Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Forced Induction - V8 (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=74)
-   -   Aeromotive A1000 Stealth Fuel System Issues (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=255494)

pyr0b0y 10-14-2012 11:59 AM

Aeromotive A1000 Stealth Fuel System Issues
 
So I was having my car dyno tuned yesterday, and was running into a couple issues with the fuel system. I'm NOT running the electronic controller that Aeromotive sells, so it is at 100% duty cycle all the time. At idle I have 60psi fuel pressure, and it goes up to about 65psi up to 5k rpms. Past 5k rpms, it drops down to 38-40psi.

The tuner said that it could be that the fuel pump can not handle the pressure, but Aeromotive says their system handles up to 1100hp on a FI car. We followed all their directions, and are using 1/2" -8 line, and an inline fuel filter, as well as return system with a regulator.

Right now, I'm not sure how to troubleshoot the problem. I don't want to drop the fuel tank. Is there any easy way to test the voltage to the tank? There's a possibility that there is just not enough voltage going to the pump. I'll also be checking the fuel filter to see if there's anything caught in there. I wouldn't think the -8 line is restricting any pressure? This is my 2nd pump for Aeromotive, my first one burned out after ~2.5k miles, so I hope it's not an issue like that.

Any recommendations?

SSE 4 2SS 10-14-2012 12:41 PM

Weldon...

As I think you know, my Aeromotive lasted less than seven hours of run time... They couldn't understand why I didn't want it back... If your interested, I have a Brand new upgraded Eliminator 1400 HP/FI pump.

Supposedly the Aeromotive speed controller allows for longer life due to running at less duty cycle during idle and low rpm driving conditions. (Didn't work for me)

Good Luck...

lexlueger 10-14-2012 12:47 PM

Same issue here. My pump is now dead. It will not supply more than 20 psi of fuel. I ran the Aeromotive FPCM from day one...and had issues from day one.

blake-b 10-14-2012 04:35 PM

If it comes time for a new one, consider Squash Performance. Mine is feeding 825rwhp through -6 lines without issue. I am going for 1krwhp in the next few months with it.

SRT10KLLR 10-14-2012 05:25 PM

Are you using the existing fuel pump wiring to run the Aero or did you use some sort of hot wire kit? If not already doing so I would run the pump right off the alternator for more consistent power.

camarostar2010 10-14-2012 05:55 PM

Dayum Pyro...sorry to here. I am getting "squashed" myself soon. I ran from the aero set up...too many stories. I hope you get this sorted out bro.

Padre 10-14-2012 09:26 PM

I have the Aeromotive Stealth and have not had any voltage or pressure problems, more or less... I also do not have the volt regulator.

The problem I do have is an apparent fuel cut in some circumstances. We believe it is related to one or both of these things:

1) Low fuel level. Without a full tank, there is less pressure to the pump. The Stealth does not use the factory pickup (as I understand it). It happens to me under hard acceleration (launching at the track), so it could also be low fuel sloshing around.

2) Fuel boiling. Theory is that without the volt regulator, the returned fuel gets hot and once it gets to a certain level, the hot fuel causes low pressure. My solution has been to keep the tank full since it's easier to heat up less fuel in the tank.

I am worried about the life of the pump as well and have plans to order the volt regulator with the hope that it will also address the apparent heated fuel problem.

Either way, for you, have you noted the fuel level when this occurs and is it a factor for you?

Padre

jrpxxii 10-14-2012 09:49 PM

I am running the magnafuel pumps and have zero issues and they are very quiet too. I would definitely stay away from the aeromotive as there have always been issues with aeromotive and why I chose the magnafuel pumps.

ls7camaro 10-14-2012 10:50 PM

What hat do you have for the magnafuel pump(s)?

blake-b 10-15-2012 09:02 AM

Unless he changed something, Jason is running external pumps with a fuel cell. There are pics of it in the facebook links in his sig.

Matt @ RX 10-15-2012 09:28 AM

I'm running the Aeromotive system.. So far so good, but I only have maybe 2 hours on it. Made two shakedown passes so far with it and fueling is good, but have not started applying the big power yet.

I'll have to keep an eye on this thread, I'd hate to change the pump but I want reliability.

BullF-16 10-15-2012 10:36 AM

I have the entire Aeromotive Stealt setup sitting at home waiting for my motor. I will be running the Stealth eliminator pump in tank return style with -10 feed and -8 return lines. I also ordered the billet fuel controller to keep the pump speed down at lower rpms.

