Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=73)
-   -   Is there 100% confirmation that previous tunes can be detected? (http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=62705)

Mustang Killa 01-26-2010 05:47 PM

Is there 100% confirmation that previous tunes can be detected?
 
I've been reading all of these tune posts and it seems like someone gives a confident answer someone else rebutles it..so once the factory tune is restored do we know 100% yet whether or not It can be detected and to what extent? Would it look the same as if I were to clear the computer from a trouble code?? I also see a few tuners online saying theirs restore untraceable, is this confirmed or is it only speculated?

I'm about to pull the trigger on some longtubes and intake just getting jittery on it because of the tune..I can always throw stock bolt ons back on.

Thanks ahead of time for the input

tjbusa 01-26-2010 07:19 PM

As much as I've read into the matter, the answer is no, as long as your able to restore your stock tune, you should be fine. I will either get a custom dyno tune or a diablo sport tune with the aid of TED or Lew. I am just waiting on my Camaro to let me know its ready. A check engine light (CEL) is what I'm waiting on. 400 miles on my long tubes and no problem. http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=58363
Thousands have already tuned theirs, go with a reputable tuner and have the ability to put the stock tune back if the need arises. I will more than likely go with a Diablo sport due to this fact and a boatload of hand helds out there give you a 93 octane tune but can't dial in extra hp for your long tubes.

BackinBlackSS/RS 01-26-2010 07:28 PM

I say the answer is no. Until someone personally has detected the tune, or have seen it in person done, I would say the question of can it or can't it is still up in the air. My guess is even if you return to stock it probably can be detected but it would not be easy to determine by your average gm tech. I mean they can't even figure out how to update my PDIM, so their answer is to order a new one.

Mustang Killa 01-26-2010 07:30 PM

I am 90% goin with custom tune, i had bad experience with a superchips handhelp with my LS1 ta.

BackinBlackSS/RS 01-26-2010 07:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mustang Killa (Post 1419622)
I am 90% goin with custom tune, i had bad experience with a superchips handhelp with my LS1 ta.

Yeah, I would stay away from a handheld where you cannot get anything but their canned tunes. At least with the predator you can get custom tunes.

tjbusa 01-26-2010 07:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BackinBlackSS/RS (Post 1419628)
Yeah, I would stay away from a handheld where you cannot get anything but their canned tunes. At least with the predator you can get custom tunes.

:word: And dialed in by data loging

BackinBlackSS/RS 01-26-2010 08:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjbusa (Post 1419691)
:word: And dialed in by data loging

:thumbsup:

Steve@Vectormotorsports 01-27-2010 02:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mustang Killa (Post 1419622)
I am 90% goin with custom tune, i had bad experience with a superchips handhelp with my LS1 ta.

We would be glad to help you with your tuning solutions.

06MonteSS 01-27-2010 10:38 PM

the diablosport predator/trinity are proven not to leave any signs of activity...

as long as you restore the original backup stock tune back to the vehicle before you bring it in for any service work, they can not tell a thing... they'll never know it was ever there...

has been tested by GM service guru's, and can't find anything...

CamaroScotty 01-27-2010 10:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 06MonteSS (Post 1424014)
the diablosport predator/trinity are proven not to leave any signs of activity...

as long as you restore the original backup stock tune back to the vehicle before you bring it in for any service work, they can not tell a thing... they'll never know it was ever there...

has been tested by GM service guru's, and can't find anything...

Can you define GM service Guru?

turleylox 01-27-2010 10:53 PM

This might be a little off topic but I purchased one of these Diablo tuners but I haven't installed it yet. I was waiting to get everything done at once. My question is, if I add Long tubes, Exhaust & Cold Air Intake will the Diablo be able to tune this the way I want it? Or will I have to still take it somewhere and have it profesionally tuned by someone that knows what their doing. Unlike me lol.

The_Blur 01-27-2010 10:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CamaroScotty (Post 1424067)
Can you define GM service Guru?

Can you take in one of these cars and have your service guys check on this? We're all interested. :popcorn:

Mr. Wyndham 01-27-2010 10:56 PM

Yes, they can all be detected. There is a change-code in the computer that no hand-held tuner or even the big guys have access to. If you modify anything, that change code will raise a flag.

I'll work on finding the thread on this. There was a big controversy over it.

CamaroScotty 01-27-2010 10:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Blur (Post 1424077)
Can you take in one of these cars and have your service guys check on this? We're all interested. :popcorn:

Don't fear the service guys....fear the cable they run from the PC to the Camaro, which takes information and gives it to GM via the internet. Direct communication, if you will.

