Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=73)
-   -   Aggravating Diablosport predator problems (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=55492)

BlownSS 12-07-2009 01:47 PM

Aggravating Diablosport predator problems
 
got mine a month ago but the car just got here this weekend.....What a pain in the A$$ to install.....def not like the easy instructions!!! I have an ls3 and it initially said that it didnt recognize the car.......20 minutes on hold with Diablo says that I need to install an update...but first need to download the DS installer to do it......finally get it all hooked up again and it wont load.....apparently you need to select autoconnect in the options unless you know how to set your comm ports? this call only took ten minutes on hold. Now i download the new crom and it says that its loaded. Go down to the car for the umteenth time and plug it in and now it says something about an incorrect calibration? I am sick and tired of this machine all ready.....so much for foolproof and Plug-n play!:mad0260::mad0260::mad0260::mad0260::mad0260: :mad0260::mad0260:

after spending about 3 hours trying to get this thing installed..... I sent them my factory tune and asked them how long before i got the tune back.....Here was my answer! Are they serious........sending out a product that doesnt even work without a new tune and more waiting?

" I don’t have a time frame on when the new update will be released. Shouldn’t be long at all. At this point, go ahead and restore the original backup to the vehicle and we'll try to add support for it as soon as possible.

Vas @ Diablo"

Verio 12-07-2009 01:52 PM

I hate to say it, but it's a computer. Think of it like this....

You buy a Windows XP Operating System. You don't install it for a month. Guess what, Microsoft came out with a bunch of updates in the last month, and you need to update before you use the OS.

GM probably came out with a new version of the ECM or something since your Diablosport was programmed.

BlownSS 12-07-2009 01:58 PM

the latest update that i downloaded from Diablosport is only 4 days old!

caverman 12-07-2009 01:59 PM

Who did you order the Diablo from?

If it was someone like Janetty Racing then call them to have them help out. You might even call Janetty anyway, pay for a custom tune from him, and he can not only help you out but maybe get you a better tune than the one that comes with the Diablo.

2010 SSRS 12-07-2009 02:01 PM

I'm glad I read this, I was thinking about buying a Diablo

BackinBlackSS/RS 12-07-2009 02:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 2010 SSRS (Post 1257393)
I'm glad I read this, I was thinking about buying a Diablo

Don't let one bad experience sour you on this product. Short of a full blown
tuning suite like HP Tuners, this is the next best way to go.

caverman 12-07-2009 02:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 2010 SSRS (Post 1257393)
I'm glad I read this, I was thinking about buying a Diablo

If you're considering the Diablo then I would get it from someone like Janetty Racing. You might pay a little more up front (not a whole lot more) but you'll get better customer service with it. He can also hook you up with a custom tune that he can email to you.

Just keep researching until you feel comfotable that the Diablo is for you.

BlownSS 12-07-2009 02:12 PM

I called them again and they are sending me something to see if it works....if it doesnt....Im sending it back.

caverman 12-07-2009 02:13 PM

Here is a prime example:

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=55342


Who did you call? Diablo?

BlownSS 12-07-2009 02:16 PM

I sure as heck am not going to pay for a custom tune when the ones that come with it wont even load! Here was their answer!



BlownSS 12-07-2009 03:20 PM

i sent them my factory tune and asked how long (thinking it would be today) till i got a tune that i can use and here is their response.

"I don’t have a time frame on when the new update will be released. Shouldn’t be long at all. At this point, go ahead and restore the original backup to the vehicle and we'll try to add support for it as soon as possible.

Vas @ Diablo

Steve@Vectormotorsports 12-07-2009 03:26 PM

billyjk7, pm sent

Mike@DS 12-07-2009 03:28 PM

Guys, sometimes GM releases new calibrations, and when they do, we don't exactly get a courtesy call, ya know?

We have made several updates to the U7194 in the past several weeks alone, simply to add support for new GM calibrations.

I dont think there has been a new Camaro customer that has had to wait much more than 1 week to get an update, usually faster than that.

With the countless number of factory calibrations we support, it is not always going to be easy as 1,2,3, but we will do our best to get you up and running asap.

