Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Solo Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-11-2009, 10:56 PM   #1
jimpfromwv
 
jimpfromwv's Avatar
 
Drives: 1968 camaro ss, 2010 camaro1ss
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: ripley,wv
Posts: 55
got my spare ECM flashed

I have a friend the works at the local dealership and he flashed my spare ECM with the stock tune and I can't believe how much better my car runs. No more rough idle, much better throttle response, no more HERKY JERKYS, and this thing runs a hell of a lot better than it ever did with the factory ECU. There has to be an updated flash that no one is talking about.
jimpfromwv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 03:59 PM   #2
EAkrish
Scout Sniping
 
EAkrish's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Ford F150 Lariat SuperCrew
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to EAkrish
Is this a LS3?
__________________
Eric
Previous Car:1SS/CGM 6MT w/ Sunroof & FACTORY BLUETOOTH!!!: New Era OTR, Steeda Short Shifter, Ported TB, Stg 2 ported intake manifold, Fasterproms, Poor man down pipes, MBRP 3" Exhaust!!!


Now I drive a F150 Supercrew
EAkrish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 04:15 PM   #3
UCF w00t
Geek
 
UCF w00t's Avatar
 
Drives: IOM 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Orlando
Posts: 4,456
Some interesting updates from tis2web...

12635479 00004935 New calibration to ensure proper operation of generic scan tools.
12634071 00008B67 New calibration to ensure proper vehicle speed is read by Onstar.
12635293 00007BC3 New calibration with enhanced misfire detection.
12635028 000071D8 New calibration with diagnostic enhancements for DTC P0461.
UCF w00t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 05:15 PM   #4
jimpfromwv
 
jimpfromwv's Avatar
 
Drives: 1968 camaro ss, 2010 camaro1ss
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: ripley,wv
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by EAkrish View Post
Is this a LS3?
Yep.
jimpfromwv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 05:17 PM   #5
wrek
2G1FK1EJ6-9
 
wrek's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS RS Transformer
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pompano Beach, FL
Posts: 666
So can we just go to the dealer and ask for them to update the software? It seems like there are updates that I should have...
wrek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 10:11 PM   #6
ssmike
Missing Big Red
 
ssmike's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Equinox CRT
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 6,282
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpfromwv View Post
I have a friend the works at the local dealership and he flashed my spare ECM with the stock tune and I can't believe how much better my car runs. No more rough idle, much better throttle response, no more HERKY JERKYS, and this thing runs a hell of a lot better than it ever did with the factory ECU. There has to be an updated flash that no one is talking about.
How did you get a spare ECM and how much did it cost? Can GM detect that you change the ECM?
ssmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 11:55 PM   #7
jimpfromwv
 
jimpfromwv's Avatar
 
Drives: 1968 camaro ss, 2010 camaro1ss
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: ripley,wv
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssmike View Post
How did you get a spare ECM and how much did it cost? Can GM detect that you change the ECM?
I used to work at the dealership so I just gave them my VIN# and ordered the ECM and I gave around 200.00 dollars for it. I got the spare so I could tune it and keep the original one stock for warranty.
jimpfromwv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 12:00 AM   #8
TJ91
:chevy:
 
TJ91's Avatar
 
Drives: 2LT/RS
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 12,542
that is too smart
TJ91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 07:05 PM   #9
Sack Rat 2SS

 
Sack Rat 2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: Silver SS/RS, Man 6
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: DFW area, Texas
Posts: 832
Not for sure, but early LS3's were dynoing 355 to 360 rwhp. This would roughly apply to the first ten thousand cars. However, now after forty thousand and more cars the dyno results are consistently 370 plus. Same improvements for the L99's. It would seem to me that GM has tweeked the ECM tune over the past short history of our Camaros. It might help to have a recent reflash as pointed out in the earlier post. My 2 cents.
__________________
Silver 2SS/RS Man/6
CTS-V front 6-Piston Calipers,
GM 3.91 Rear Gears
Sack Rat 2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 08:23 PM   #10
bdg
 
bdg's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tx.
Posts: 93
This is very interesting info. Anyone in the know?
__________________
[IMG]http://i253
bdg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 09:04 AM   #11
BoostedX2

