Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   MyLink Issues (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=287737)

hotrodder9102 04-07-2013 12:53 PM

MyLink Issues
 
I picked up my 1LE yesterday, and while we were pairing my IPhone 4s to the system, the system started to malfunction. The volume/power knob quit working, the buttons around the radio were not working, and the tuning/menu knob quit as well. The only way to control the radio was through the steering wheel controls. After a quick restart everyhting seemed fine. We then got out of the car, turned it off, and I assumed everything was fine. When I left the dealership later, I noticed the only control I have is through the steering wheel. I have disconnected the negative battery cable, deleted my phone from the stereo, and still, the same problem. ANYONE got any insight on this? Please tell me this is something stupid, and is an easy fix!!!!!!!!!!:frusty:

mattyjman 04-07-2013 06:17 PM

I have a 1LE as well, but what you are describing is more than like something defective... I'd go back asap and tell them it's still not fixed and they need to replace the center cluster/touchscreen unit.

hotrodder9102 04-07-2013 10:02 PM

I called GM Infotainment number, they walked me through several reset functions, none of which worked. I sent my dealership 3 different emails as I was going through the process. I have a great dealer to work with, and I have no doubt it will be taken care of first thing in the morning.

tcalh1 04-08-2013 08:26 AM

Not sure if this is your problem fix or not...
There is a recall/software update for the mylink navigation. I read about it on the forums here. I went to the dealership and they didn't know anything about it. After they did some digging, they found it. After they did the update, it solved an issue I had with my Iphone.

hotrodder9102 04-08-2013 10:15 AM

Thanks I will have them look into it.

micheller315 05-14-2013 11:17 AM

I had the upgrade done on my 1st Camaro d/t the navigation not working with the voice controls. After that I had all sorts of issues. So many issues that the dealer traded out my car. My 2nd Camaro didn't have to be updated, but it now has the same issues that the 1st one had. I think most of the issues have to do with the mylink. (XM resetting to the preview station, blower motor indicator showing the wrong level, and a weird red onstar light on the mirror.) I'm so fed up and so is my dealer. A GM rep is supposed to meet with me in the next week or so. I know my dealer is dealing with my car and 3 others.

Chevrolet Customer Svc 05-14-2013 05:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by micheller315 (Post 6542260)
I had the upgrade done on my 1st Camaro d/t the navigation not working with the voice controls. After that I had all sorts of issues. So many issues that the dealer traded out my car. My 2nd Camaro didn't have to be updated, but it now has the same issues that the 1st one had. I think most of the issues have to do with the mylink. (XM resetting to the preview station, blower motor indicator showing the wrong level, and a weird red onstar light on the mirror.) I'm so fed up and so is my dealer. A GM rep is supposed to meet with me in the next week or so. I know my dealer is dealing with my car and 3 others.

Hello micheller315,

Sorry you are experiencing these issues with your vehicle. I understand the frustrations you may have, and I am sure the GM rep will do all that is possible to straighten this situation out to the best of their ability. We are here as an additional resource to you for further assistance.

Reggie B.
Chevrolet Customer Care.

ccarnel 05-24-2013 09:08 PM

Great...... I'm having the same issue with mine. Almost brand new ZL1 1500 miles or so. System freezes after about 10-15 seconds or so, no buttons work whatsoever on the screen, power button doesn't work etc.....

Spoke with the "infortainment" number listed here.. no help with the problem. I've been told to take it to the dealership. This is extremely frustrating. Anyone here actually get their problem solved other than having them trade your entire car out?

I've read about this problem on other GM/Chevy boards with other vehicles with Mylink... I don't think i've read one thread yet where the problem is solved.... I'm hesitant to take it to the dealership if there really isn't a fix for it

benji1997 05-25-2013 05:09 AM

Solution...trade your car in for a 2014. J/K...I'm having issues with mine that nobody seems to be able to figure out yet as well. Going on over a month now.

ccarnel 05-25-2013 08:41 AM

I'm thinking of junking the factory touch screen radio and having an aftermarket unit installed, anyone here replace with aftermarket system to solve this problem? I really don't want to play games and waste time with the dealership if there really isn't a fix for the problem. Even if I lose on star I could care less

benji1997 05-25-2013 08:53 AM

Why would you lose OnStar? At the least the factory will have to keep replacing MyLink units at no cost to you until one actually works. I will be insisting that they replace mine since they haven't found a fix yet. And my situation isn't even as bad as yours or micheller315.

benji1997 05-25-2013 08:59 AM

It would be nice to at least have this available option on the MyLink backup camera screen: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TXIjdR1zNPg

ccarnel 05-25-2013 09:09 AM

There is a cost to me... lots of wasted time...
There is nothing I hate worse than wasting time, endless trips to the dealership when there really isn't a solution makes no sense to me. Spending several afternoons getting my stereo reflashed/replaced only to have the problem reoccur is time I can better spend doing other things.
A Bluetooth touch screen radio and dash kit and install probably will cost me ~5-600 dollars and the software won't be nearly as wonky as chevy my link.

I just want to know if anyone has done this on a 2013 and if their problem was solved

benji1997 05-25-2013 09:24 AM

I'd love to know that as well.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.