I did a bunch of research on this setup on Corvetteforums and LS1tech and could not find any negative information. I guess we will see. :iono:

pincushin3819 10-15-2012 10:58 AM

I had the A1000 in my build it lasted about 3 days. If you have not installed it yet I wouldn't just my 2 cents. I have a brand new one sitting here so if anybody would like to buy a $700 paper weight let me know.

speedster 10-15-2012 11:05 AM

Have Aeromotive A1000 and Eliminator on multiple cars with lots of pressure and use. All NRE dyno testing done on 100's of engines > 1000 hp using these pumps with no failure yet. Sufficient wiring and plumbing are very important. A friends Impala has 70,000+ miles on his original A1000.

Bummer that Camaro5 people have had issues.

incon3037r 10-15-2012 01:04 PM

After installing my F-1D on my G8 and driving it for only two days, my car started experiencing cavitation and shutting down. The fuel rails were extremely hot to the touch and would not start until cooling off for at least an hour or so. I had it towed to the shop to diagnose the fuel problems. Hooked up a fuel pressure gauge and it would hit a max of 5psi then drop to 0. Drop the tank to find this on my Stealth A1000
http://i440.photobucket.com/albums/q...gejpeg_2_2.jpghttp://i440.photobucket.com/albums/q...gejpeg_2_3.jpg

After sending it back for a new pump and adding the pump speed controller and MSD tach adapter. We also had to figure out the wiring for the tach adapter, because Aeromotive's directions were printed wrong and they referred us to MSD, who also did not have a clue and tried to sell me another model tach adapter. After the wiring was figured out, the car has been running just fine and staying cool. Im still waiting to see what happens. If it this one goes, I plan on buying the Squash setup.

CyberPredator 10-15-2012 03:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by speedster (Post 5695841)
Have Aeromotive A1000 and Eliminator on multiple cars with lots of pressure and use. All NRE dyno testing done on 100's of engines > 1000 hp using these pumps with no failure yet. Sufficient wiring and plumbing are very important. A friends Impala has 70,000+ miles on his original A1000.

Bummer that Camaro5 people have had issues.

I also know that the corvette forums are having alot of issues with the eliminator. They mostly recommend the stealth.

pyr0b0y 10-16-2012 01:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SRT10KLLR (Post 5693377)
Are you using the existing fuel pump wiring to run the Aero or did you use some sort of hot wire kit? If not already doing so I would run the pump right off the alternator for more consistent power.

I have the pump hooked up to a relay, haven't thought about the alternator, what voltage is your battery at when you're driving? Does it suck a lot of juice?

Quote:

Originally Posted by camarostar2010 (Post 5693444)
Dayum Pyro...sorry to here. I am getting "squashed" myself soon. I ran from the aero set up...too many stories. I hope you get this sorted out bro.

I did my research and found mixed stories, my shop got a good price on aeromotive because they were a WD for them.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Padre (Post 5694210)
I have the Aeromotive Stealth and have not had any voltage or pressure problems, more or less... I also do not have the volt regulator.

The problem I do have is an apparent fuel cut in some circumstances. We believe it is related to one or both of these things:

1) Low fuel level. Without a full tank, there is less pressure to the pump. The Stealth does not use the factory pickup (as I understand it). It happens to me under hard acceleration (launching at the track), so it could also be low fuel sloshing around.

2) Fuel boiling. Theory is that without the volt regulator, the returned fuel gets hot and once it gets to a certain level, the hot fuel causes low pressure. My solution has been to keep the tank full since it's easier to heat up less fuel in the tank.

I am worried about the life of the pump as well and have plans to order the volt regulator with the hope that it will also address the apparent heated fuel problem.

Either way, for you, have you noted the fuel level when this occurs and is it a factor for you?

Padre

It was just above a 1/4 tank. We did 3 or 4 pulls and the MAF sensor would max out a 10k Hz, and then we started logging fuel pressure and found it was doing fine up to about 5k, then would drop dramatically. I'm thinking about getting a fuel pressure pressure gauge, so I'll see if running on a full tank makes a difference. I've not heard about fuel boiling. The thing that doesn't make sense, it is loses pressure past a certain rpm, rather than across the board.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BullF-16 (Post 5695692)
I have the entire Aeromotive Stealt setup sitting at home waiting for my motor. I will be running the Stealth eliminator pump in tank return style with -10 feed and -8 return lines. I also ordered the billet fuel controller to keep the pump speed down at lower rpms.

I did a bunch of research on this setup on Corvetteforums and LS1tech and could not find any negative information. I guess we will see. :iono:

I did the same and got lots of positive reviews, but my stealth pump went out pretty fast....

