Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=70)
-   -   Auto Indexing Window Broken (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=38167)

Gen5SSRS 08-19-2009 12:09 PM

Auto Indexing Window Broken
 
I leave my windows open slightly because of the heat(approx. 1"). I came out, got in the car and my drivers window had closed itself. When I started the car, the info center told me to open and close my window. This went on for several days, and the indexing feature stopped working. :cry:. Not wanting to experience the joy of hoping my dealership could repair it without desimating my ride, I searched the threads and found one on a different problem, however the thread also explained how to reset the window module. With the key on roll the windowdown all the the way and hold the switch for 3 seconds, then roll up and hold switch for three seconds, repeat once more. I tried it and Tah Dah!!! Problem solved! If you have a similar problem try this. Thanx Camaro5 web site for saving me a trip to the dealer!!! :happyanim:

rolnslo 08-19-2009 01:09 PM

Glad that fixed your issue.

The steps to reset the windows is on page 1-16 of your owner's manual as well.

Quote:

To program each front window,
follow these steps:
1. With the ignition in ACC/
ACCESSORY, ON/RUN,
or when Retained Accessory
Power (RAP) is active, close
all doors.
2. Press and hold the power
window switch until the window
is fully open.
3. Pull the power window switch up
until the window is fully closed.
4. Continue holding the switch up
for approximately two seconds
after the window is completely
closed.
The window is now reprogrammed.
Repeat the process for the other
windows.

bonnhew 08-19-2009 11:20 PM

are these windows all power? (i mean is it one touch down and one touch up?

rolnslo 08-20-2009 10:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bonnhew (Post 820586)
are these windows all power? (i mean is it one touch down and one touch up?

Yes. One touch up and one touch down. Push the button again in the same direction while the window is moving and it will stop where it's at.

Gen5SSRS 08-20-2009 01:48 PM

They are also 2 position switches. Press lightly and the window will stop when you let off the switch, up or down. Press the switch all the way and they will express up or down. The sunroof switch is the same way.

bonnhew 08-20-2009 05:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rolnslo (Post 821834)
Yes. One touch up and one touch down. Push the button again in the same direction while the window is moving and it will stop where it's at.

thank u.. and it applies for both the windows right?

Gen5SSRS 08-20-2009 07:05 PM

Yup:thumbsup:

RickRay 09-12-2009 04:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gen5SSRS (Post 817353)
I leave my windows open slightly because of the heat(approx. 1"). I came out, got in the car and my drivers window had closed itself. When I started the car, the info center told me to open and close my window. This went on for several days, and the indexing feature stopped working. :cry:. Not wanting to experience the joy of hoping my dealership could repair it without desimating my ride, I searched the threads and found one on a different problem, however the thread also explained how to reset the window module. With the key on roll the windowdown all the the way and hold the switch for 3 seconds, then roll up and hold switch for three seconds, repeat once more. I tried it and Tah Dah!!! Problem solved! If you have a similar problem try this. Thanx Camaro5 web site for saving me a trip to the dealer!!! :happyanim:

This just happened to me. I came on this site did a search and found you and I did what you said (once) and "Voila" it worked. Thanks :thumbsup:

JewelZ 09-12-2009 04:05 PM

I love this feature, it always tripes my friends out!

peel out 09-20-2009 08:20 AM

THANKS!!!!
 
It just worked for me!!!!!!!!:wub:

deljaso 09-22-2009 02:50 PM

Alright, I'm trying the manual method of reindexing the windows, but having problems.
It seems my driver side opens very little - about 1/8 inch or so, just barely clearing the molding, and the passenger side now opens about 3/4", a lot more than it used to.
I've tried following the procedure in the manual, opening the window all the way, then immediately closing it and holding up for 5 seconds after it's all the way up...
Tried with both half presses down and up, then full pressess on the switch down, then up. Tried with half press down, full pull up, and full press down and half press up.
Tried opening and closing the door before doing it. Tried it with key in ACC position, with key in full on position.

Is there some kind of trick to re-index the windows?

Gen5SSRS 09-24-2009 03:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by deljaso (Post 955343)
Alright, I'm trying the manual method of reindexing the windows, but having problems.
It seems my driver side opens very little - about 1/8 inch or so, just barely clearing the molding, and the passenger side now opens about 3/4", a lot more than it used to.
I've tried following the procedure in the manual, opening the window all the way, then immediately closing it and holding up for 5 seconds after it's all the way up...
Tried with both half presses down and up, then full pressess on the switch down, then up. Tried with half press down, full pull up, and full press down and half press up.
Tried opening and closing the door before doing it. Tried it with key in ACC position, with key in full on position.

Is there some kind of trick to re-index the windows?

Try Pressing the switch all the way down. Once the window is down, continue holding switch for 2 seconds. Then roll window up, once up continue to hold switch 2 seconds. If this doesn't work, a trip to dealer may be necc.

Angrybird 12 01-01-2010 05:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bonnhew (Post 820586)
are these windows all power? (i mean is it one touch down and one touch up?

If you just push it part the way down it will only move until you release the button, from what I have heard when you reindex your window do not use the one touch feature, it won't work that way.. upi should be able to feel a detent in the switch where you go from manual to the one touch feature.

SPYDERMAN1 01-01-2010 09:08 PM

At last I thought I was the only one that had this issue. The dealer didint know how to fix it. Thanks everyone !!!!!!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.