Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Oracle CCFL Afterburners Help (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=296855)

Camaro Ice 05-21-2013 03:35 PM

Oracle CCFL Afterburners Help
 
I bought and installed some CCFL afterburners preassembled from Oracle / AAC. They worked for 2 days so I know the install worked. When I turned the car on today none of the 4 afterburners worked.

When I opened the rear again all the wiring looked in place. Any ideas what would make all 4 afterburners stop working (as opposed to only 1 side)? :sad0147:

Forcer 05-21-2013 03:42 PM

did you wire them into your bulb wires or seperate? and do your bulbs work? thats really weird to think all 4 went out, i can only think a fuse is blown, or faulty wiring... no way all 4 would go out for another reason.

The Stig 05-21-2013 03:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Forcer (Post 6571055)
did you wire them into your bulb wires or seperate? and do your bulbs work? thats really weird to think all 4 went out, i can only think a fuse is blown, or faulty wiring... no way all 4 would go out for another reason.

This is what I'm thinking yea.

Camaro Ice 05-21-2013 03:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Forcer (Post 6571055)
did you wire them into your bulb wires or seperate? and do your bulbs work? thats really weird to think all 4 went out, i can only think a fuse is blown, or faulty wiring... no way all 4 would go out for another reason.

They are wired into the bulb wiring, we followed the downloaded aac document on how to wire these.

We snipped the bulbs so the parking lights are disabled but pressing on the brakes the bulbs do in fact come on so they work fine.:noidea:

Forcer 05-21-2013 04:20 PM

do you have the dual intensity circuit? or do you just have it positive and negative?

From the afterburners you should have a black and a red wire correct? black into black on the bulb wires, and where did you put your positive wire? to the park lights or the power wire?

Do they come on at all? if your bulbs are on, if you use your turn signal, if you use your brake light, is there any activity from them period? fastest way to tell if its a wiring problem would be to take one out, pop your hood, open your fuse box cover, touch the positive wire to the red power cable, and then the black negative wire to a bolt on the fender.. if it lights up, somthing is going on with the wires in the back.


Quote:

Originally Posted by Camaro Ice (Post 6571122)
They are wired into the bulb wiring, we followed the downloaded aac document on how to wire these.

We snipped the bulbs so the parking lights are disabled but pressing on the brakes the bulbs do in fact come on so they work fine.:noidea:


Camaro Ice 05-21-2013 05:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Forcer (Post 6571234)
do you have the dual intensity circuit? or do you just have it positive and negative?

From the afterburners you should have a black and a red wire correct? black into black on the bulb wires, and where did you put your positive wire? to the park lights or the power wire?

Do they come on at all? if your bulbs are on, if you use your turn signal, if you use your brake light, is there any activity from them period? fastest way to tell if its a wiring problem would be to take one out, pop your hood, open your fuse box cover, touch the positive wire to the red power cable, and then the black negative wire to a bolt on the fender.. if it lights up, somthing is going on with the wires in the back.

Yes, the bulbs themselves work in all situations, when braking, when using the turn signals, just the actual afterburners won't work at all.

I honestly don't know if its dual or pos/neg. i just used what was in the aac kit. The inverter does have a red and black wire though.

http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...ps032025ec.jpg

Wired it like the instructions said, black to black and red to brown(parking lights).

I'll try checking fuses next, thanks for the tip...might have to bring it to an oracle dealer:thumbdown:

Forcer 05-21-2013 07:47 PM

Honestly i have not used nor seen the inverter, so mabey the inverters are bad? mine i literally wired myself.. and you said you wired it to the park lights? il have to go out and look at mine to remind myself what is what.

The Stig 05-21-2013 07:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camaro Ice (Post 6571418)
Yes, the bulbs themselves work in all situations, when braking, when using the turn signals, just the actual afterburners won't work at all.

I honestly don't know if its dual or pos/neg. i just used what was in the aac kit. The inverter does have a red and black wire though.

http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...c.jpg~original

Wired it like the instructions said, black to black and red to brown(parking lights).

I'll try checking fuses next, thanks for the tip...might have to bring it to an oracle dealer:thumbdown:

Stupid question, but are the afterburners plugged into the inverter?

Camaro Ice 05-21-2013 07:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Stig (Post 6571983)
Stupid question, but are the afterburners plugged into the inverter?

Yeah everything seems to be plugged in with the inverter. Only thing is the black wire from the inverter on the left side split in 2 (whatever that wire is for?), I had to fix it but am pretty damn sure it's getting power again, so i ruled that out.

^And this inverter is the Oracle inverter that came with the kit, says ORACLE 10000V or something on the other side. I honestly don't think new inverters that AAC sent could be bad so I ruled that out.

The Stig 05-21-2013 07:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camaro Ice (Post 6572001)
Yeah everything seems to be plugged in with the inverter. Only thing is the black wire from the inverter on the left side split in 2 (whatever that wire is for?), I had to fix it but am pretty damn sure it's getting power again, so i ruled that out.

^And this inveter is the Oracle converter that came with the kit, says ORACLE 10000V or something on the other side.

Wait, black wire that splits into two and has connectors on the end or the black wire that you tapped into the OEM wiring?

Camaro Ice 05-21-2013 08:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Stig (Post 6572013)
Wait, black wire that splits into two and has connectors on the end or the black wire that you tapped into the OEM wiring?

The black wire I'm talking about is the one directly attached to the inverter, it's the one you can see in the pic (pic shows black and red wire attached to inverter, this would be the black one).

Am not at my car right now but that would mean it is not the black oem wire, but the wire that is part of the inverter.

Camaro Ice 05-22-2013 12:50 PM

Went to a professional oracle dealer and they found out that whoever baked/installed the afterburners really messed up.

The afterburners were cracked and broken after 2 days of use. Just letting you guys know, thank you for the help.

camarohwk23 05-22-2013 01:41 PM

That does not make any sense. What I am getting at is that the afterburner themselves were defective. For one you do not bake the tail lights you cut them open. Secondly, even if you were to bake the lights the afterburners would not be in them during that process. I do not see how you can mess up the afterburners during the install if you follow the instructions from AAC. Then again, what do I know. :noidea:

Camaro Ice 05-22-2013 01:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by camarohwk23 (Post 6575170)
That does not make any sense. What I am getting at is that the afterburner themselves were defective. For one you do not bake the tail lights you cut them open. Secondly, even if you were to bake the lights the afterburners would not be in them during that process. I do not see how you can mess up the afterburners during the install if you follow the instructions from AAC. Then again, what do I know. :noidea:

I just said "bake" as a reference to the afterburner installation. I didn't install it myself and I don't know the process, just threw that word out there randomly as I thought you might need to, my bad.:noidea:

Forcer 05-22-2013 01:59 PM

That still seems really fishy... even if it was a mistake on the installer, you said it worked fine for 2 days, then all 4 went out? i could mabey see one side going out but both at the same time? that is just really weird.. i wouldnt have guessed it as a install problem, i really had it pegged on the wiring or fuse... oh well glad your getting it sorted out!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.