Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Oil pump kaput! (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=280655)

gnturboray 03-02-2013 10:54 PM

Oil pump kaput!
 
Just like that, I go outside bright and early this morning and fire up the SS to go to Dallas Cars and Coffee and NO OIL PRESSURE!! So I check the oil, and look for leaks,,,,all ok. Buddy comes by and we do the look in the oil fill tube for oil movement and nothing! The POS oil pump checked out.......Long story short, tow truck to the house and straight to the shop! :emoticon1:

Gunslinger09 03-03-2013 07:30 AM

Had you done a cam change or anything? I haven't heard about LS3 oil pump failures being a problem although any mechanical system can fail.

biggerisbetter 03-03-2013 07:37 AM

wow that would really suck

biggerisbetter 03-03-2013 07:38 AM

at least you are smart enough to look at ur gauges. im sure there are many that would have wrecked an engine

TheHorse13 03-03-2013 08:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gunslinger09 (Post 6238764)
Had you done a cam change or anything? I haven't heard about LS3 oil pump failures being a problem although any mechanical system can fail.

Look around this site. There are countless threads on oil pump failure on the SS. Many elect to go with a Melling aftermarket setup once the stock one goes belly up.

swizlstik 03-03-2013 08:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheHorse13 (Post 6238816)
Look around this site. There are countless threads on oil pump failure on the SS. Many elect to go with a Melling aftermarket setup once the stock one goes belly up.

:word:

TXM62SS 03-03-2013 09:16 AM

Go with the Melling and don't look back. Numerous guys are swapping to them when doing cam swaps and having zero issues.

gafool 03-03-2013 06:14 PM

so can u switch it with out having cams just a swap out?

10aSSee D 03-03-2013 06:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gafool (Post 6240774)
so can u switch it with out having cams just a swap out?

Yes.

VADER SS L99 03-03-2013 06:50 PM

This was a LS3 right? I also want to know if the cam has been changed.

litle88 03-03-2013 06:57 PM

Melling 10296 ftw and yes Ls1/2/3's have all taken shits just like that

FosterSS 03-03-2013 07:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TXM62SS (Post 6238933)
Go with the Melling and don't look back. Numerous guys are swapping to them when doing cam swaps and having zero issues.

:thumbsup: Just got my Melling in the mail the other day. Had a feeling it was gonna die out on me and on a nice sunny day cruise.... :brick:

litle88 03-03-2013 11:01 PM

^^ I see you had that feeling hu? Lol^^
Glad to see you caught it on time!!
Nice numbers

gnturboray 03-03-2013 11:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by VADER SS L99 (Post 6240889)
This was a LS3 right? I also want to know if the cam has been changed.


Yes this is an LS3 LPE750 with cam, supercharger and all sorta junk. What sucks is the car only has 18k on the clock!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.