Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Camaro ZL1 Forum - ZL1 Specific Topics (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=85)
-   -   Want to upgrade the MyLink from w/o Nav to w/ Nav. Can it be done? (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=306010)

Ladykiller 07-06-2013 06:31 AM

Want to upgrade the MyLink from w/o Nav to w/ Nav. Can it be done?
 
So I bought a 2013 ZL1 w/o navigation because I did not think it was worth an $795 upgrade. Now that I got my car, I just can't find a happy spot for my Garmin GPS navigation and I don't care for using the navigation on my phone either. So now I am wishing I had bought the navigation option ..... doh.

So is there any way to upgrade from my current Chevrolet MyLinkô1 with 7" diagonal color touch screen to the Chevrolet MyLinkô1 with navigation? If so, how much will this cost? And how easy/hard is it to do?

Bargeratt 07-06-2013 06:42 AM

Good question. I did the same thing. Did not think it was something I needed due to not planning on taking the car on far trips but now have used on star to find places more than once. I think I just might keep on star with navi.

cvp33 07-06-2013 07:20 AM

I use the Bluetooth and Google maps from my phone. It interrupts the radio to give directions only, then right back to the music......just like standard OEM NAV would. I really can't justify getting NAV in a car anymore.

Skylane765 07-06-2013 12:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ladykiller (Post 6756048)
So I bought a 2013 ZL1 w/o navigation because I did not think it was worth an $795 upgrade. Now that I got my car, I just can't find a happy spot for my Garmin GPS navigation and I don't care for using the navigation on my phone either. So now I am wishing I had bought the navigation option ..... doh.

So is there any way to upgrade from my current Chevrolet MyLink™1 with 7" diagonal color touch screen to the Chevrolet MyLink™1 with navigation? If so, how much will this cost? And how easy/hard is it to do?

I looked into adding the NAV in my car after I got it because it was on constraint. The NAV is factory install only and not worth tying to convert. I have all the part numbers but you would have to have it all reprogrammed and parts cost are high plus the install is very costly. I waited and got the NAV.

djnice 07-06-2013 12:21 PM

Yes, you can add navigation to the factory system. Here is one company that makes it. http://www.mocar.us/navigation-oe-in...vy-gmc/camaro/

When I looked into it 6 months ago it was around $1500 for the full install. I didn't look hard for a way to buy it without paying someone to install it.
It has been discussed on the forum before and some people have had it done.

Chevrolet Customer Svc 07-06-2013 12:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ladykiller (Post 6756048)
So I bought a 2013 ZL1 w/o navigation because I did not think it was worth an $795 upgrade. Now that I got my car, I just can't find a happy spot for my Garmin GPS navigation and I don't care for using the navigation on my phone either. So now I am wishing I had bought the navigation option ..... doh.

So is there any way to upgrade from my current Chevrolet MyLinkô1 with 7" diagonal color touch screen to the Chevrolet MyLinkô1 with navigation? If so, how much will this cost? And how easy/hard is it to do?


Hello Ladykiller,

Have you had the opportunity to speak with your dealer about you options with upgrading your navigation system? If not, I can investigate that for you more. I would need you to private message me your VIN and your dealer's information.

Reggie B.
Chevrolet Customer Care

Skylane765 07-06-2013 12:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chevrolet Customer Svc (Post 6756833)
Hello Ladykiller,

Have you had the opportunity to speak with your dealer about you options with upgrading your navigation system? If not, I can investigate that for you more. I would need you to private message me your VIN and your dealer's information.

Reggie B.
Chevrolet Customer Care

Yes, I did talk to the dealer 3 of them, and they said it would be a high cost and was factory only. Yes there are many after market NAVs out there that you can upgrade to.

Ladykiller 07-06-2013 03:30 PM

I have not talked to them as of yet, but I will probably get over there some time this week. I'll message you my VIN and dealers info later.

Thanks!

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chevrolet Customer Svc (Post 6756833)
Hello Ladykiller,

Have you had the opportunity to speak with your dealer about you options with upgrading your navigation system? If not, I can investigate that for you more. I would need you to private message me your VIN and your dealer's information.

Reggie B.
Chevrolet Customer Care


Chevrolet Customer Svc 07-06-2013 03:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ladykiller (Post 6757299)
I have not talked to them as of yet, but I will probably get over there some time this week. I'll message you my VIN and dealers info later.

Thanks!

Sounds great Ladykiller, I look forward to your pm.

Reggie B.
Chevrolet Customer Care

The Stig 07-06-2013 04:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chevrolet Customer Svc (Post 6756833)
Hello Ladykiller,

Have you had the opportunity to speak with your dealer about you options with upgrading your navigation system? If not, I can investigate that for you more. I would need you to private message me your VIN and your dealer's information.