This case is odd, as I was not aware of any unsupported calibrations, but I'm sure we'll be able to get it added as long as we have a copy of your stock file.

Thanks
Mike

BlownSS 12-07-2009 03:30 PM

i sent your folks a copy of the stock tune.

jeffny09 12-07-2009 03:46 PM

this makes me think twice about even trying this out-

alssiri 12-07-2009 03:49 PM

Predator is the best handheld programer i ever used on many cars with no issues :thumbsup: .
As Mike said they will sort it out for ya.

Ahmad

dwebster 12-07-2009 03:52 PM

I just installed Corsa cat back and am awaiting arrival of CAI cold air intake. I have been researching hand held tuners and narrowed it down to Diablo, Hypertech, and Superchips. I have had experience with Hypertech. I purchased Hypertech for my 2001 SS and was very pleased with both the performance gains and the ease of installing and putting back to stock for GM service. Sounds like Diablo Predator may be a little more involved than a simple plug in and answer questions. ???:iono:

06MonteSS 12-07-2009 03:59 PM

you plug in the predator, and after it boots up:

select Performance tune menu...

select the transmission type (auto/manual)...

select the performance tune you want to install, and it makes the backup copy of the original stock tune that's in the vehicle, then it installs the performance tune...

and done....

that's it...


he just ran into an issue where the GM calibration on his specific car is not supported yet - so, diablo will add support for his vehicle to the next revision update, and then once he updates his predator to that updated revision, all he'll have to do are those steps I listed above ^ ^ ^ ^...

Mike@DS 12-07-2009 04:07 PM

Keep in mind too guys....NOBODY else offers the features we do in a handheld tuner.
The other guys have no custom tuning, not even the ability to modify tunes, nor do they have the support network we have (guys like Lew who can help nearly 24 hours a day!!).

Also, it is likely that we are not the only ones missing support for this latest calibration...

For anyone who has not gone in for this new 'update' at the dealer, do yourself a favor and skip it.
It claims to reduce wheelhop, that means it either runs less timing or has more TM=no fun.

mlee 12-07-2009 04:18 PM

So if your car hasn't been to the dealer for OS updates etc. then you should be fine with a Diablo married to your car. Shouldn't have to continually update it would you??

Tex 12-07-2009 04:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 06MonteSS (Post 1257845)
you plug in the predator, and after it boots up:
select Performance tune menu...
select the transmission type (auto/manual)...
select the performance tune you want to install, and it makes the backup copy of the original stock tune that's in the vehicle, then it installs the performance tune...
and done....
that's it...

he just ran into an issue where the GM calibration on his specific car is not supported yet - so, diablo will add support for his vehicle to the next revision update, and then once he updates his predator to that updated revision, all he'll have to do are those steps I listed above ^ ^ ^ ^...

That's exactly how I did it when I got my Diablo, I'm happy with it!:)

06MonteSS 12-07-2009 04:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mlee (Post 1257938)
So if your car hasn't been to the dealer for OS updates etc. then you should be fine with a Diablo married to your car. Shouldn't have to continually update it would you??

correct...

unless diablo comes out with a new update that's for added features, new/updated tunes, and the like... then if you wanted to have that new updated stuff, you'd want to update the predator to the new revision in order to get it...

Carlos Garza 12-07-2009 10:45 PM

I use to have a charger srt8 and I had an awesome experience with diablo and the people that work for the company. I use to talk to a guy named Johan, who is a programer at diablo motor sports, and the guy was great to say the least... They should have your car up and running in no time...

JICPerformance 12-07-2009 11:52 PM

We had a Predator owner whose upload experienced a communication error and left the car stranded on the side of the road. This occured on a Sunday so the car had to be towed back to his home. On Monday, Diablosport did furnish an unlock code that allowed the owner to again try and successfully upload a tune.

This is just here to be informational. I would caution you to only download and upload tunes at your home or somewhere that the car could be left in case of a communication failure when using a Predator.

Black GT 12-08-2009 01:38 AM

I had nothing but problems with the Diablo Sport, literally threw it away and bought the SCT and never had any more tune loading problems.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.