Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=65)
-   -   Just Bought a Low Mileage 2010 Camaro SS - Where Do I Go From Here (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=620533)

MustangKillr 10-19-2023 12:01 PM

Just Bought a Low Mileage 2010 Camaro SS - Where Do I Go From Here

After wanting one since 2009, I finally was fortunate enough to be able to get my dream car, a 2010 Camaro 2SS M6, back in May. It only had 24,000 miles, and seemed to be in immaculate mechanical and physical condition. Since then, I’ve put about 5000 miles on it. My only complaint is that there is a clunking or grinding noise towards the rear end whenever turning at low speeds.

My question, what should I do maintenance-wise on it? This is my first time buying a pre-owned car that’s 14 years old. Despite the low mileage is there anything critical I should do? I’ve obviously changed the oil straight away after buying it, but other than that, everything is original from when it was built in 2009. Tires (and presumably battery) have been replaced at some point by previous owner, but they still look good at the moment.

Thanks for the advice!

chevy pilot 10-19-2023 02:13 PM

Rear end oil,brake fluid,steering fluid,coolant.

gtstorey 10-19-2023 02:31 PM

My first guess on clunking noise would be swaybar connector endlinks.

MustangKillr 10-20-2023 01:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by chevy pilot (Post 11370748)
Rear end oil,brake fluid,steering fluid,coolant.

Thanks! Rear diff fluid was next on the list. I’ll be sure to flush the brake fluid, power steering, and coolant as well. Anything need to be done as far as trans fluid on a manual? I’ve heard varied responses, but I’m thinking it wouldn’t be a bad idea based on age alone.