Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Anthony @ LG Motorsports
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-11-2009, 09:56 PM   #1
jimpfromwv
 
jimpfromwv's Avatar
 
Drives: 1968 camaro ss, 2010 camaro1ss
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: ripley,wv
Posts: 55
got my spare ECM flashed

I have a friend the works at the local dealership and he flashed my spare ECM with the stock tune and I can't believe how much better my car runs. No more rough idle, much better throttle response, no more HERKY JERKYS, and this thing runs a hell of a lot better than it ever did with the factory ECU. There has to be an updated flash that no one is talking about.
jimpfromwv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 02:59 PM   #2
EAkrish
Scout Sniping
 
EAkrish's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Ford F150 Lariat SuperCrew
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to EAkrish
Is this a LS3?
__________________
Eric
Previous Car:1SS/CGM 6MT w/ Sunroof & FACTORY BLUETOOTH!!!: New Era OTR, Steeda Short Shifter, Ported TB, Stg 2 ported intake manifold, Fasterproms, Poor man down pipes, MBRP 3" Exhaust!!!


Now I drive a F150 Supercrew
EAkrish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 03:15 PM   #3
UCF w00t
Geek
 
UCF w00t's Avatar
 
Drives: IOM 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Orlando
Posts: 4,452
Some interesting updates from tis2web...

12635479 00004935 New calibration to ensure proper operation of generic scan tools.
12634071 00008B67 New calibration to ensure proper vehicle speed is read by Onstar.
12635293 00007BC3 New calibration with enhanced misfire detection.
12635028 000071D8 New calibration with diagnostic enhancements for DTC P0461.
UCF w00t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 04:15 PM   #4
jimpfromwv
 
jimpfromwv's Avatar
 
Drives: 1968 camaro ss, 2010 camaro1ss
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: ripley,wv
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by EAkrish View Post
Is this a LS3?
Yep.
jimpfromwv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 04:17 PM   #5
wrek
2G1FK1EJ6-9
 
wrek's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS RS Transformer
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pompano Beach, FL
Posts: 664
So can we just go to the dealer and ask for them to update the software? It seems like there are updates that I should have...
wrek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 09:11 PM   #6
ssmike
Missing Big Red
 
ssmike's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 Corvette DSOM, '13 Equinox CRT
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 6,549
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpfromwv View Post
I have a friend the works at the local dealership and he flashed my spare ECM with the stock tune and I can't believe how much better my car runs. No more rough idle, much better throttle response, no more HERKY JERKYS, and this thing runs a hell of a lot better than it ever did with the factory ECU. There has to be an updated flash that no one is talking about.
How did you get a spare ECM and how much did it cost? Can GM detect that you change the ECM?
ssmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 10:55 PM   #7
jimpfromwv
 
jimpfromwv's Avatar
 
Drives: 1968 camaro ss, 2010 camaro1ss
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: ripley,wv
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssmike View Post
How did you get a spare ECM and how much did it cost? Can GM detect that you change the ECM?
I used to work at the dealership so I just gave them my VIN# and ordered the ECM and I gave around 200.00 dollars for it. I got the spare so I could tune it and keep the original one stock for warranty.
jimpfromwv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 11:00 PM   #8
TJ91
:chevy:
 
TJ91's Avatar
 
Drives: 2LT/RS
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 13,032
that is too smart
TJ91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 06:05 PM   #9
Sack Rat 2SS

 
Sack Rat 2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: Silver SS/RS, Man 6
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: DFW area, Texas
Posts: 881
Not for sure, but early LS3's were dynoing 355 to 360 rwhp. This would roughly apply to the first ten thousand cars. However, now after forty thousand and more cars the dyno results are consistently 370 plus. Same improvements for the L99's. It would seem to me that GM has tweeked the ECM tune over the past short history of our Camaros. It might help to have a recent reflash as pointed out in the earlier post. My 2 cents.
__________________
Silver 2SS/RS Man/6
CTS-V front 6-Piston Calipers,
GM 3.91 Rear Gears
Sack Rat 2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 07:23 PM   #10
bdg
 
bdg's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tx.
Posts: 93
This is very interesting info. Anyone in the know?
__________________
[IMG]http://i253
bdg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 08:04 AM   #11
BoostedX2

 
BoostedX2's Avatar
 
Drives: VR ZL1 #259/Nissan 370Z NISMO
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 973
How hard is it to swap out the ECM?
BoostedX2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 08:20 AM   #12
2010 2-Tone


 
2010 2-Tone's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RY 2SS with Custom Stripes
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Jennings, La.
Posts: 2,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssmike View Post
How did you get a spare ECM and how much did it cost? Can GM detect that you change the ECM?
They will be able to tell! The mileage won't match!
2010 2-Tone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 01:42 PM   #13
Milk 1027
Camaro➎ moderator
 
Milk 1027's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 BLK 1LE
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 13,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2010 2-Tone View Post
They will be able to tell! The mileage won't match!
not just the milage.

GM keeps a file with the ECM serial number that is on a specific VIN.

So if you take it to a dealer and the car's VIN and ECM s/n don't match, the dealer will know something is up
__________________
Milk 1027 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 02:27 PM   #14
Merc
In The Circle
 
Merc's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SSRS IOM M6
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Abbotsford BC Canada
Posts: 10,570
I would assume that if you took it back to dealer it would have original vin# correct ecm and the spare would have the tune.
Merc is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spare ECM? Bmble_B Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission 5 08-24-2009 12:55 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.