Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=65)
-   -   V6 Oil Filter Pics (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=53228)

bub 11-21-2009 09:23 PM

V6 Oil Filter Pics
 
http://home.everestkc.net/cbrzon/IM003571.JPG

http://home.everestkc.net/cbrzon/IM003572.JPG

http://home.everestkc.net/cbrzon/IM003573.JPG

http://home.everestkc.net/cbrzon/IM003574.JPG

http://home.everestkc.net/cbrzon/IM003575.JPG

http://home.everestkc.net/cbrzon/IM003576.JPG

http://home.everestkc.net/cbrzon/IM003577.JPG

http://home.everestkc.net/cbrzon/IM003578.JPG

http://home.everestkc.net/cbrzon/IM003579.JPG

http://home.everestkc.net/cbrzon/IM003580.JPG

http://home.everestkc.net/cbrzon/IM003581.JPG

http://home.everestkc.net/cbrzon/IM003582.JPG

http://home.everestkc.net/cbrzon/IM003583.JPG

CAM MAN 11-21-2009 09:28 PM

Good pics I never seen inside of the filter before How mant QTS. does it take for
fill up Thanks !! Nice Z06.

bub 11-21-2009 09:34 PM

6 qt. of oil meeting GM spec. GM6094M (Mobil 1 does, & it meets GM spec. for the V8 also).

The P/N shown in the owner's manual for the filter did not agree with the P/N shown on the filter, nor the filter the GM parts guy gave me.

The correct filter P/N is PF2129

firestone_ss 11-21-2009 09:45 PM

you didnt change your o-ring on the housing?:paddle:

CAM MAN 11-21-2009 09:46 PM

Thanks ,I Had my 1rst oil change at done the dealer I might do the next one myself.
THANKS FOR THE INFO.

dwall 11-21-2009 11:08 PM

Wow! I had no idea the oil filter was on top. This should life much easier at oil change time.

cschmidt1956 11-22-2009 08:44 AM

I don't think these filters come with an O-Ring replacement. My Olds uses the same one, and it has TWO o-rings and I have not changed those in 90K miles.

Looks like this one uses a high quality Silicone seal so that should be fine for a long time.

to the OP, how many miles did your filter have on it?

Thanks for the PICS!

bub 11-22-2009 09:04 AM

This is the first oil change on my 1LT LLT V6. It had 1,514 miles.

I agree about the "O-rings" being re-usable. There's really no need to replace servicable parts.

The cap has a blue silicon O-ring that forms the primary seal to the outside.

There are rubber "grommets" on each end of the filter element itself that seal the clean side from the dirty side oil passages.

There is a second rubber "seat" at the base of the filter housing. The top cap seat is machined aluminum to allow the element to rotate upon re-installation/tightening.

Note the threads on the cap...They are not full circumference. I can only assume that this was done this way is to allow some oil to flush/coat all the cap's threads to make subsequent removal easier.:w00t:

firestone_ss 11-22-2009 01:24 PM

ive never seen a cartridge type filter not come with a new o-ring,almost not a day goes by where we see a car in the shop with the housing leaking,open it up and the o.e.green oring is still there after 50k,trust me replace those o-rings people:thumbup:

cschmidt1956 03-11-2010 03:49 PM

On the Olds Engine they used two heavy silicone o-rings. I've never replaced them and they are not included even with a factory filter.

Now my Saturn Astra motor with a similar filter does come with one in both the factory filters and the Purolator ones.

RickRay 03-11-2010 04:19 PM

Can we use the same Oil Filter on the V6 if we change the oil to Mobile 1 Synthetic from Conventional oil?

2010SLVRBULIT 03-11-2010 04:24 PM

where's the oil drain plug?

OKCwhiteKnight 03-11-2010 07:00 PM

Didn't realize filter was up top like my ecotec HHR, I just went over 500mi on mine.
I am also in overland park bub, well at least during the week, weekends in OKC

bub 04-06-2010 10:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 2010SLVRBULIT (Post 1576606)
where's the oil drain plug?

Hate to be a wise crack, but, uh, underneath on the pan...:iono:

wbt 04-07-2010 12:29 AM

Damn....reminds me of some motorcycles I used to own. I had no idea it was a contained filter like that.

speedy_g 09-08-2010 01:36 PM

Man I love the lift and the Z06 ! Dreams can come true I'm working on getting a lift will need bigger house 1st..lol

Texhawk 09-14-2010 08:11 PM

I bought a WIX filter, and it came with one new o-ring.
I have not changed my oil yet. Is there a second o-ring somewhere, or just the one on the cap?
I did not see one in the filter housing as mentioned above.

beetlei 05-20-2011 11:19 AM

Question
 
Perhaps a stupid question but can I change the filter on the V6 without draining the oil?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.