Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Camaro V6 LLT Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=38)
-   -   Bolt ons and gas mileage? (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=296368)

mc_acoustic 05-19-2013 12:45 AM

Bolt ons and gas mileage?
 
Just curious.

Should my milage have gotten better with bolt ons?

I have CAI intake
BBK long tube headers with hi flow cats
MRT 2
Trifecta tune.

And I am driving VERY VERY lightly not full throttle AT ALL... under 2k rpms no matter what (SO SLOW) City driving. But like I said... very very flow start (people on bikes get ahead of me quicker) And city driving is 50 km (or 30 miles an hour) I never drive in traffic hour aswell... mostly stopping at red lights.

And I am getting 18 miles to the gallon... Is this normal with boltons or is something wrong?

Mvp_Me 05-19-2013 12:59 AM

did you try to reset the gas mileage meter after all of those modz done?
mines was always at 17-18mpg and then i reset it and it shows me the correct mpg

mc_acoustic 05-19-2013 01:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mvp_Me (Post 6561688)
did you try to reset the gas mileage meter after all of those modz done?
mines was always at 17-18mpg and then i reset it and it shows me the correct mpg

yes I did.

c_cook94 05-19-2013 02:59 AM

Idk man. I've had an injen CAi, tune and axle back and was getting great MPGs. I installed bbk long tubes and now MPGs went down the drain. I sent Vince a datalog but he hasn't gotten back to me. Idk what the deal is. Hopefully it's something in the tune. I've checked everything. No CEL

mc_acoustic 05-19-2013 04:04 AM

How long ago did you datalog?

I sent my datalog 10 days ago and nothing yet about it.

CamaroC-17 05-19-2013 10:39 AM

I remember I sent him a log (this was at the start of the tune craze when everything first came out ) and waited a couple months thinking he was just overloaded...nope he just missed my email

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2

Lil' Nasty 05-19-2013 11:34 AM

My gas mileage was bad (to me) around 20-21 but once I felt my car re learned everything, I get about 23-24 in the city now. Best I've gotten on the highway was about 30.5 with full bolt ons

TooCool5 05-19-2013 01:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lil' Nasty (Post 6562443)
My gas mileage was bad (to me) around 20-21 but once I felt my car re learned everything, I get about 23-24 in the city now. Best I've gotten on the highway was about 30.5 with full bolt ons

30 - 34 Hwy with my bolt ons.

c_cook94 05-19-2013 03:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mc_acoustic (Post 6561934)
How long ago did you datalog?

I sent my datalog 10 days ago and nothing yet about it.

I sent it to him last Saturday, 8 days ago

rtcat600man 05-19-2013 03:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TooCool5 (Post 6562757)
30 - 34 Hwy with my bolt ons.

:word:

I have done 25 mile tests numerous times on the way to work in the morning. Always setting the cruise at 70 MPH. I have seen 30 - 33 + MPG every time.

Chrisco22 05-19-2013 09:55 PM

Man reading all this makes me feel like a complete dick of a driver -_-.. i average 16.2 mpg overall, and only 19 on the highway lol.. I bought the car to enjoy it, it is what it is.

mc_acoustic 05-19-2013 11:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chrisco22 (Post 6564308)
Man reading all this makes me feel like a complete dick of a driver -_-.. i average 16.2 mpg overall, and only 19 on the highway lol.. I bought the car to enjoy it, it is what it is.

Thing is, you probably drive fast and pull 0-60 a ton

I am driving like a granny just to see the milager I get and I am lucky to get 18 mpg.... something is wrong from the looks of it on my end.

htoniv 05-20-2013 02:11 AM

I average 20 aswell... id say mine is 85% highway and 10% local and 5% traffic :(

Mvp_Me 05-20-2013 02:22 AM

Car must be running rich as hell, thats all i can come up with. whenever vince gets back to you he can look at the log and lean it out if thats the main problem.

mc_acoustic 05-20-2013 04:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mvp_Me (Post 6565037)
Car must be running rich as hell, thats all i can come up with. whenever vince gets back to you he can look at the log and lean it out if thats the main problem.

My dad (Who has owned about 20 muscle cars in his 50 year life) said that my car was running REALLY rich. I definitely trust his word.

That being said, I am not too sure but if the car is running rich, and vince took a look at it... would my car LOSE power?

(I am probably thinking wrong but maybe running rich = better performance?.. Correct me if I am wrong... which I probably am...)

Mvp_Me 05-20-2013 08:05 AM

If you're running too rich you are losing power but running rich is way better then running lean. You want that perfect mixture of afr to get optimal performance from any vehicle.
I had a SS cobalt before the camaro and I went from sc to turbo and I was on a rich tune for three months. When I get a good tune and leaned her out I gained 70whp lol she was a beast! Don't expect that much gain from a n/a car tho, its just an example.

mc_acoustic 05-20-2013 05:55 PM

I dont know if this matters or not... but I did receive catalyst air flow p420/430 engine light codes on my car.... I cleared them and removed them from the engine with trifecta (I cleared them first then went into the menu to make sure they never come back)

Could this be the reason why the car is running rich?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.