Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Gaming Lounge (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=132)
-   -   Gaming PC (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=223732)

Heaven_is_inferno_orange 05-14-2012 04:07 PM

Gaming PC
 
For those that have a gaming PC did you buy it or build it?
Feel free to share some specs and pics. Just kinda thought it would be fun to see who else has the same computer interests. :)
I love building things so i built mine and the one my husband uses as well.
Current gaming rig:
Thermaltake ArmorPlus(Armor+) VH6000BWS Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case (i went a bit overboard with the huge case :yikes:)
ASUS Crosshair IV Formula AM3 AMD 890FX SATA 6GB/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

EVGA SuperClocked 012-P3-1572-AR GeForce GTX 570 (Fermi) 1280MB 320-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

KINGWIN Lazer LZ-1000 1000W Modular 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC W/ 3-Way LED Switch and Universal Modular Connector Power Supply

AMD Phenom II X6 1055T Thuban 2.8GHz Socket AM3 125W Six-Core Desktop Processor

ADATA XPG Gaming v2.0 Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2000 Desktop Memory

Western Digital Caviar Black WD1002FAEX 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive

LG WH10LS30 10X Blu-ray Burner - LightScribe Support

And one Hello Kitty Diecut Decal!

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a1...78988536_n.jpg

Also since my husband took over my 23" LG monitor I decided to one up him. I think my 52" LG plasma pwns his 23" lol.

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a1...07762780_n.jpg

Gigachip 05-14-2012 04:44 PM

AMD build nice! :D

I Built a pc

Currently
Case: Cooler Master 690 II case Nvidia edition
Mobo: ASUS Sabertooth 990fx
CPU: AMD FX8120 OC'd to 4.2Ghz on push/pull H50
RAM: 16g DDR3 @ 1600
Boot Drive: 64g SSD Card
Gaming Drive: 2x 64g SSD RAID0
3TB Storage
2 GTX 480s SLI (2 GTX 680s otw)
PSU: 1250W
Drive: just a basic 24.99 one from bestbuy lol
I have a PS3 for movies/bluray
Currently running one 23" LCD monitor
but once I move to a new apt I'm running 3 19" LED monitors for a 2D surround set up.

Pics:
inside case
http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z...p/IMG_2677.jpg
Outside case
http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z...p/IMG_2168.jpg
future monitor set up (pulled them out to make sure they all worked)
http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z...p/IMG_9620.jpg

pocketcthulhu 05-14-2012 05:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Heaven_is_inferno_orange (Post 4960562)
For those that have a gaming PC did you buy it or build it?
Feel free to share some specs and pics. Just kinda thought it would be fun to see who else has the same computer interests. :)
I love building things so i built mine and the one my husband uses as well.
Current gaming rig:
Thermaltake ArmorPlus(Armor+) VH6000BWS Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case (i went a bit overboard with the huge case :yikes:)
ASUS Crosshair IV Formula AM3 AMD 890FX SATA 6GB/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

EVGA SuperClocked 012-P3-1572-AR GeForce GTX 570 (Fermi) 1280MB 320-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

KINGWIN Lazer LZ-1000 1000W Modular 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC W/ 3-Way LED Switch and Universal Modular Connector Power Supply

AMD Phenom II X6 1055T Thuban 2.8GHz Socket AM3 125W Six-Core Desktop Processor

ADATA XPG Gaming v2.0 Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2000 Desktop Memory

Western Digital Caviar Black WD1002FAEX 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive

LG WH10LS30 10X Blu-ray Burner - LightScribe Support

And one Hello Kitty Diecut Decal!

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a1...78988536_n.jpg

Also since my husband took over my 23" LG monitor I decided to one up him. I think my 52" LG plasma pwns his 23" lol.

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a1...07762780_n.jpg

looks like someone is playing a jedi...... :mad0260:

Always build mine and my current desktop has been setup for a few years now so i don't remember all the details.

http://www.pcplanetsystems.com/abc/i...g/asus1big.gif
it's running a amd phenom II 9950 black quad.
15000 rpm raptor drive
6 gigs of memory
1 terabyte on board secondary drive.
win 7 64bit
44" lcd mainly used for netflix now.

laptop with 3 gigs on board non shared video memory nivdia 555m
8 gigs memory
1.75 terabytes storage
win 7 64 bit / Vmware win 7 64 bit system Just for browsing.

2 terabytes Network ras storage for movies and document sharing.

there's also a western digital media player hooked up to the tv in the living room so you can watch movies off the network also.