 
BoostedX2's Avatar
 
Drives: VR ZL1 #259/Nissan 370Z NISMO
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 877
How hard is it to swap out the ECM?
BoostedX2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 09:20 AM   #12
2010 2-Tone


 
2010 2-Tone's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RY 2SS with Custom Stripes
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Jennings, La.
Posts: 2,287
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssmike View Post
How did you get a spare ECM and how much did it cost? Can GM detect that you change the ECM?
They will be able to tell! The mileage won't match!
2010 2-Tone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 02:42 PM   #13
Milk 1027
Camaro➎ moderator
 
Milk 1027's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 BLK 1LE
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 13,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2010 2-Tone View Post
They will be able to tell! The mileage won't match!
not just the milage.

GM keeps a file with the ECM serial number that is on a specific VIN.

So if you take it to a dealer and the car's VIN and ECM s/n don't match, the dealer will know something is up
__________________
Milk 1027 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 03:27 PM   #14
Merc
COTW 12/5/11
 
Merc's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SSRS IOM
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Abbotsford BC Canada
Posts: 8,671
I would assume that if you took it back to dealer it would have original vin# correct ecm and the spare would have the tune.
Merc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 04:04 PM   #15
toehead93


 
Drives: 2014 2SS/1LE
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: wpb fl
Posts: 2,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sack Rat 2SS View Post
Not for sure, but early LS3's were dynoing 355 to 360 rwhp. This would roughly apply to the first ten thousand cars. However, now after forty thousand and more cars the dyno results are consistently 370 plus. Same improvements for the L99's. It would seem to me that GM has tweeked the ECM tune over the past short history of our Camaros. It might help to have a recent reflash as pointed out in the earlier post. My 2 cents.
Were those corrected dyno numbers? The first group of cars were dyno'd in the middle of the hot summer, we've seen that the stock tunes are really affected by high temps. The latest group of cars are now neing dyno'd in 20-degree cooler weather. I think that has more to do with it.
__________________
Used Racing Brake 2 Peice Rotors for sale:
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=344754

Summit White 2014 2SS 1LE
Recaros, NPP exhaust, Nav
2010 2SS A6 - sold.
toehead93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2009, 08:53 AM   #16
m1tankr
 
m1tankr's Avatar
 
Drives: '06 Trailblazer SS
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Milk 1027 View Post
not just the milage.

GM keeps a file with the ECM serial number that is on a specific VIN.

So if you take it to a dealer and the car's VIN and ECM s/n don't match, the dealer will know something is up
The new ECM is flashed w/the VIN & I think the mileage is stored elsewhere (BCM if I remember correctly from other threads). Vector & others sell a tuned ECM as an option so you can just plug & play if you want. It's also been confirmed by some of the techs (in other threads) that the GM scanner can not tell if the ECM has been swapped or how many times it's been flashed (that's why they have stealth tunes now). Others have posted that the dealer will reflash for free. Sometimes this has been done automatically while the car was in for non-related work.
m1tankr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 12:38 PM   #17
Jeanius


 
Jeanius's Avatar
 
Drives: Blk/Blk LS3 SS
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Golden State
Posts: 2,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrek View Post
So can we just go to the dealer and ask for them to update the software? It seems like there are updates that I should have...
?
Jeanius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 03:00 PM   #18
BlackinBlack
 
BlackinBlack's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro ZL1 Black
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 713
Quote:
Originally Posted by Milk 1027 View Post
not just the milage.

GM keeps a file with the ECM serial number that is on a specific VIN.

So if you take it to a dealer and the car's VIN and ECM s/n don't match, the dealer will know something is up
If that was the case... then keep the factory ECM stock and Mod the spare one. Not Rocket science.
__________________
2013 ZL1 BLACK on BLACK
Roto-Fab CAI

2010 2SS/RS BLACK on BLACK <SOLD>
3" MBRP 304 Stainless Exhaust
Roto-Fab CAI
BlackinBlack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 03:49 PM   #19
GaryTucker
 
Drives: 09 Vette GT1, 06 350Z, 82 MSE
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 573
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackinBlack View Post
If that was the case... then keep the factory ECM stock and Mod the spare one. Not Rocket science.
What everyone fails to think about is what happens with a catastrophic failure? Sure you can slap that old ECM in...but if it isn't reading anything near what could have caused your major failure...then do you think the dealer will buy it? Some items have to have a run cycle to reset...so that ECM that's been on the shelf for 6 months still shows something out of kilter for the situation your car is in.

