Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   bluetooth gps setting in radio (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=34198)

gss9909 07-25-2009 08:46 PM

bluetooth gps setting in radio
 
In th radio menu screens when you go to bluetooth setting there is oe that says "blutooth gps".Has anyone been able to getthis feature to work? and whats it for?

Cheshirelaugh 07-25-2009 10:16 PM

I'd love to know how it's supposd to work.

I tried syncing my Garmin, but both the Camaro and the Garmin wanted to be the 'master' for lack of a better word. Both said "Enter #### on the other device".

Nexus6 07-26-2009 12:40 AM

Maybe codeman can chime in on this one.

UCF w00t 07-26-2009 09:20 AM

I've been wondering this myself. The only thing that I can figure would be something like this but I fail to see how that would help the car at all and how the car would use it.

codeman71 07-28-2009 08:09 AM

It was initially intended to basically allow you to pair up a laptop or phone and get GPS coordinates from the OnStar module. You could then run a navigation program like Streets & Trips on your laptop. This functionality was eventually disabled, but wasn't removed from the radio menu for some reason.

UCF w00t 07-28-2009 08:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by codeman71 (Post 730193)
It was initially intended to basically allow you to pair up a laptop or phone and get GPS coordinates from the OnStar module. You could then run a navigation program like Streets & Trips on your laptop. This functionality was eventually disabled, but wasn't removed from the radio menu for some reason.

:facepalm:

stet 07-28-2009 10:08 AM

I would love to use this with my BlackBerry as the OnStar GPS antenna is probably going to be more accurate than the one built into my phone. I did attempt to set this up but all it did was re-establish the same phone call only connection that I already had.

levi1922 07-28-2009 04:53 PM

:(

jxmot 09-11-2009 10:00 AM

Honestly, I think that disabling the feature was a mistake. I would prefer to use some other device (phone or laptop) to take care of mapping and directions. OnStar routing is OK, but needs work.

And leaving it in the menu is just poor engineering. I'm a software engineer, and I would never leave a dead-end menu in the UI.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.