Gigachip 05-14-2012 05:40 PM

I like how we have 3 AMD builds in a row :laugh:

pocketcthulhu 05-14-2012 05:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gigachip (Post 4961110)
I like how we have 3 AMD builds in a row :laugh:

lawl, I actually don't know anyone who went intel except for an ex gf who put one into in her micro atx case :mad0260:

Heaven_is_inferno_orange 05-14-2012 05:50 PM

Very nice! I love AMD processors. Every build Ive done Ive used AMD. They overclock very well and dont cost arms and legs. :D AMD is one of the only brands that is a must have at this point for me. Im slowly trying to find a brand of RAM i like. The ADATA Im not to happy with and am only running one of the 4GB sticks of the 8GB I had purchased due to a bad stick and there customer service being a pain about getting an RMA to me to replace it. The OCZ im running in the husbands is pretty decent. Newegg just didnt have any OCZ in a size I needed in a kit with the GB I wanted.
Gigachip: Love the case and the triple monitor setup.
pocketcthulhu: lol yes Im a Jedi but if it makes you feel any better Im also a Sith. :D

Gigachip 05-14-2012 06:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Heaven_is_inferno_orange (Post 4961159)
Very nice! I love AMD processors. Every build Ive done Ive used AMD. They overclock very well and dont cost arms and legs. :D AMD is one of the only brands that is a must have at this point for me. Im slowly trying to find a brand of RAM i like. The ADATA Im not to happy with and am only running one of the 4GB sticks of the 8GB I had purchased due to a bad stick and there customer service being a pain about getting an RMA to me to replace it. The OCZ im running in the husbands is pretty decent. Newegg just didnt have any OCZ in a size I needed in a kit with the GB I wanted.
Gigachip: Love the case and the triple monitor setup.
pocketcthulhu: lol yes Im a Jedi but if it makes you feel any better Im also a Sith. :D

Very true about AMD cpus. As far as Ram I like the Patriot and the G.Skill brands. Those two I typically run. ATM I'm running patriot

one day I do want to try out intel though, and AMD GPUs :)

Eluve38 05-14-2012 06:14 PM

3 Attachment(s)
I don't game anymore but, I do dabble in the PC thing. Running 2 Hackintosh machines with a lot of umph!!! I did buy an Intel Mac with 23inch monitor. The main machine has an Intel i7 processor (over clocked) with 16Gigs of Ram and two 2TBs seagate drives. The video card is a Zotac Geforce GTX 550 (over clocked) 1000 watt power supply all connected to a Asus Sabertooth Z77 1155 motherboard. Case is a CM Storm. The other 3 monitors are all 24 wide screens.

pocketcthulhu 05-14-2012 06:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Heaven_is_inferno_orange (Post 4961159)
Very nice! I love AMD processors. Every build Ive done Ive used AMD. They overclock very well and dont cost arms and legs. :D AMD is one of the only brands that is a must have at this point for me. Im slowly trying to find a brand of RAM i like. The ADATA Im not to happy with and am only running one of the 4GB sticks of the 8GB I had purchased due to a bad stick and there customer service being a pain about getting an RMA to me to replace it. The OCZ im running in the husbands is pretty decent. Newegg just didnt have any OCZ in a size I needed in a kit with the GB I wanted.
Gigachip: Love the case and the triple monitor setup.
pocketcthulhu: lol yes Im a Jedi but if it makes you feel any better Im also a Sith. :D

Nice seeing someone else playing swtor :respekt:
I run asus mb's and kingston memory and have had One chip fail on me in the past 6 years. and no mb failures.

Also I think we should burn the infidel above this post....:mad0260: lol

Eluve38 05-14-2012 06:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pocketcthulhu (Post 4961305)
Nice seeing someone else playing swtor :respekt:
I run asus mb's and kingston memory and have had One chip fail on me in the past 6 years. and no mb failures.

Also I think we should burn the infidel above this post....:mad0260: lol

:D

pocketcthulhu 05-14-2012 06:25 PM

lol anyway man I am in no way shape or form a mac person but you do have a nice setup.

Eluve38 05-14-2012 06:28 PM

Thanks, I also think AMD is the best for gaming rigs. I actually run a triple-boot on one of the machines, hence Intel process.

Mindz 05-14-2012 06:40 PM

I'm waiting for my new laptop to be delivered. I've been running a gaming rig in my antec 900 case for about 6 years now that I built myself. It's time to upgrade. Wife hates wires and bulky towers so she allowed me to spend the extra money and get a laptop.

i7 3610
Nvidia GTX 670M 1.5 GB video card
8GB 1666 MHz RAM
120 GB Intel 520 series SSD
750 GB sata3 7200 rpm hdd
Fingerprint scanner

I'm retaining my 23" acer 1920x1080 monitor or I can hook it up to my 46" 3d TV.

