Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Forced Induction - V8 (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=74)
-   -   Belt dust on top of supercharger (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=303829)

K32 Camaro 06-24-2013 08:20 PM

Belt dust on top of supercharger
 
I don't know much about belt alignment or anything. I'm getting rubber dust on the top of my vortech ysi v7 (self installed, no shops nearby.) It's dusting right after the tensioner near the supercharger pulley. What do I need to adjust?

BigMatt 06-24-2013 08:24 PM

Tensioner probably isn't adjusted tight enough so your slipping your belt when you get on it.

K32 Camaro 06-24-2013 09:02 PM

I doubt that. i had to have the idler off and tensioner pulled all the way back to even get the belt on..

ToddB 06-24-2013 09:08 PM

I had belt dust on mine until I tightened it up as tight as I could get it. Also a new belt will stretch a lot the first 100 miles or so.

Slickcas 06-24-2013 09:58 PM

I have the V3 so it's a little different. But when I pulleyed down I changed the location of the tensioner and routed the belt under the idler. It gives a little more belt wrap around the blower pully. Vortech allready had the holes in the brackets. I picked up a bold from Fastenal the odd thing is the bolts going into the Vortech brackets are metric and the bolts going in to the blower are standerd. I am at work so I do not have a pic to post righ now.

blake-b 06-24-2013 10:08 PM

My cog belt also dusts the pulley.

K32 Camaro 06-25-2013 01:24 AM

It seems the tensioner comes out by almost 1/16th. Is that normal as well? (Towards the front of the car.)

DarkCry956 06-25-2013 01:41 AM

How is your belt routed? I routed my YSI like Ted suggests and haven't had any wear on the belt.

K32 Camaro 06-25-2013 02:01 AM

I didn't know he had a different routing. Haven't gotten the upgrade from him yet. It goes from crank to s/c with the tensioner on it top side 3/4 from the left and the idler bottom side 1/4 from the left.

K32 Camaro 06-25-2013 12:36 PM

Bump

Unreal 06-25-2013 12:47 PM

A little dust is normal on a fresh belt. If it keeps doing it than it is too loose.

BLACK10 06-25-2013 12:57 PM

can you post a pic?

K32 Camaro 06-25-2013 01:09 PM

I have 3 on their way. Will take a couple minutes though.

DarkCry956 06-25-2013 01:17 PM

I have mine routed under the idler pulley not over like Vortech has a on the instructions. I changed pulleys too so I dropped the tensioner to the bottom position.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.