Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Off-topic Discussions (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Internet help please! (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=319603)

Vengeance Graphix 09-23-2013 11:15 PM

Internet help please!
 
So im about to pull my hair out and cant figure out what is going on lately with my internet. Hoping that someone one here might know a fix or the answer to my issue.

So i have a macbook pro and use wifi for my connection, granted comcast sucks a$$.. For the past 2 weeks or so my wifi has been dropping out literally ALL. THE. TIME... however my wifi bar is connected and it says im connected. My router and modem are perfectly fine and light up all in green saying everything is connected. I figured i should reset everything and that would do the trick but apparently not.

I can place my mac next to the router and modem and still cant even get my browser to even load. Yet my wifi bar is full and still reading that im connected to the internet. Im running out of ideas here, i even reset the wifi configuration on the mac to see if that would work and still nothing. Im even unable to watch a full movie on Netflix off my xbox360 without it signing me out of xbox live and then i cant even finish it. I get about 25% through a movie and then itll cut out.

Every time my wifi drops out on my mac i have to click my wifi bar, turn it off and then turn it back on, wait for 10 secs to reconnect before the internet works again and at most will last for 5 mins before i have to re do what i just did.

Anyone have a clue what the issue is?

ShadowOfDeth 09-23-2013 11:33 PM

Try calling Comcast and having them check the signal strength going into your home as well as all the writing outside. You might need them to install a signal booster.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 2

Sapper12b 09-23-2013 11:48 PM

I have a MAC and never had an issue with connectivity . Any time I can't connect to the internet was due to the provider.

CHMSC 09-24-2013 12:07 AM

Have your ISP check the connection or your modem or router may be going bad.

FenwickHockey65 09-24-2013 12:29 AM

I'd say your router is asking for retirement. Similar occurrence at my parents' house. I ended up going out and getting them a new router and that fixed their problems.

mp51998 09-24-2013 04:03 AM

Same here. New router, problem fixed.

SSE 4 2SS 09-24-2013 05:06 AM

Ditto, went and bought a new router and the issue disappeared...

11BEE 09-24-2013 05:19 AM

New router will fix it. I had the same issue, and once I got a new router, all was good.

Vengeance Graphix 09-24-2013 05:55 PM

Ok so update on whats been an issue...

So the internet hasnt dropped at all today and everything is fine. The second i go on youtube though to upload a video or watch any video youtube will freeze up after maybe 2 mins of use, if i check my other open tabs they will still work. However if i try to refresh the youtube tab then nothing will load and when i go back to any other open tabs the wifi drops... I'm so confused here.. can this still be a router issue? or maybe something that is a youtube problem? this is usually what has been happening

Seems like everything is 110% fine.. however the second youtube is open things gets strange

I even re installed flash player just to make sure it was up to date..

AllBlckChvy 09-24-2013 10:41 PM

I agree with others, new router might fixed it. You can have comcast run a signal through, reset your router, or have them check your connection speed. Maybe they dropped your bandwidth? Good luck!

AllBlckChvy 09-24-2013 10:44 PM

Also, is your connection password protected? Maybe neighbors are using up your bandwidth

Red Jewel RS 09-24-2013 10:54 PM

I am a service tech for a cable company, I deal with this everyday. You always have to start troubleshooting with the source. So call the cable company and have them check their stuff. Be aware that they may charge you a service charge if they deem that it is not the provider issue.
With what you are saying, I don't think it is a provider issue. I would agree with the others that it is your router. I had the same problem. Changed my router and no more problems.
Hope this helps. Good luck!

MikeSVX 09-25-2013 10:55 AM

Sounds like the lines outside your house are getting loaded down. Does this happen at specific times? I have issues streaming videos on Amazon between 4pm and 9pm. Thats when everyone gets home and starts using the internet too. It can overload the providers lines.

Camaro_Corvette 09-25-2013 10:56 AM

Junk router...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.