Reggie B.
Chevrolet Customer Care

GM and Chevrolet both will say that it's not possible.

Also - 2SSRS should be coming out with something to do this soon.

;)

SPARTAN sui 07-06-2013 05:18 PM

Have you checked out http://www.proclipusa.com/ ?

Here's my proclip setup. (though I don't think my particular mount is compatible with 2012+ newer Camaros due to the leather trim on the dash.)

https://fbcdn-sphotos-g-a.akamaihd.n...81645906_o.jpg

https://sphotos-a.xx.fbcdn.net/hphot...00942484_o.jpg

I have the Garmin 50LM that I bought for $100 on sale. Lifetime maps for free and works awesome! The proclip ran me around $60 I believe.

Asanti 07-06-2013 06:30 PM

There are other posts on this subject. I had the aftermarket version professionally installed and couldn't be happier with it. You can find details on my install, who did it, cost, etc. in another post.

AZ2SSRS 07-07-2013 12:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cvp33 (Post 6756096)
I use the Bluetooth and Google maps from my phone. It interrupts the radio to give directions only, then right back to the music......just like standard OEM NAV would. I really can't justify getting NAV in a car anymore.

Ditto. The factory nav will set you back over $700 and you will have to pay GM for future map updates. The recent update for the nav in my wife's 2010 CTS was priced at $150.

Ladykiller 07-09-2013 08:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chevrolet Customer Svc (Post 6756829)

Hello Ladykiller,

Have you had the opportunity to speak with your dealer about you options with upgrading your navigation system? If not, I can investigate that for you more. I would need you to private message me your VIN and your dealer's information.

Reggie B.
Chevrolet Customer Care

Still awaiting your response. I sent you PM's with the required info.

Skylane765 07-09-2013 09:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ladykiller (Post 6769173)
Still awaiting your response. I sent you PM's with the required info.

I asked the same question way back, they just say ask the dealer.

Fraxum 07-09-2013 10:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SPARTAN sui (Post 6757595)
Have you checked out http://www.proclipusa.com/ ?

Here's my proclip setup. (though I don't think my particular mount is compatible with 2012+ newer Camaros due to the leather trim on the dash.)

https://fbcdn-sphotos-g-a.akamaihd.n...81645906_o.jpg

https://sphotos-a.xx.fbcdn.net/hphot...00942484_o.jpg

I have the Garmin 50LM that I bought for $100 on sale. Lifetime maps for free and works awesome! The proclip ran me around $60 I believe.

I like this one better:
http://www.proclipusa.com/dashboard-...705-13241.cmsv

It doesn't block the vent and is higher and easier to see while driving even than factory Nav.

SamHouseIII 07-09-2013 10:58 PM

http://i.ytimg.com/vi/jrteGlSNVUY/2.jpg?1373428543934

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jrteG...ature=youtu.be


It can be done, was quoted like 1700 for the upgrade. See the video. ^^^ Contact Joc at Brookhaven Motors 972-322-0989.

Chevrolet Customer Svc 07-10-2013 10:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ladykiller (Post 6769173)
Still awaiting your response. I sent you PM's with the required info.

Hello Ladykiller,

I was able to receive some information today I was waiting on and updated you via private message.

Reggie B.
Chevrolet Customer Care

zl1bro 07-10-2013 11:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Asanti (Post 6757806)
There are other posts on this subject. I had the aftermarket version professionally installed and couldn't be happier with it. You can find details on my install, who did it, cost, etc. in another post.

What version did you install? How much did it cost? Easy install?

Asanti 07-10-2013 02:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by zl1bro (Post 6771179)
What version did you install? How much did it cost? Easy install?

I ordered this one, had it installed by a professional in the Indianapolis area at a total cost of around $1,500 parts and labor. It took them from around 10am to 4:30pm to complete. Although it doesn't tie into the HUD, it is super in all other ways. Would do it again.

WLNY 07-10-2013 07:23 PM

This http://www.waze.com/ is better than any Garmin or OEM Nav system you can get.

djnice 07-12-2013 01:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chevrolet Customer Svc (Post 6771100)
Hello Ladykiller,

I was able to receive some information today I was waiting on and updated you via private message.

Reggie B.
Chevrolet Customer Care

Why can't you just post this? We all want to know what the options are. Thanks.

2ss-booya 07-12-2013 01:53 AM


Chevrolet Customer Svc 07-12-2013 11:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by djnice (Post 6775474)
Why can't you just post this? We all want to know what the options are. Thanks.

djnice,

We handle all vehicle concerns on a case by case basis generally. For this issue, there is no option at this point to upgrade to the navigation feature once the vehicle has left the factory. It is possible for this to change in the future, but nothing is available presently.

Reggie B.
Chevrolet Customer Care


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.