Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Camaro 1LE Forum (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=149)
-   -   1-4 shift alert. (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=305951)

jlauber588 07-05-2013 08:31 PM

1-4 shift alert.
 
Is it just me learning to drive manual or does the 1le force you to shift from 1 to 4th when it tells you too? And can you shut this off?

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2

cornerspeed92 07-05-2013 08:36 PM

Skip shift eliminator is what you need to get.

DeeBlayer 07-05-2013 08:37 PM

This is an LS3 thing, not just 1LE. You can get a skip shift eliminator or have it tuned out.

JimE 07-05-2013 09:06 PM

You can drive around it easy enough. The only time I ever notice it is if I'm trying to take it easy (like slow easy). If you get much over 2k rpm it shuts off.

Apex Motorsports 07-05-2013 09:09 PM

CAGS De-Mystified!

http://apex-speed.com/images/emoticons/skipshift.jpg

Dynamite 07-05-2013 09:25 PM

Just get the skip shift eliminator until you tune the car.

aggieguy13 07-05-2013 10:11 PM

when your shifting you can still go into 2nd instead if your thinking about it. but if your just shifting like normal and just try and go down and the computer decides you werent at high enough rpm. it will slip you into 4th. Cheapest way to get around it. stay about 2500 when you shift =]

OrangeVert 07-05-2013 10:19 PM

When the skip shift happens, I just delay the shift about 1/2 a second -then go to 2nd.

aggieguy13 07-05-2013 10:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Apex Chase (Post 6755248)


so for $30 i get everything in this pic?
if not, i call false advertisement

1leNPP 07-05-2013 11:34 PM

I just make my 1-2 shift at 3,000 RPM and you never see the darn thing.

jlauber588 07-06-2013 09:45 AM

Thanks for the feedback. As a first time manual driver I find it a pain the the a** when it forces you to skip gears. I want to skip gears when I want not when the cpu tells me 2.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2

Southern Comfort 07-06-2013 11:07 AM

I only see it when babying the car. Mine pops up saying Drive Like a Man!

Garoad Shenlong 07-06-2013 12:26 PM

I have only seen mine pop up twice so far in the week of having the car. I just give it a bit more gas and it goes away.

Jims Mongoose 07-06-2013 01:11 PM

Really Confused now
 
I have a brand new, about 1000 miles on it 2013 1LE. I have never expereienced this. Did they take it off for 2013. No matter how I drive fast, slow, super slow, I just put it in whatever gear I want.


Jim;)

OzzySS 07-06-2013 04:21 PM

Jim,
no they definitely didn't take it off for '13 hahaha...there's a very specific rpm range that activates it. IIRC, i saw mine when i would shift from 1st at about 18-20mph

Mgizzle 07-06-2013 05:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by aggieguy13 (Post 6755489)
so for $30 i get everything in this pic?
if not, i call false advertisement

I only got the bag.... Dang!

menendez1293 07-06-2013 05:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by aggieguy13 (Post 6755489)
so for $30 i get everything in this pic?
if not, i call false advertisement

:laughabove:

mlee 07-06-2013 05:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jims Mongoose (Post 6756937)
I have a brand new, about 1000 miles on it 2013 1LE. I have never expereienced this. Did they take it off for 2013. No matter how I drive fast, slow, super slow, I just put it in whatever gear I want.


Jim;)

You REALLY have to be driving like a granny for this to happen. I never see it either.

No offense to granny's, I love mine..:respekt:

Fraxum 07-06-2013 10:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by aggieguy13 (Post 6755489)
so for $30 i get everything in this pic?
if not, i call false advertisement

Did you use the coupon? I did and I am I am a very satisfied customer.

:headbang:

rickr9504 07-07-2013 12:25 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mlee (Post 6757719)
You REALLY have to be driving like a granny for this to happen. I never see it either.

No offense to granny's, I love mine..:respekt:

I am really driving like granny and it has never happened to me, I have had it for two weeks now and no matter how I drive it does not kick in.

When I said I drove it like granny, I really did, I try to not even reach 2,000 rpm to save on gas. I was actually starting to think the factory missed that function on mine. thank god. Maybe it is waiting for it to be fully broken in to activate. Who knows...:noidea:

OzzySS 07-07-2013 12:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mlee (Post 6757719)
You REALLY have to be driving like a granny for this to happen. I never see it either.

No offense to granny's, I love mine..:respekt:

i didn't think the ZL1 had the skip-shift to begin with? i though that was part of how the SS avoided the gas guzzler tax

Apex Motorsports 07-07-2013 08:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by OzzySS (Post 6758761)
i didn't think the ZL1 had the skip-shift to begin with? i though that was part of how the SS avoided the gas guzzler tax

Yep, it has it.

krazzyk01 07-07-2013 09:29 AM

Instructions.....Whaaaa.....
 
I hate to say this......But I read part of the manual......

I know, I know....Don't say it.

It boils down to if you're shifting from 1st to 2nd under 1500 RPM (guesstimate on my part) you'll get the pop-up message in the center screen. I was looking for the message on purpose, why else would I look at anything other than the heads up?

I had heard about this P.I.M.A. a long time ago on the Corvette's if I'm not mistaken. So I looked it up in the trash they left in the glove box on delivery lol.

Here's the page from the manual, page # 9-33:
http://<a href=http://s508.photobuck...201LE/9-33.png
http://i508.photobucket.com/albums/s...201LE/9-33.png

And thank you for not putting another automatic on the planet just because it's easier not to be bothered to learn something "manually."
:thumbup:

OzzySS 07-07-2013 10:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Apex Chase (Post 6759096)
Yep, it has it.

huh...wow, i'd be pretty aggravated if i put down the money for a ZL1 M6 and still had to be bothered to eliminate the skip-shift and hsa myself!

Quote:

Originally Posted by krazzyk01 (Post 6759216)
I hate to say this......But I read part of the manual......

I know, I know....Don't say it.

It boils down to if you're shifting from 1st to 2nd under 1500 RPM (guesstimate on my part) you'll get the pop-up message in the center screen. I was looking for the message on purpose, why else would I look at anything other than the heads up?

I had heard about this P.I.M.A. a long time ago on the Corvette's if I'm not mistaken. So I looked it up in the trash they left in the glove box on delivery lol.

Here's the page from the manual, page # 9-33:

And thank you for not putting another automatic on the planet just because it's easier not to be bothered to learn something "manually."
:thumbup:

not sure what you're getting at here...this isn't telling how to turn off the "feature" as much as just how you have to operate it....yes, it says it turns it off, but not in the sense that everyone is concerned with. the very next time conditions are met, you have to skip again.

jlauber588 07-07-2013 05:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by krazzyk01 (Post 6759216)
I hate to say this......But I read part of the manual......

I know, I know....Don't say it.

It boils down to if you're shifting from 1st to 2nd under 1500 RPM (guesstimate on my part) you'll get the pop-up message in the center screen. I was looking for the message on purpose, why else would I look at anything other than the heads up?

I had heard about this P.I.M.A. a long time ago on the Corvette's if I'm not mistaken. So I looked it up in the trash they left in the glove box on delivery lol.

Here's the page from the manual, page # 9-33:
http://<a href=http://s508.photobuck...201LE/9-33.png
http://i508.photobucket.com/albums/s...201LE/9-33.png

And thank you for not putting another automatic on the planet just because it's easier not to be bothered to learn something "manually."
:thumbup:

Yea wanted the le package and decided to jump into it lol.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.