Even the "swap the ECM" trick isn't 100% foolproof and only seems logical if you are only running a CAI, Catback, and Tune. Anything more and your car is going to run like crap when you "untune it" to take to the dealer.
GaryTucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 03:58 PM   #20
BlackinBlack
 
BlackinBlack's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro ZL1 Black
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 713
Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryTucker View Post
What everyone fails to think about is what happens with a catastrophic failure? Sure you can slap that old ECM in...but if it isn't reading anything near what could have caused your major failure...then do you think the dealer will buy it? Some items have to have a run cycle to reset...so that ECM that's been on the shelf for 6 months still shows something out of kilter for the situation your car is in.

Even the "swap the ECM" trick isn't 100% foolproof and only seems logical if you are only running a CAI, Catback, and Tune. Anything more and your car is going to run like crap when you "untune it" to take to the dealer.
Good point. I think this is only viable when you have a mildly modded car. I.E. long tubes, CAI, full exhaust. The car will run fine without a tune but will have a check engine light or will not have all the performance it could get from the mods.

In addition it would not be very useful for the reasons you stated if you have a major engine failure. Were it could be useful would be for a broken CV joint or a failed output shaft on a trans. Things that GM should not take a tune into consideration for warranty but they are...
__________________
2013 ZL1 BLACK on BLACK
Roto-Fab CAI

2010 2SS/RS BLACK on BLACK <SOLD>
3" MBRP 304 Stainless Exhaust
Roto-Fab CAI
BlackinBlack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 04:02 PM   #21
franknbeans
Whipped
 
franknbeans's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CAMARO
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pittsburgh-ish - PA
Posts: 4,141
no one answered about getting the ECM updated... can we just call the dealership and ask for this?
__________________
The "ManCard"

franknbeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 04:08 PM   #22
Oldrocker
 
Oldrocker's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS2/RS Victory Red
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Here and Now
Posts: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryTucker View Post
What everyone fails to think about is what happens with a catastrophic failure? Sure you can slap that old ECM in...but if it isn't reading anything near what could have caused your major failure...then do you think the dealer will buy it? Some items have to have a run cycle to reset...so that ECM that's been on the shelf for 6 months still shows something out of kilter for the situation your car is in.
The factory parameters are lost and the monitors are reset to "not ready" when the ECM looses power for any reason. So if you install an unplugged ECM it will definitely not show any believable data. So the thing to do in this instance is to run the car battery down with the flashers and have the car towed in with the battery down and the flashers on, the dealer will be none the wiser.
Oldrocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 04:40 PM   #23
SS-screamer
 
Drives: SIM RS/SS L99
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sunshine State
Posts: 208
If I get a tune and the only thing I have changed is the AFM shut off, it can void my warranty? If so that would really suck and not seem entirely fair.
SS-screamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 08:44 AM   #24
BlackinBlack
 
BlackinBlack's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro ZL1 Black
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 713
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS-screamer View Post
If I get a tune and the only thing I have changed is the AFM shut off, it can void my warranty? If so that would really suck and not seem entirely fair.
From what GM is stating "any" non-stock tune on the ECM voids to power train warranty. You could tune the motor to have a more conservative tune and it would still void the warranty. Right now I don't even look my ECM in the eye... don't want to make GM angry.
__________________
2013 ZL1 BLACK on BLACK
Roto-Fab CAI

2010 2SS/RS BLACK on BLACK <SOLD>
3" MBRP 304 Stainless Exhaust
Roto-Fab CAI
BlackinBlack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 02:52 PM   #25
GaryTucker
 
Drives: 09 Vette GT1, 06 350Z, 82 MSE
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 573
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS-screamer View Post
If I get a tune and the only thing I have changed is the AFM shut off, it can void my warranty? If so that would really suck and not seem entirely fair.
Why isn't it fair? Why should GM warranty your modified item or anything it is affecting? GM has every right to refuse to warranty modified items as they have no control over the quality of the modification or the additional stress it may cause.
GaryTucker is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spare ECM? Bmble_B Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission 5 08-24-2009 01:55 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.