Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=70)
-   -   My coolant gauge is not working?? (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=271810)

416Camaro 01-18-2013 01:59 PM

My coolant gauge is not working??
 
1 Attachment(s)
Got a message on my dash panel. After driving around a bit I noticed the gauge on the left (temperature) is not working. It hasn't moved all day. What could this be???

CamaroC-17 01-18-2013 02:29 PM

Time to trade it in

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

Strydes 01-18-2013 02:41 PM

happened to me twice. First time I replaced coolant sensor. Second time I left battery off for 10 minutes and message went away.

416Camaro 01-18-2013 02:42 PM

:help:

Ject 01-18-2013 02:44 PM

Best help I can provide is take it to the dealer and see what they say/can do. Still under warranty right?

416Camaro 01-18-2013 02:47 PM

Yes it is. Will do.

Ject 01-18-2013 02:49 PM

Most likely (well hopefully) it is just a sensor that needs to be replaced. I can't imagine anything more then that causing it.

416Camaro 01-18-2013 03:50 PM

Am hoping that is it, I was just at gm gotta wait Til Monday have someone look at it. Gotta work tonight don't think I want to drive the car right now with that msg on.

fielderLS3 01-18-2013 04:28 PM

Looks like the temperature sensor stopped working. It's probably in some kind of safe-mode, where it won't let you run the A/C. I'd guess the radiator fans are running constantly as well. It is probably also running very rich (as if the engine where extremely cold), so you'll want to take care of this as soon as possible.

416Camaro 01-19-2013 03:30 AM

Yea hopefully it's a quick fix, and on warranty.

motley1987 01-19-2013 08:47 AM

Keep us posted. I get that message maybe once a week. Someone here suggested it might be related to my trifecta tune but Vince said that isn't it. I hooked up my scangauge and checked the temp and it doesn't run hot so I cleared it. Problem is sometimes the error comes up without the check engine light. I took mine to the dealer and they said they couldn't find anything wrong and just cleared it themselves. If you have a tune, redownloading the tune will get rid of it too. The sound of the fan running constantly is really annoying so I hope you can get a definitive answer so I can get rid of mine for good too.

Ben

motley1987 01-19-2013 08:49 AM

Also if you do a search with "ac off" or "engine temperature" (or something similar), there are a few threads about it but I don't think anyone has completely figured it out.

habunow1 01-19-2013 08:58 AM

Just happen to me, Coolant was low and had to refill some make sure you use the correct one. To fix the gauge disconnect the harness from the computer next to the fuse box for about 5 min the reconnect. This should get guages working again. If not take it to the dealer and have them look at the sensor. The car goes in to this mode if temp reaches a certain degree which is in a very small tolerance. Hope this help.

rtcat600man 01-19-2013 09:02 AM

Since you just did a headers install, maybe the installer bumped the sensor or plug?

motley1987 01-19-2013 11:32 AM

I think it's a false reading and not anything to do with actual overheating. Every time I get the message it's first thing in the morning after only doing a short drive the night before. It went off earlier this week when the temp was in the 30's. Like I said I saw the actual temp of the coolant on my scanguage and it was normal so I wasn't worried about driving it for a few days before going to the dealer which was no help anyway.

416Camaro 01-20-2013 05:50 PM

Before I took it to gm, I made a short video of the car while the fan is on, in the garage. It was running for about thirty minutes before I parked the car. It's winter up here cars a little dirty.

416Camaro 01-20-2013 06:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by habunow1 (Post 6056563)
Just happen to me, Coolant was low and had to refill some make sure you use the correct one. To fix the gauge disconnect the harness from the computer next to the fuse box for about 5 min the reconnect. This should get guages working again. If not take it to the dealer and have them look at the sensor. The car goes in to this mode if temp reaches a certain degree which is in a very small tolerance. Hope this help.

Will do if dealer hasn't figured it out

motley1987 01-20-2013 06:45 PM

Let us know what they say. I'm sure I'll get the same message again.

416Camaro 01-22-2013 12:11 AM

I got my car back today, the technician said there were about eleven codes that came up on their screen; he didnt tell me which ones before he cleared them. All the fluids were fine and not running low or anything. After clearing the codes the technician drove around for over twenty minutes highway/city to see if the light/message would turn back on. Meanwhile I was on the way with the OEM intake, He had asked me to bring it in. When I got to the dealership the car was running fine he just needed to clear the codes so the cooling fan stopped running and all the gauges were working again. There was no need to change the stock intake back. I was surprised. I took the car for an oil change used Castrol syntec left a quart out, and put a throwback blend for any car no matter how much mileage is on the car, duralube; so the car would stay cool. On my way home my CEL turned back on, but no a/c off due to engine temp message was displayed. Am convinced I have a defected intake, something is not right with the actual OEM MAF sensor or my car needs to be tuned.

cntryman77 01-22-2013 05:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 416Camaro (Post 6066815)
I got my car back today, the technician said there were about eleven codes that came up on their screen; he didnt tell me which ones before he cleared them. All the fluids were fine and not running low or anything. After clearing the codes the technician drove around for over twenty minutes highway/city to see if the light/message would turn back on. Meanwhile I was on the way with the OEM intake, He had asked me to bring it in. When I got to the dealership the car was running fine he just needed to clear the codes so the cooling fan stopped running and all the gauges were working again. There was no need to change the stock intake back. I was surprised. I took the car for an oil change used Castrol syntec left a quart out, and put a throwback blend for any car no matter how much mileage is on the car, duralube; so the car would stay cool. On my way home my CEL turned back on, but no a/c off due to engine temp message was displayed. Am convinced I have a defected intake, something is not right with the actual OEM MAF sensor or my car needs to be tuned.

once you get long tubes, you need to be tuned to turn off the rear O2 sensors...that's probably the code you are getting...I went almost 6 months with mine on before I got a tune...I just stopped in once a week at the local auto parts store to check the codes to back sure there were no other codes since the light was always on

416Camaro 01-23-2013 01:21 AM

Ok I will search for a good tune.

rtcat600man 01-23-2013 10:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 416Camaro (Post 6071113)
Ok I will search for a good tune.


Trifecta or IPF.

Currently many of us have the Trifecta tune (cheaper and the origianl tuner). The IPF tune costs twice as much as the Trifecta tune. Both offer similiar HP gains.

We are waiting for a direct comparision between the two to see if there is any futrher gains from the IPF tune over the trifecta tune
(and still be safe for fuel/air ratios).

416Camaro 01-24-2013 12:26 AM

OK.I am getting the quotes from Jesse (IPF) and Vince's online store (Trifecta) they are also around the same price. Bad News racing is showing the trifecta for $315.00 > I don't think it comes with a EZ flash cable though.

2010_camaro 01-29-2013 02:06 AM

Had the same issue. Only happens once in a while when its real cold out. I just chuck it up as my car dont like the cold. Dealer never could get it to do it so they are clueless. I replaced the sensor and pig tail and still get the code. I looked are freeze frame data when the code sets and nothing is outta the norm. Kinda odd. Go GM!!!

416Camaro 01-29-2013 03:41 AM

Even after the trifecta tune:>?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.