. I had a viper alarm.

I had it done through Best Buy install group when I worked there. You should leave it in neutral, but if not the car will start and it will start lunging forward.

Back in the 90's you were not required to push the clutch in to turn the engine over. It has been that long since I owned a manual. Not sure what it is like now.

Nexus6 04-29-2009 09:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LosXC451 (Post 434357)
It's impossible to have remote start on a manual transmission, who's gonna put the clutch in...unless you buy a robot to do it

with that kind of logic,shouldn't you need a robot to turn the key as well ? :rolleyes:

Nexus6 04-29-2009 09:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by edog (Post 442362)
It is NOT impossible. I had a viper alarm.

I had it done through Best Buy install group when I worked there. You should leave it in neutral, but if not the car will start and it will start lunging forward.

Back in the 90's you were not required to push the clutch in to turn the engine over. It has been that long since I owned a manual. Not sure what it is like now.

uumm , my grandmother's 87 thunderbird turbo required the clutch be pushed in to start,what car in the 90's did not require that ? .

There are aftermarket alarms that work with manual transmissions.When you get to your destination,you have to get out of the car while it is still running.After everyone is out and all the doors are closed,you shut the car down with the remote (no robot required).If any doors are opened before the car is started with the remote,it will not start.you have to go through the shutdown sequence again to be able to start it with the remote.

Edrock 04-29-2009 12:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nexus6 (Post 442547)
uumm , my grandmother's 87 thunderbird turbo required the clutch be pushed in to start,what car in the 90's did not require that ? .

:word: My 1991 Mustang requires the clutch to be pressed to the floor before it will even attempt to start.

Lieutenant 04-29-2009 08:48 PM

Do you have to put the key in the ignition for the 2SS to start? (if you're already in it)

Gentry78 04-30-2009 06:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lieutenant (Post 444686)
Do you have to put the key in the ignition for the 2SS to start? (if you're already in it)

do you mean does it start by the remote if your in the car? if so yes
or do you mean is it like the challenger and you just keep the key i you pocket and push button start it? then no

but remember it doesn't matter how the car is started you still have to have the key in to unlock the steering wheel (or the gear select in a auto), also if you remote start it you should have a brake pedal sensor that will shut off the engine when you press the brake

Nexus6 04-30-2009 08:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lieutenant (Post 444686)
Do you have to put the key in the ignition for the 2SS to start? (if you're already in it)

you can have the robot do it :popcorn:

Watchamacoolitt 11-20-2009 12:56 AM

In order to have a remote start they have to do a bypass.

Booster 11-25-2009 03:02 AM

Anyone have the Smartstart system on their Manual SS?
I want to get that...start your car with your phone. Cool!

Joeymc13 03-10-2010 10:32 AM

Just stumbled onto this thread....
 
Hey guys, I know this thread was started a year ago, but I just thought I would clear up any questions that you may still have...

First- yes, the 5901 does have 6 auxillary output channels which can control add on devices, such as window control modules, however, the window control modules are not included with the 5901. It is seperate, and is part number 530t from directed electronics Inc, usually costs around $100, it controls two windows, up and down. I charge $60 a window to install this add on piece.

Second- no, you don't need a robot to push your clutch in for remote start, lol! We just wire up the clutch pedal switch to contact using a status output wire from the remote start, very simple.

Third- yes, newer remote start systems can be installed on manual transmissions, and a couple of you are correct, you just have to follow a shut down procedure when you exit your vehicle that will tell the remote start system your car is in neutral.

Fourth- yes, it is possible to bypass the passlock 3 system, even without losing your spare key fob. The part number is 1101t from xpresskit.com, this module will actually learn the resistance code from your vehicles immobilizer system, and send that resistance signal to your immobilizer (passlock 3) to allow your car to start without the key in the ignition.

I have been an mecp certified mobile electronics installer for 8 yrs, I don't own a camaro, wish I did though ! I hope my info helps someone who may stumble on this thread in the future!

TekkGuy 03-12-2010 04:39 PM

I just looked up the info on the 1101T Kit... It says that it does take 1 key to work...so you do end up Loosing one of your keys to this module... No? Talks about using a coin battery to keep your key charged.

Brownhornitt 03-12-2010 11:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 2010SSRSM6 (Post 436385)
I've seen a car "remotely start" and drive through the front of a store in Virginia Beach. Most states make it "illegal" to install remote start systems in manual cars for this reason. It's a nice feature to have, but I wouldn't take that chance with my new $40k toy that I've been waiting on for over 2 years.

I saw a dude remote start into a bowling alley. Funny stuff.

slick rick 03-23-2010 05:29 PM

Be careful or this can happen: http://jalopnik.com/5500228/dealersh...d-car-totalled


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.