Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=67)
-   -   LS3 Camshaft swap (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=41792)

Kripp 09-10-2009 01:16 PM

LS3 Camshaft swap
 
I am doing a camshaft change (replacing it with another single bolt camshaft) on an LS3 motor. Does anyone know if the bolt can be reused? Also, the torque spec for reinstalling. Is it just a torque spec or is it like the cranshaft bolt.... torque and tighten another "X" amount of degrees afterwards. I have the new camshaft and looked it over. The threads are very fine threads. Comp Cams wasn't much help. The GM dealer wasn't much more help either. Thanks in advance!

rodimus prime 09-10-2009 01:51 PM

Every bolt can be reused except for the Crank/balancer bolt, head bolts and main bolts.

Are you talking about the cam gear to the cam bolts? there should be three.

Its 26 ft lbs on the ls1/2. I would imagine the l99/ls3 are the same. Dont forget locktite.

Kripp 09-10-2009 02:20 PM

No, it is a single bolt cam.

rodimus prime 09-10-2009 02:24 PM

Yeah I was just coming back here after I looked into it. There are shops using the 3 bolt cam now too. Its all the same junk.

Kripp 09-11-2009 02:43 AM

I found some info from a GM dealer. The torque spec on the bolt is 55 ft lbs plus 50 degrees. It should be replaced if removed.

Kripp 09-19-2009 09:59 AM

I have an LS3 and I changed the cam (Comp Cams 146-458-11 227/243 .614/.624), springs and pushrods just last night. I have it running, but it will overheat in a matter of a few minutes. The center (digital) readout will keep going up, but the dial temp gage (under speedo) doesn't get into the hot range. It doesn't even get past the half way mark. Could there be an air pocket in the cooling system or the thermostat is stuck or something of the sort? Also, the power steering is noisy... Does that need to be purged of air or something? Is it too much cam compared to stock, and it needs a tune to run properly (is that causing the overheating)? Any help is greatly appreciated.

2SSRS@Gen5diy 09-19-2009 10:14 AM

How did you fill it.

Kripp 09-19-2009 10:39 AM

I filled the radiator through the filler neck (a couple times & squeeze the hoses, etc).Should it be done a different way? I don't know if there is a specific procedure. Thanks

2SSRS@Gen5diy 09-19-2009 10:56 AM

Yes you need to add to the radiator after you get it up to temp, stop the car and add after it is cold, it will take like 2-3 time's as it gets all the air out, Hope it helps.

66DeuceLS1 10-01-2009 02:18 PM

another trick that I use on all my thermostate changes it so drill a 1/8th inch hole in the outer ring with will assist in releasing air trapped in the block.

camaro1 02-14-2010 08:38 AM

the single camshaft bolt is a 1 time use only.

also it helps to purge air by removing the upper hose from the radiator and filling the block with coolant from the upper hose

or

if you have a VACUFILL you can fill the entire cooling system in 1 shot without even starting the engine, if you ever use one of these you will never do a cooling system without it.

urr2slo 03-15-2010 03:05 AM

lift the front end, ramps, or on jack stands and let it run, add coolant as needed. it helps get all the air pockets out.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.