Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=73)
-   -   Jet performance chips? (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=36974)

Kamaro4437 08-12-2009 12:31 AM

Jet performance chips?
 
anyone had any experience with these products or know if they do anything or not?:iono:http://www.summitracing.com/parts/JET-11008S/

zebra 08-12-2009 12:51 AM

get a custom tune - you'll be happier, get more out of your car, & it'll be specifically tuned to any mods you have (or add in the future - most tuners do free updates)

Danno 08-12-2009 09:28 AM

This is sorta apples and oranges, but I lost .2 seconds on the 1/4 mile in my 1993 LT1 Trans Am when I installed a Jet Chip, and it totally tanked my gas mileage. I then went with a custom chip from pcmforless and was much happier.

CamaroSpike23 08-12-2009 05:18 PM

chips are worthless. get a real tune.

HaveBlue 08-12-2009 05:50 PM

I would not recommend that company

Shadowmind 08-14-2009 05:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CamaroSpike23 (Post 791435)
chips are worthless. get a real tune.

What if you want to swap 'the tune' out when you go in for a service for your regular 'tune'?

How do you fix that little problem?

My Chevy mechanic said, "Get another computer so you get the downshift right, then swap it out when you need to bring it in. We have Corvette guys that do this all the time. You can do it on your own."

Otherwise... You're SOL when you take it in for service and they check the tune on the car.

SSOOCH 08-14-2009 06:06 PM

Chips are for eating!! :bellyroll:

Octaneman 08-14-2009 06:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by HaveBlue (Post 791535)
I would not recommend that company

I agree, not worth it.!

Steve

CamaroSpike23 08-14-2009 07:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shadowmind (Post 799770)
What if you want to swap 'the tune' out when you go in for a service for your regular 'tune'?

How do you fix that little problem?

My Chevy mechanic said, "Get another computer so you get the downshift right, then swap it out when you need to bring it in. We have Corvette guys that do this all the time. You can do it on your own."

Otherwise... You're SOL when you take it in for service and they check the tune on the car.


depending on the chip, it could affect the pcm in the same way a regular tune will when GM hooks it up to the scanner. go get a new pcm and have it tuned then swap back to stock when you go to the dealer, but its one of those things, you gotta pay to play

zebra 08-14-2009 09:19 PM

most people that do custom tunes have a whole mess of extra PCMs sitting around, so just have them send you one with a tune so you'll have your stock unit when you go in for service

600hp-lpe 08-19-2009 01:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shadowmind (Post 799770)
What if you want to swap 'the tune' out when you go in for a service for your regular 'tune'?

How do you fix that little problem?

My Chevy mechanic said, "Get another computer so you get the downshift right, then swap it out when you need to bring it in. We have Corvette guys that do this all the time. You can do it on your own."

Otherwise... You're SOL when you take it in for service and they check the tune on the car.

I would recommend swapping out the PCM as your GM mechanic suggested. Otherwise, if the GM service guy overwrites your custom tune, you will be bumming!

It's going to be kinda hard to hide the blower on top of my engine once my car is built at LPE. LPE will work with my local GM service desk for warranty repairs (I already asked both parties). It pays to make friends at your local dealership!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.