If our service techs are Guru's, I don't fear them at all. HEck, they by me lunch from time to time ;)

steeleshark2 01-27-2010 10:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by turleylox (Post 1424076)
This might be a little off topic but I purchased one of these Diablo tuners but I haven't installed it yet. I was waiting to get everything done at once. My question is, if I add Long tubes, Exhaust & Cold Air Intake will the Diablo be able to tune this the way I want it? Or will I have to still take it somewhere and have it profesionally tuned by someone that knows what their doing. Unlike me lol.

Yes it can!! You can do it yourself or go with a custom tune.

http://eprowebdesigns.com/*******_Tune/

Either way, make sure you have the usb interface for your computer.

BackinBlackSS/RS 01-27-2010 10:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dragoneye (Post 1424083)
Yes, they can all be detected. There is a change-code in the computer that no hand-held tuner or even the big guys have access to. If you modify anything, that change code will raise a flag.

I'll work on finding the thread on this. There was a big controversy over it.

But if you return to stock won't the change code revert back to whatever it is supposed to be?

CamaroScotty 01-27-2010 11:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BackinBlackSS/RS (Post 1424097)
But if you return to stock won't the change code revert back to whatever it is supposed to be?

no

BackinBlackSS/RS 01-27-2010 11:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CamaroScotty (Post 1424101)
no

HMMM, well I guess that settles that.

Mr. Wyndham 01-27-2010 11:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BackinBlackSS/RS (Post 1424109)
HMMM, well I guess that settles that.

Unfortunately. :(


See, and forgive the laymen's terms, I know it's not called the "change code". BUT...the computer detects tampering. Be it tuning, or return to stock. It's sort of like that little white square on your cell phones that detect water penetration. The phone might dry, but that square will be purple forever....

BackinBlackSS/RS 01-27-2010 11:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dragoneye (Post 1424117)
Unfortunately. :(


See, and forgive the laymen's terms, I know it's not called the "change code". BUT...the computer detects tampering. Be it tuning, or return to stock. It's sort of like that little white square on your cell phones that detect water penetration. The phone might dry, but that square will be purple forever....

Gotcha. I guess I'll just be purchasing a handheld for data logging, codes, etc.

steeleshark2 01-27-2010 11:20 PM

There has yet to be proof that a single person has been denied warranty work for reverting back to stock before going to the dealer. This goes for Camaros and any other vehicle. I have searched all over and not one place has it been said someone has been denied. However, I have found hundreds of people that has successfully gotten warrenty work (including engine/transmission work) with no problems reverting to the stock tune before going to the dealer. That includes camaros also. It would be posted EVERYWHERE if someone was denied. I wish people would bring proof when they say you will be denied warranty work even if you go back to stock before going to the dealer. So,take it for what it is worth!!

Mr. Wyndham 01-27-2010 11:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by steeleshark2 (Post 1424165)
I wish people would bring proof when they say you will be denied warranty work even if you go back to stock before going to the dealer.

Not "will". "Can".

It's a very real chance, however rare, that you can be denied warranty work.
Most people take that chance....I probably would, too. :D

steeleshark2 01-27-2010 11:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dragoneye (Post 1424173)
Not "will". "Can".

It's a very real chance, however rare, that you can be denied warranty work.
Most people take that chance....I probably would, too. :D

There have been many people denied because they kept a tune in the ecm. However, not ONE (at least posted somewhere) has ever been denied when they reverted back to stock. If it would be detectable, at least one instance would be posted somewhere and it would have spread like a wild fire. So, one can most likely imply that these tunes were undetecable by gm by going back to stock before warranty work. That is just my 2 cents anyway!! Until someone gets hit :drinking:

Mr. Wyndham 01-27-2010 11:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by steeleshark2 (Post 1424206)
There have been many people denied because they kept a tune in the ecm. However, not ONE (at least posted somewhere) has ever been denied when they reverted back to stock. If it would be detectable, at least one instance would be posted somewhere and it would have spread like a wild fire. So, one can most likely imply that these tunes were undetecable by gm by going back to stock before warranty work.

"most likely", "imply"....there is still a risk, even if it's never happened.

They are not undetectable, and I wish I could find the thread that proves it...:facepalm:

steeleshark2 01-27-2010 11:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dragoneye (Post 1424218)
"most likely", "imply"....there is still a risk, even if it's never happened.

They are not undetectable, and I wish I could find the thread that proves it...:facepalm:

Ok, I agree with you there. You can never say never! :drinking:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.