Quote:

Originally Posted by speedster (Post 5695841)
Have Aeromotive A1000 and Eliminator on multiple cars with lots of pressure and use. All NRE dyno testing done on 100's of engines > 1000 hp using these pumps with no failure yet. Sufficient wiring and plumbing are very important. A friends Impala has 70,000+ miles on his original A1000.

Bummer that Camaro5 people have had issues.

I'm hoping it's something simple like what Padre brought out. Hell, I'm hoping it might be that the fuel filter is clogged (although that wouldn't make sense why pressure would drop only above 5k rpms. The wiring seemed to be sufficient, all plumbing is -8AN, which aeromotive recommended.

I did find out I can access the fuel pump wiring from the rear passenger seat, so i'll see what kind of voltage reading im getting. If its constant voltage, hopefully its just the filter.

Thanks for all the replies guys, give me some things to think about and test!

Padre 10-16-2012 07:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pyr0b0y (Post 5699302)
I've not heard about fuel boiling. The thing that doesn't make sense, it is loses pressure past a certain rpm, rather than across the board.

The term for what I called fuel boiling is cavitation.
http://fuelab.com/customer-support/2...ing-cavitation
http://ls1tech.com/forums/forced-ind...plication.html

I would recommend trying it with a full tank (the fuel pump can't heat the whole tank too much), adding an inline fuel cooler, and/or adding the volt regulator from Aeromotive. In that order. That's what I'm going to do. :)

BTW, cavitation can kill a fuel pump (but not always), which is maybe why some guys have seen failures.

Good luck, Padre

pyr0b0y 10-16-2012 03:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Padre (Post 5699535)
The term for what I called fuel boiling is cavitation.
http://fuelab.com/customer-support/2...ing-cavitation
http://ls1tech.com/forums/forced-ind...plication.html

I would recommend trying it with a full tank (the fuel pump can't heat the whole tank too much), adding an inline fuel cooler, and/or adding the volt regulator from Aeromotive. In that order. That's what I'm going to do. :)

BTW, cavitation can kill a fuel pump (but not always), which is maybe why some guys have seen failures.

Good luck, Padre

Right now, i just have a regulator, but do not the the electronic voltage controller hooked up. I try and not run my tank below 1/4.

SRT10KLLR 10-16-2012 10:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pyr0b0y (Post 5699302)
I have the pump hooked up to a relay, haven't thought about the alternator, what voltage is your battery at when you're driving? Does it suck a lot of juice?

I haven't looked but I am sure it gets stressed from the nitrous, boost controller, methanol and all the other shit drawing power.

Make sure it is wired by itself and not in any way hooked to the stock wiring. This way you know it is getting all the power it needs and that somehow your ECM is trying to limit power to the pumps like some sort of limiter.

camarostar2010 10-17-2012 12:21 AM

the more I look at this thread the better I feel i didnt jump on the aero...if it has all these variables, and confusing stuff...I am out....I am starting to feel like this is the thread on the ******* grill..just all kinda stories..ughhh.

speedster 10-21-2012 02:55 PM

One more quick thought/tip on these pumps - You MUST use a relay mounted as close to the pump as possible with dedicated wiring. Thinking back on early installs, this caused a lot of headaches when not done. Hope that helps.

stevieturbo 10-21-2012 03:41 PM

Location of the relay is less important than using proper quality wiring.

Does nobody make a setup to run a pair of Bosch 044's or similar ?

They flow very well, and are 100% reliable. And unlike most other pumps, dont fall flat on their face when you the fuel pressure rises.

Matt @ RX 11-18-2012 04:34 PM

Garbage... 80 street miles on it and a few track passes, two 9-second passes, most were aborts from traction woes....

Made a single dyno pass last night on my combo, at 6100RPM's it went to ~20psi and crapped the bed. Screwed the regulator all the way down just to see, now the pump even with regulator all the way in makes maybe 40psi tops at idle. I have mine completely isolated with a single relay, running 10ga wire. I've installed probably 200+ of their series pumps in numerous applications (All externals).

Maybe I have a problem with the internal line, right now do not know what went wrong, frankly don't care I'll never use another Aeromotive series internal pump again.

Made 737rwhp through the unlocked 4l60E at 16psi @ 6100rpms.. Would have cracked 800+ on the low boost if I could have made a pass to 72.

pyr0b0y 11-18-2012 06:17 PM

I talked to Jesse from Aeromotive at SEMA. I told him all the issues I was having with the system and he's working with me on troubleshooting the issue, and promised to get me taken care of.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.