Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   I pulled the trigger on my home built NAV Radio this weekend: (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=324152)

rray 10-20-2013 09:38 PM

I pulled the trigger on my home built NAV Radio this weekend:
 
I finally got rid of that horrible Mylink Navigation unit that came with my 2SS/RS. This weekend I put the replacement in, an I7 Mobile based CarPC. First I removed the Mylink screen and nav radio. That radio even has a CD slot, although there was no way to use it.

I had to cut some plastic away so all my electronics and the 8" screen would fit:
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-a...Radio+Area.jpg

Next I made a video cable to tap into the oem backup camera, after getting and info and pin numbers from 2SSRS@Gen5diy, StealthZL1, and Robdollar77:
https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-y...mera+Cable.jpg

I was able to use a 90 degree Dupont Pin Header, as the pin spacing was perfect at 2.54mm, and I ty-wrapped it onto the connector so the cable would not come unplugged:
https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-H...+Connector.jpg

I built up a CarPC using mostly high temperature industrial components. An industrial socket G2 motherboard, Mobile I7 35W processor, 85C rated low profile DDR3, and I used a Hifidiy Saber USB DAC to output an extremely transparent audio signal. The power supply is a 160W intellegent DC-DC converter that uses a combination of ignition switch position, and timers to start and stop the PC, so I don't ever have to power down the PC. I just drive, and it runs automatically, and powers down automatically when I pull out the key:
https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-5...otherboard.jpg

I routed cables with airflow in mind:
https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-s...m2+PC+Case.jpg

rray 10-20-2013 09:40 PM

And after slapping the case together, installed a USB Bluetooth Dongle, and a Dual Band N WIFI Dongle:
https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-4...2+PC+Front.jpg

There's lots of ports for expansion, as I add more devices down the road:
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-w...m2+PC+Rear.jpg

I modified the Metra kit to fit an 8" HDMI touchscreen, HDMI and Composite TFT driver board with auto video switching so I could switch from PC to Backup Camera whe I put the tranny in reverse, a Joycon programmable steering wheel button interface, and an intellegent 80W DC-DC converter to provide computer grade power for the screen and electronics:
https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-P...+Interface.jpg

I mounted the PC, Amps, Cap, and Sound Processor behind the seat and on the backside of the SUB box. Everything here is powered from a second Stinger Battery when the engine is off, and isolation opens up after the engine is started:
https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-V...ehind+Seat.jpg

I have both a 1 Farad cap and a backup battery. The cap is just to make extra sure I don't have any power dips that could cause the PC to reset. Here is the batteries and isolation solenoid:
https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-m...l+Battery1.jpg

Here is the 8" touchscreen mounted in the metra dash kit:
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-R...+Installed.jpg

rray 10-20-2013 10:04 PM

I use the Driveline front end software. It's open source freeware, and the developer is open to suggestions of adding features. I can change the main page layout for stuff I want to use more, and put the other things on the next page:
https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-H...no/Screen1.jpg

I found I don't use reset, sleep, or hibernate, so I hid them and made the other power screen options larger:
https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-A...2c/s800/02.jpg

The Media Player is screen I use the most, and since I have Album Art imbedded in each song, I like the larger window than the Mylink had for album art:
https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-U...Cg/s800/03.jpg

When I get hooked on a favorite sone, I put a star next to it on the Playlist page, and after selecting all my favorites, I can toggle the Play All/ Play Favorites button (bottom left), then turned on Shuffle to randomize the favorites I have selected:
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-4...ew/s800/04.jpg

rray 10-20-2013 10:05 PM

I also have an OBD interface thatr pulls data:
https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-x...no/Screen4.jpg

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-y...no/Screen5.jpg

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-w...no/Screen6.jpg

The PC supports 3 screens, and the front end software supports 2, so I was thinking an addon will be to put a small flip up screen where the center speaker is to place gauges closer to the road, or even flip the screen mirror, and lay it flat for a second HUD off the windshield:
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-z...no/Screen7.jpg

45thCamaro 10-20-2013 10:49 PM

Wow man you went all in with this! Looks great. I find it funny how a bunch of us without the my link want it so bad, yet people such as yourself want nothing to do with it lol.

The only thing I would change is paint the dash kit. Idk why I just don't like the silver. Should paint it the same color as your car or something to give it something. Maybe wrap in vinyl idk.

But really if I had half the talent to do this, i would start to do it. I would be completely content with an iPad mini in the dash lol

Johnthegreat 10-21-2013 12:23 AM

How much for the carpc

rray 10-21-2013 07:32 AM

Not including the audio stuff, I have about $1200 into it so far. It's not hard to do, its much like assembling a barebones home PC, where you buy all off the shelf cpu, memory, hard drive, power supply, and USB gadgets. Even the screen was an open frame lcd kit off ebay.

Add a metra dash kit to interface with the car, buy a copy of windows 7 and load, then get the free open source or paid "Front End" software, of which there are several to choose from, and you got a car pc that does everything a high end navigation head unit does but more and its expandable.

The hardest part was cutting the metra dash bezel, and re-gluing on the cut plastic parts like fingers to hold the lcd screen in place. You dont even have to do that if you buy a 7" screen, but I wanted to fit 8".

45thCamaro 10-21-2013 10:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rray (Post 7111581)
Not including the audio stuff, I have about $1200 into it so far. It's not hard to do, its much like assembling a barebones home PC, where you buy all off the shelf cpu, memory, hard drive, power supply, and USB gadgets. Even the screen was an open frame lcd kit off ebay.

