Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=67)
-   -   DIY; hard wire radar detector on dash (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=254491)

Vroom_vroom 10-09-2012 02:33 AM

DIY; hard wire radar detector on dash
 
hard wired my radar detector on the dash. never been a big fan of mounting them high due to the laser. pull off the driver side panel on the side of the dash. this is where you will be feeding the wire to. i had a extra flat wire (vs. coiled) picked it up at radio shack. i used a piece of a coat hanger to stick between the driver side pillar and dash all the way in the corner as far as you can get it. fold the tip over so you don't scratch up the dash. if you don't see you coat hanger at first wiggle it, its hiding behind the padding. you will see it pretty quick.
http://i795.photobucket.com/albums/y...076585AC82.jpghttp://i795.photobucket.com/albums/y...0EB7E9DD94.jpghttp://i795.photobucket.com/albums/y...0EC0127B44.jpg
tape the wire to the coat hanger now you get to go fishing. push it through as much as you can and grab it with a pair of needle nose pliers. helps if you put a little bit of a arch in the coat hanger.

http://i795.photobucket.com/albums/y...078899A83E.jpg

pull any extra wire though so you only have enough on the dash to get to the radar detector. the ground connect i used the screw directly above the fuse panel on the side of the dash. the hot lead i used the f-17 fuse for the cigarette lighter. make sure you connect it to the lead closest to the floor so you have the protection of the fuse.(it is on the ignition circuit) they do make piggy back tabs for fuses but i couldnt find one for the minis so i wrapped the wire around the contact of the fuse and put a small piece of heat shrink on it.
http://i795.photobucket.com/albums/y...0E8E5AA16B.jpg



http://i795.photobucket.com/albums/y...0E99DCC442.jpg

now get your coat hanger back out and gently push the wire along the bottom of the windshield behind the dash. there is foam back there and it will keep the wire in place.

http://i795.photobucket.com/albums/y...0EAF1B2EEA.jpg

http://i795.photobucket.com/albums/y...0EA59626E8.jpghttp://i795.photobucket.com/albums/y...07A5267C5E.jpghttp://i795.photobucket.com/albums/y...079F1056E8.jpg

sorry it its a little disorganized but hopefully the pictures will get you through any thing i have missed. and there is little to no :mad0259:

kenkartasasmita 10-09-2012 03:53 AM

any visibility issue(s)?

Vroom_vroom 10-09-2012 12:10 PM

Nope, had it in the same spot on all may cars and have never had an issue

a.morblu 10-12-2012 10:27 AM

If thats a 360* detector you might have issues catching signals from the rear of the car. I went with a blend mount. No issues with me or it seeing everything.

http://s5.postimage.org/n1zw3ha3b/20120912_170013.jpg

Vroom_vroom 10-13-2012 06:58 PM

its a 360, no issues picking up signal. logic that left it on the dash was the signal needs something reflective to bounce off of (license plates, headlights......) so you would want it as close to the source as it can be. and most of the time the speed traps the have set up around here are with someone on a overpass with the gun scanning on coming traffic.

Jstephen 01-18-2013 11:26 AM

where did you wire this into? The overhead console or down to the fuse box. If console how did you accomplish that.

charlietuna 01-21-2013 05:19 PM

where can i get that for my v1? and how did you route the power??????

The Stig 01-21-2013 05:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by charlietuna (Post 6065139)
where can i get that for my v1? and how did you route the power??????

See the above picture of the driver's side fuse box. He tapped into Fuse F18 and then grounded it using the bolt next to the fuse box.

Jstephen 01-24-2013 01:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Stig (Post 6065157)
See the above picture of the driver's side fuse box. He tapped into Fuse F18 and then grounded it using the bolt next to the fuse box.

So in that picture they did not wire to the overhead console, but across the headliner, down the a-pillar and then into the fuse box?

Is that correct?

Vroom_vroom 01-24-2013 03:45 PM

That guy did his own separate write up. Mine is sitting on the dash wired into the fuse panel

The Stig 01-24-2013 04:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jstephen (Post 6077667)
So in that picture they did not wire to the overhead console, but across the headliner, down the a-pillar and then into the fuse box?

Is that correct?

Yes

jrohan07 01-24-2013 10:05 PM

Awesome write up. Just finished mine no wires seen. Gave me another idea. Gonna use that power fuse to hook up led strips under dash for footwell lighting.

Jstephen 02-22-2013 10:34 PM

Thanks for the Picts. Just installed my radar detector up by the mirror that way. Went into the headliner down the a pillar and into the box. Pretty easy.

beany323 02-24-2013 06:01 PM

fuse question
 
so i did the add a mini fuse to location f17.(that or the one below it.)


i used a 10 fuse and the original 20 fuse that went in those spots, is that correct? does that matter?

or should i take the 20 and replace it with a 10 also. (not sure if the 10+10 = 20 rule applies).

ran the wire up and around window sill. if i need pics, just yell.

thanks in advance for advice.

Learjetguru 03-03-2013 11:22 AM

I purchased an inline fuse holder for $2.00 and used the power and ground wires
at the garage door remote in the overhead console. Worked perfect>

nikos30 03-06-2013 01:23 PM

My passport is powered by a cig lighter. would I just cut and strip that wire and connect longer wires so that it could reach the fuse box? or what?

louis*sweetlou 10-15-2013 11:47 PM

Does anyone have a picture of where the gap is from the inside of the fuse box to the corner to fish the wire? I hardwired my detector but I can still see my wire running from the fuse box to the corner.

Vroom_vroom 10-17-2013 06:12 PM

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/10/18/unygequv.jpg

It's had to see but it's right on top of the sound deadener. You can see part of the white coat hanger. If you fish it from the dash about an inch from the pillar you should have no problem but you can't pull it around the pillar, tape it to a hanger or piece of wire and pull it though.

louis*sweetlou 10-17-2013 08:17 PM

thanks!! I will give it another shot.

Dave's-RS 10-26-2013 10:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Learjetguru (Post 6239471)
I purchased an inline fuse holder for $2.00 and used the power and ground wires
at the garage door remote in the overhead console. Worked perfect>

Thats a nice clean way to do the install....exactly the way I'm going to install my Belltronic Pro 300. The nice thing about this detector is that wiring uses a black Rj-11 standard phone cable that plugs directly into the detector this makes for an even cleaner install. I have the same wiring in my work truck allowing for easy plug and go on either vehicle. Personally I seem to get a better rear radar detection if the unit is mounted in a higher location opposed to the lower on the dash mount.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.