Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   V8 and V6 Transmissions / Driveline (6L80 / 6L50 / TR6060 / AY6) (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=76)
-   -   6L80 questions (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=277048)

infernometallicSS 02-13-2013 10:57 PM

6L80 questions
 
So I purchased a 6L80e out of a 2011 camaro to put into my 2012. My question is, do I need to have the dealer re-flash so the 2 will communicate or can I just plug and play. Of course my tuner will be re-tuning.
Thank you all for the help.

K32 Camaro 02-14-2013 06:23 PM

I can't answer the Q but would assume the tuner has to tune it to your comp. Are you switching over from a manual?

infernometallicSS 02-14-2013 09:03 PM

No. Switching from a 6L80e to another one.

Rhino79 02-15-2013 05:09 AM

It should work without Retune. But while he is tuning it, he can change the vin to match your car.

infernometallicSS 02-16-2013 07:00 PM

Thank you rhino.

1989GTA 07-03-2013 03:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rhino79 (Post 6162945)
It should work without Retune. But while he is tuning it, he can change the vin to match your car.

Reviving the thread. Rhino can you change the 6L80 VIN# with either HP Tuners or EFI Live?

Rhino79 07-07-2013 08:55 AM

In efilive and hpt you should be able to change the vin number in the calibration (vehicle vin). The operating system in the 6l80 varies from model year and even 2-3 different systems for each year sometimes. Doing a full operating system reflash should be done with caution. I can't guarantee the results, I use what os came in the car.

1989GTA 07-07-2013 01:58 PM

Thank you for the response. I am essentially using a 5th gen drive train in a 65 Buick Skylark but will send you a private message as it is not 100% 5th gen Camaro related.

infernometallicSS 07-09-2013 11:04 PM

My transmission swap went well. We changed the VIN on the transmission, my car is tuned with HP Tuners software.

1989GTA 07-10-2013 12:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by infernometallicSS (Post 6769605)
My transmission swap went well. We changed the VIN on the transmission, my car is tuned with HP Tuners software.

Thanks. I hope to do the same thing. I just purchased HP Tuners.

infernometallicSS 07-10-2013 12:38 AM

Utilize the forums for hp tuners. It's a huge resource in the tuning community.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.