Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Camaro V6 LLT Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=38)
-   -   Changed to Summer Tires, threw a CEL (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=295540)

jnikkila 05-14-2013 08:54 PM

Changed to Summer Tires, threw a CEL
 
Changed to some SS rims with Nittos today that I just picked up and after 30ish miles got a Check Engine Right before a Service Tire Pressure System...Is this normal? I expected the Tire Light but not the CEL

jnikkila 05-14-2013 09:37 PM

BUMP

Codes showing are;

P0703 - Brake Switch Circuit Malfunction
P0726 - Fuel Pump A Control Circuit/Open

Also just switched to a used locking gas cap...

Rob21sf 05-14-2013 09:47 PM

I've never heard of changing tires throwing out a CEL. Maybe its just a coincidence that it came on when it did. Did you do anything else recently to your car?

jnikkila 05-14-2013 09:59 PM

Just reinstalled mace plenum spacer and manifold spacer like 200 miles ago. This morning put on a used locking gas cap i got from a friend...drove about 20-30 miles with no problem and most recently tonight changed the wheels out. Drove 20 miles fine then threw cel and less than a quarter mile later popped up with tire pressure system lights. Drives fine. Idles fine. No problems that i can tell. Just CEL

blkngldbabe 05-15-2013 08:41 AM

My guess is the gas cap.

rtcat600man 05-15-2013 10:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by blkngldbabe (Post 6546204)
My guess is the gas cap.


:word:

jnikkila 05-15-2013 10:53 AM

Still leaves the brake switch circuit malfunction...

Can't_C_Me 05-15-2013 11:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jnikkila (Post 6546677)
Still leaves the brake switch circuit malfunction...

Maybe when the tires were being put on it may of hit something.

Ventmaster 05-15-2013 12:36 PM

If the tech who swapped the wheels moved your TPMS sensors around (say the R.rear wheel sensor is now on a front wheel)you'll need to re-set the computer. Details in the owners manual.

After that, I'd put your OE gas cap back on and try a reset on the CEL's. A battery disconnect will do it if you don't have a OBD reader.

If your tire pressure is good and your Service Tire warning comes back, they may have damaged or just incorrectly installed the wheel sensors.

And that Brake Sensor Circuit may be the result of rough or inept swap as well. :fear:

Good luck! :thumbup:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.