Heaven_is_inferno_orange 05-14-2012 06:58 PM

I always love the multiple monitor setups.Thanks for the RAM suggestions. :)
As for ASUS, we have a love hate relationship lol. I love there MB but not there VC. I've had 3 ASUS video cards now that gave me probems. Two were bad and one of them I RMA'd and the new one from the RMA which is the 3rd the heatsink actually went out on after a year of use. I modified it with a processor heatsink lol and it works just fine now. But that was the biggest reason I went EVGA on my new machine. The ASUS MB though have always worked pretty well for me though. :)

pocketcthulhu 05-14-2012 07:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Heaven_is_inferno_orange (Post 4961581)
I always love the multiple monitor setups.Thanks for the RAM suggestions. :)
As for ASUS, we have a love hate relationship lol. I love there MB but not there VC. I've had 3 ASUS video cards now that gave me probems. Two were bad and one of them I RMA'd and the new one from the RMA which is the 3rd the heatsink actually went out on after a year of use. I modified it with a processor heatsink lol and it works just fine now. But that was the biggest reason I went EVGA on my new machine. The ASUS MB though have always worked pretty well for me though. :)

amd video cards aka ATI should diaf I have had Horrible luck with ati cards at work, If given half a choice i prefer xfire branded nivdia cards in desktop machines.

insomniac2k2 05-14-2012 07:08 PM

G.skill has not let me down in several recent builds. Good memory for cheap. Very OC' able too

Gigachip 05-14-2012 07:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pocketcthulhu (Post 4961619)
amd video cards aka ATI should diaf I have had Horrible luck with ati cards at work, If given half a choice i prefer xfire branded nivdia cards in desktop machines.

I've only had one ATI card, and that was the x300 way back in '04
but that didn't last long, I changed it out to a nvidia card after I bought the computer.
Guess I've always been a Nvidia person, EVGA and PNY. Nothing was wrong with the x300 either, just wanted a better card.

pocketcthulhu 05-14-2012 07:17 PM

we use the small formfactor dell machines at work and Every Ati card i have put in my desktop has burned out within 6 months.

insomniac2k2 05-14-2012 07:25 PM

I'm far from Pro ATI, but I must say that my Radeon 5850HD Black edition has been running very strong for several years. It still plays all high end games @ max settings. My latest is BF3.

Those SFF dells are a nightmare for several reasons. We had to stop buying them. Those cards are likely burning out from one of the major issues with the SFF's. Terrible heat distribution, and other than ample fans.

Scott@Bjorn3D 05-14-2012 07:27 PM

Here is my rig from my signature on my site.

Black Mongoose: Intel I7 970 | Corsair H70 Water Cooler | Asus Rampage II Extreme | NVIDIA GTX680| 12GB Corsair RAM | 512GB Crucial M4 SSD | 1TB Seagate 7200 11 | Lite-On DVD | Lite-On DVD-RW | Creative X-FI Fatality PC-E | Corsair 1200Watt Gold Power Supply | Dell 2707 Monitor | Logitech Z5500 Digital Speaker | Logitch G15 Gaming Keyboard | Logtiech MX Wireless Mouse | Windows 7 64 Ultimate |

pocketcthulhu 05-14-2012 07:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by insomniac2k2 (Post 4961741)
I'm far from Pro ATI, but I must say that my Radeon 5850HD Black edition has been running very strong for several years. It still plays all high end games @ max settings. My latest is BF3.

Those SFF dells are a nightmare for several reasons. We had to stop buying them. Those cards are likely burning out from one of the major issues with the SFF's. Terrible heat distribution, and other than ample fans.

God i can agree on that, we got 400+ of the optiplex 620's with the faulty capacitors in them a few years ago and we ran ourselfs ragged fixing them.

pocketcthulhu 05-14-2012 07:46 PM

keyboard of choice for desktops merc stealth.
http://mygaming.co.za/news/wp-conten...rc-Stealth.jpg

insomniac2k2 05-14-2012 08:11 PM

We still warranty replace Opti's with bad caps, but much less these days. There were terrible capacitors available to the OEM world the last 4-6 years. The latest ones are much better.

HP also had a ton of Cap issues during this time from what i've read.

Quote:

Originally Posted by pocketcthulhu (Post 4961831)
God i can agree on that, we got 400+ of the optiplex 620's with the faulty capacitors in them a few years ago and we ran ourselfs ragged fixing them.


pocketcthulhu 05-14-2012 08:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by insomniac2k2 (Post 4962030)
We still warranty replace Opti's with bad caps, but much less these days. There were terrible capacitors available to the OEM world the last 4-6 years. The latest ones are much better.

HP also had a ton of Cap issues during this time from what i've read.

im pretty sure hp and dell were using the same vendor for caps, I forgot the details but dell had to Make up a lot with us after that fiasco.

c_LoW29 05-16-2012 06:47 AM

I built mine as well here are the specs:

Cooler Master Storm Trooper
GIGABYTE GA-Z68AP-D3 INTEL Z68 LGA1155 MB
Intel Core i5-2500K 3.3Ghz Unlocked LGA1155 CPU
8GB DDR3 PC10666 1333MHz
Seagate 1TB Serial ATA HD 7200/32MB/SATA-6G
Diablotek DA Series 600w ATX Power Supply
Sony Optiarc 24X DVDRW SATA OEM
GIGABYTE Radeon HD 6870 GDDR5 1GB OC PCIe
CoolerMaster V6GT Heat Sink


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.