Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
SDPC
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-04-2009, 05:17 PM   #1
Camarorss350
camaro blogger
 
Camarorss350's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black on Black SS/RS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central NJ + Atlanta GA
Posts: 358
Send a message via AIM to Camarorss350
Tune + Warranty concerns

Okay so ive read most of the threads about how awesome GM's warranty is (sarcasm). Now i have a question, Will the dealer be able to tell if i tune my car, break something, put it back to stock, then take it in for service?

Basically im asking if the Computer in the 2010 camaro has the capacity to know when a stock tune has been modified then restored?

Just for the sake of avoiding hassles in the future. I cant afford any new part of this car without warranty coverage lol.
Camarorss350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 06:01 PM   #2
ffrcobra_65
Account Suspended
 
Drives: SuperCharged 2SS/RS IOM MN6
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 5,095
Yes they can tell. Just wait til your warranty expires then you can mod all you want.
ffrcobra_65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 06:42 PM   #3
Scott@Bjorn3D


 
Scott@Bjorn3D's Avatar
 
Drives: Kami, 2013 2SS LS3 Luvin
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Eufaula, Alabama
Posts: 6,358
Send a message via MSN to Scott@Bjorn3D
Yep they can tell.
Scott@Bjorn3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 07:42 AM   #4
Camarorss350
camaro blogger
 
Camarorss350's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black on Black SS/RS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central NJ + Atlanta GA
Posts: 358
Send a message via AIM to Camarorss350
:(

Man this sucks!

Maybe i can get another computer, take out the stocker and pop a modded unit in?


Computers are prob expensive as all hell though i bet, anyone actually know if this would work and maybe even have a price for a stock unit?

Thanks for the help guys!!!
Camarorss350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 07:52 AM   #5
Alvin@PCMofNC

 
Drives: 2010 IOM RSS
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mooresville
Posts: 363
You got to pay to play just like anything else. The thing is the dealer has to prove the aftermarket part caused the failure. So if you tune a PCM they can't say thats the reason why your fuel pump quit, or your radio isn't working anymore.

Any tune is ulimately visible to GM. Period.

I'm not sure if the people who advertise "stealth tunes" have thought about legal issues. I'm no expert but it seems not to be a good idea to deliberately cheat your warranty contract. It seems like it could constitute fraud
Alvin@PCMofNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 07:54 AM   #6
ryeguycamaro
 
ryeguycamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 1969 RS/SS 2010 SS/RS
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 118
tunes

I beg to differ. VectorMotorsports power flash can restore stock tunes. The flash counter is not active in our ecu. I also have a friend who is a gm mechanic and he checked mine after I put the stock tune back in and he knew nothing different. All info came back as if it were a unmodified car. Also if it were tuned don't you think big brother would know and send a flag out? My diagonostic was just run and I have my tune in and everything was problem free. Call Vector Motorsports they can clarify all of this up for anyone. Lot easier to talk directly then to bounce back and fourth on the forums of he said she said.
ryeguycamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 08:02 AM   #7
CamaroSpike23
Truth Enforcer
 
CamaroSpike23's Avatar
 
Drives: anything I can get my hands on
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: anywhere and everywhere
Posts: 22,824
Send a message via Yahoo to CamaroSpike23
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryeguycamaro View Post
I beg to differ. VectorMotorsports power flash can restore stock tunes. The flash counter is not active in our ecu. I also have a friend who is a gm mechanic and he checked mine after I put the stock tune back in and he knew nothing different. All info came back as if it were a unmodified car. Also if it were tuned don't you think big brother would know and send a flag out? My diagonostic was just run and I have my tune in and everything was problem free. Call Vector Motorsports they can clarify all of this up for anyone. Lot easier to talk directly then to bounce back and fourth on the forums of he said she said.

theres more to the tunes than what Vector is letting on. they dont know all the ins and outs of this computer the way they say they do.
__________________
Never race anything you can't afford to light on fire and push off a cliff
A group as a whole tends to be smarter than the smartest person in that group until one jackass convinces everyone otherwise.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BowtieGuy View Post
Nobody makes CamaroSpike happy. You just disgust him a little less than other people.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WheelmanSS View Post
Post count is truly an accurate measure of how cool someone is on the Internet.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Norris View Post
I piss excellence
and fart awesomeness
"You can think I'm wrong, but that's no reason to quit thinking.”
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overflow View Post
But not all people were born awesome like you, Spike.
CamaroSpike23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 08:07 AM   #8
Alvin@PCMofNC

 
Drives: 2010 IOM RSS
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mooresville
Posts: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryeguycamaro View Post
I beg to differ. VectorMotorsports power flash can restore stock tunes. The flash counter is not active in our ecu. I also have a friend who is a gm mechanic and he checked mine after I put the stock tune back in and he knew nothing different. All info came back as if it were a unmodified car. Also if it were tuned don't you think big brother would know and send a flag out? My diagonostic was just run and I have my tune in and everything was problem free. Call Vector Motorsports they can clarify all of this up for anyone. Lot easier to talk directly then to bounce back and fourth on the forums of he said she said.

The the stock tune is put back on the computer then yes it is not visible, but it is a stock tune again. If you have a tune still on the computer it is visible by GM at some level. I promise.
Alvin@PCMofNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 08:09 AM   #9
Camarorss350
camaro blogger
 
Camarorss350's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black on Black SS/RS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central NJ + Atlanta GA
Posts: 358
Send a message via AIM to Camarorss350
Its funny that doing something good for your car can void your warranty. Once a tune is correctly set the motor runs more efficiently with less chance of a problem. Ig GM was smart they would introduce a tuning service...

