Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=65)
-   -   Storing for Winter questions (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=44488)

joepitt 09-26-2009 12:21 PM

Storing for Winter questions

I'll be garaging my Camaro for the winter, November-March. I've never done that before. Is there anything special I should do. I'm planning on cover for use in the garage.

SSOOCH 09-26-2009 01:27 PM

If you're going to use a car cover and it's going to be inside the garage don't waste your money on a "weather proof" cover. The ones for inside use are much cheaper.

I'd disconnect the battery, put it on jack stands. There are also some big bags of Silica gel that you can put in side to keep the moisture down to a minimum.

I'd top it off with gas and also change the oil before you park her.

DEW 09-26-2009 01:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by joepitt (Post 971419)
I'll be garaging my Camaro for the winter, November-March. I've never done that before. Is there anything special I should do. I'm planning on cover for use in the garage.

I will be doing the same thing. Ordered the Trigard cover from coverking http://www.southerncarparts.com/cove...ers-c-112.html Im just going to park it with a full tank and start it once a month,

RedJewelrsss32 09-26-2009 01:40 PM

I would use a fuel stabilizer. I plan on starting mine once a month as the battery will get drained on while setting.

67 Convertible 09-26-2009 02:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RedJewelrsss32 (Post 971575)
I would use a fuel stabilizer. I plan on starting mine once a month as the battery will get drained on while setting.