Add a metra dash kit to interface with the car, buy a copy of windows 7 and load, then get the free open source or paid "Front End" software, of which there are several to choose from, and you got a car pc that does everything a high end navigation head unit does but more and its expandable.

The hardest part was cutting the metra dash bezel, and re-gluing on the cut plastic parts like fingers to hold the lcd screen in place. You dont even have to do that if you buy a 7" screen, but I wanted to fit 8".

How does the navigation part work? Your running a program off the computer for it correct? How does it get a satellite signal.

I have a Mac mini just sitting here that would be perfect for this.

rray 10-21-2013 10:32 AM

I have a USB GPS plugged in, and it's currently sitting on the right side of the rear deck. I don't have the microphone installed yet, so currently you would have to pull over and type in your destination. I also have a copy of Microsoft Streets and Trips that works with this USB GPS, but I have not loaded it on the PC yet.

I also have a digital I/O board to install, with 16 in and 16 outs, and each out can drive a 2A load common collector mode. The I/O is integrated into the Driveline front end software, so I can modify the code to turn things on and off by which screen I am on or by status of input bits, etc.

I also have a 6 port intelligent USB hub that I am going to mount in the cup holder area so I can plug in a USB volume control knob, and thumb drives, and charge my phone, etc.

There's lots of room for expansion.


You can install a Mac Mini, and run it off the intelligent DC-DC converter. It's output is jumper selectable up to 24V, I think the mini uses 19V? There are guys doing it.

rray 10-21-2013 10:38 AM

Today is the first day I drove in to work with the new setup. I listened to FLAC files, kind of like 320 bit MP3's but lossless. The sound quality was totally awesome! Although I used a few patches of Dyanmat, the Camaro itself is very well insulated against road noise, so all I heard was crystal clear music. I was blown away!

Robdollar77 10-21-2013 07:38 PM

That's a awesome setup rray!

ckaram 10-22-2013 05:30 AM

You, my friend, are the master. Incredible.

vtxretro02 10-22-2013 07:13 AM

Pm sent

rray 10-22-2013 07:21 AM

Thanks for offers for the old stuff, but I always keep the stock hardware and swap back just before trade-in. I get the best trade value with all dealer equipt, or dealer accessory option stuff.

thxultra 10-22-2013 11:12 AM

Nice setup, do you have to go through windows startup though and shutdown every time you drive? Think my lack of patience would be a problem if I had to wait for it to start up and shut down. Looks really slick though and flac support is a big bonus

rray 10-22-2013 01:55 PM

The carpc boots and is playing music where it left off faster than the My link can do the same thing, thanks to the i7 and ssd.

This morning I started getting glitches on my speedo an tach, flat tire warnings, and general mayhem. I suspect the metra heater control module. Troubleshooting after work.

-Robert

stt816 10-22-2013 02:18 PM

nice songs/artists love sound remedy & adventure club

Padre 10-22-2013 02:33 PM

Very impressive. My carputer is mainly for tuning and very amateur. Wish I had your mad skillz! :)

Padre

rray 10-22-2013 03:10 PM

I got a reply back from Metra based off the glitched I experienced, they suspect the heater control buttons part, and not the onstar/steering wheel box, and gave me a list of items to verify and reply after work tonight.

Let's hope it's easy as just a flash of the heater controller with different firmware and recover. They also suspect the pink wire between the 44 pin connector and the heater controller as loose. Those guys respond fast!

rray 10-22-2013 03:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stt816 (Post 7116067)
nice songs/artists love sound remedy & adventure club

Yesterday on the way home I was streaming Adventure Club from https://soundcloud.com/dubstep in 320Kbit with only 2 dropout/stalls between San Jose and Fremont using my phone's 4G hotspot (Cyanogenmod on a Samsung GS3). I was actually pretty surprised at the connection stability.


Quote:

Very impressive. My carputer is mainly for tuning and very amateur. Wish I had your mad skillz!

Padre
Don't sell yourself short, I did absolutely NOTHING fancy, I used a Metra kit, and all off the shelf PC stuff to slapp this thing together. Anyone can do it, it's just a matter of getting familiar with all the car pc hardware that's available like cases, power supplies, and USB devices. Only 1 software program to learn, the front end software, which in my case is Driveline.

rray 10-24-2013 10:45 AM

Update on the Metra glitch, after force flashing the Metra boxes, I installed them last night and they worked fine then. On the way to work the DIC screen glitches again, and the Speedo and Tach glitches, then recovered for the rest of the drive.

The carpc played fine the whole time, so I will replace the Metra buttons and LCD parts tonight. I have a version 1.1 firmware heater controls buttons from an older Metra kit where only the green color of the RGB screen led works.

-Robert

chris7488 10-24-2013 05:53 PM

I'll buy your old my link how much??

45thCamaro 10-24-2013 09:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by chris7488 (Post 7123401)
I'll buy your old my link how much??

He said he's not selling it.

Eich 10-25-2013 07:06 AM

Nice work. Very cool setup. I like everything except for the need to use the Metra kit. That kit is notorious for LEDs going out in the display. Metra support is quick to respond but the only response they give for LED display going out is to flash the firmware (which isn't the problem) or replace the entire kit (which is generally out of warranty when the LED display goes dark).

Would be nice if there was a way to make your car PC handle all the HVAC controls and then have a custom dash kit made that looks better than Metra.

rray 10-25-2013 01:57 PM

Yes, that's exactly the response I got from Metra. First I flashed both parts, and then when I asked if the sell replacement parts they said No, buy a new kit. I already have 2 bad kits now. Both out of warrantee.

-Robert


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.