But whatever it just sucks... and im just venting...:seesaw:
Camarorss350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 08:46 AM   #10
GaryTucker
 
Drives: 09 Vette GT1, 06 350Z, 82 MSE
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 573
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryeguycamaro View Post
I beg to differ. VectorMotorsports power flash can restore stock tunes. The flash counter is not active in our ecu. I also have a friend who is a gm mechanic and he checked mine after I put the stock tune back in and he knew nothing different. All info came back as if it were a unmodified car. Also if it were tuned don't you think big brother would know and send a flag out? My diagonostic was just run and I have my tune in and everything was problem free. Call Vector Motorsports they can clarify all of this up for anyone. Lot easier to talk directly then to bounce back and fourth on the forums of he said she said.
I also beg to differ...it isn't what the tech can see at the dealership...it is what GM can see when the dealership is REQUIRED to send the computer upload to them. My guess is that there is alot more going on "behind the scenes" that the techs can't even see. When you have a powertrain failure...it seems that GM is requiring an upload on nearly every one that happens. If GM couldn't see anything more than the techs...the really wouldn't need this as a screenshot printout would suffice.

I think you'd be suprised what the tuners may or may not know. I used to be supportive of the tuners until they started claiming "invisble" tunes and promoting ways for the customer to "go back to stock" as a way to cheat warranty concerns.

If you mod your car's powertrain, including a tune, then you need to accept that your powertrain warranty is void...just that simple.

As far as a tune making a car run better...not going to hash that out...but think of it this way...then why aren't the tuners offering some type of powertrain warranty. I know one of the suppliers (supercharger maybe) has a supplemental warranty available for powertrain coverage...I'd think a tuner that has done proper testing (more than just tuning a few cars for more hp) could verify their work to an insurer and get the same type of coverage available.

I'd also think that the tuners would be willing to assist their customers with what are being deemed "bogus" (by the tuners and their customers) denials of powertrain warranties. If their product could in no way cause a failure, then they should be willing to help defend their own work and name and also to help out their customer.
GaryTucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 08:48 AM   #11
Steve@Vectormotorsports
 
Drives: Firehawk
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Port Huron
Posts: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alvin View Post
The the stock tune is put back on the computer then yes it is not visible, but it is a stock tune again. If you have a tune still on the computer it is visible by GM at some level. I promise.
Plain and simple.


And we've tuned over 800 E38 ECM's if anyone thinks we don't know the "in's and outs" of this ECM I'd like to ask them how many cars have they tuned?
Steve@Vectormotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 08:48 AM   #12
ryeguycamaro
 
ryeguycamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 1969 RS/SS 2010 SS/RS
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 118
tunes

exactly Alvin. If the stock tune is put back on it is stock. Your mod tune would be gone. Flash counter is not enabled. All of your other mods would have to be changed back also like headers etc, for it to run good as stock again.
ryeguycamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 10:21 AM   #13
GaryTucker
 
Drives: 09 Vette GT1, 06 350Z, 82 MSE
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 573
[QUOTE=Steve@Vectormotorsports;1136109]Plain and simple.


...

Last edited by GaryTucker; 11-05-2009 at 10:22 AM. Reason: re-read comment...nevermind.
GaryTucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 11:49 AM   #14
TAG UR IT
www.Camaro5store.com
 
TAG UR IT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 ZL1 #705
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SA, Texas
Posts: 26,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryTucker View Post
I also beg to differ...it isn't what the tech can see at the dealership...it is what GM can see when the dealership is REQUIRED to send the computer upload to them. My guess is that there is alot more going on "behind the scenes" that the techs can't even see.

When you have a powertrain failure...it seems that GM is requiring an upload on nearly every one that happens.

YES THEY ARE.

If GM couldn't see anything more than the techs...they really wouldn't need this as a screenshot printout would suffice.

My goodness, common sense prevails!
You hit the nail on the head!

I think you'd be suprised what the tuners may or may not know. I used to be supportive of the tuners until they started claiming "invisble" tunes and promoting ways for the customer to "go back to stock" as a way to cheat warranty concerns.

If you mod your car's powertrain, including a tune, then you need to accept that your powertrain warranty is void...just that simple.

EXACTLY. You gotta pay to play. If you can't pay for a powertrain failure, WAIT for that warranty to expire! Don't cheat the system....or try to.


As far as a tune making a car run better...not going to hash that out...but think of it this way...then why aren't the tuners offering some type of powertrain warranty.

I know one of the suppliers (supercharger maybe) has a supplemental warranty available for powertrain coverage...I'd think a tuner that has done proper testing (more than just tuning a few cars for more hp) could verify their work to an insurer and get the same type of coverage available.

Yep...and they sure do. They stand behind their work, their parts, their tuning, and offer from 1 year 12k mile to 3 year 36k mile warranties.

I'd also think that the tuners would be willing to assist their customers with what are being deemed "bogus" (by the tuners and their customers) denials of powertrain warranties. If their product could in no way cause a failure, then they should be willing to help defend their own work and name and also to help out their customer.
Yep once again.

And I'll leave it at that.
TAG UR IT is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your Warranty Rights The_Blur Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls 75 10-19-2012 07:24 PM
IMPORTANT Part 1 Warranty Disputes Zeus Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls 11 08-25-2009 11:37 AM
Anyone with a tune have warranty work yet? caverman Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission 20 08-23-2009 10:23 AM
Will the V6 have DBW or a good old fashioned cable throttle? theholycow Camaro V6 LLT Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 41 08-02-2009 08:25 PM
LS3 goes 11`s Bonestock! GMRULZ Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 28 12-08-2008 09:10 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.