Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=70)
-   -   My coolant gauge is not working?? (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=271810)

416Camaro 01-18-2013 01:59 PM

My coolant gauge is not working??
 
1 Attachment(s)
Got a message on my dash panel. After driving around a bit I noticed the gauge on the left (temperature) is not working. It hasn't moved all day. What could this be???

CamaroC-17 01-18-2013 02:29 PM

Time to trade it in

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

Strydes 01-18-2013 02:41 PM

happened to me twice. First time I replaced coolant sensor. Second time I left battery off for 10 minutes and message went away.

416Camaro 01-18-2013 02:42 PM

:help:

Ject 01-18-2013 02:44 PM

Best help I can provide is take it to the dealer and see what they say/can do. Still under warranty right?

416Camaro 01-18-2013 02:47 PM

Yes it is. Will do.

Ject 01-18-2013 02:49 PM

Most likely (well hopefully) it is just a sensor that needs to be replaced. I can't imagine anything more then that causing it.

416Camaro 01-18-2013 03:50 PM

Am hoping that is it, I was just at gm gotta wait Til Monday have someone look at it. Gotta work tonight don't think I want to drive the car right now with that msg on.

fielderLS3 01-18-2013 04:28 PM

Looks like the temperature sensor stopped working. It's probably in some kind of safe-mode, where it won't let you run the A/C. I'd guess the radiator fans are running constantly as well. It is probably also running very rich (as if the engine where extremely cold), so you'll want to take care of this as soon as possible.

416Camaro 01-19-2013 03:30 AM

Yea hopefully it's a quick fix, and on warranty.

motley1987 01-19-2013 08:47 AM

Keep us posted. I get that message maybe once a week. Someone here suggested it might be related to my trifecta tune but Vince said that isn't it. I hooked up my scangauge and checked the temp and it doesn't run hot so I cleared it. Problem is sometimes the error comes up without the check engine light. I took mine to the dealer and they said they couldn't find anything wrong and just cleared it themselves. If you have a tune, redownloading the tune will get rid of it too. The sound of the fan running constantly is really annoying so I hope you can get a definitive answer so I can get rid of mine for good too.

Ben

motley1987 01-19-2013 08:49 AM

Also if you do a search with "ac off" or "engine temperature" (or something similar), there are a few threads about it but I don't think anyone has completely figured it out.

habunow1 01-19-2013 08:58 AM

Just happen to me, Coolant was low and had to refill some make sure you use the correct one. To fix the gauge disconnect the harness from the computer next to the fuse box for about 5 min the reconnect. This should get guages working again. If not take it to the dealer and have them look at the sensor. The car goes in to this mode if temp reaches a certain degree which is in a very small tolerance. Hope this help.

rtcat600man 01-19-2013 09:02 AM

Since you just did a headers install, maybe the installer bumped the sensor or plug?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.