Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
SDPC
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-26-2010, 04:47 PM   #1
Mustang Killa

 
Mustang Killa's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2SS
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: az
Posts: 855
Is there 100% confirmation that previous tunes can be detected?

I've been reading all of these tune posts and it seems like someone gives a confident answer someone else rebutles it..so once the factory tune is restored do we know 100% yet whether or not It can be detected and to what extent? Would it look the same as if I were to clear the computer from a trouble code?? I also see a few tuners online saying theirs restore untraceable, is this confirmed or is it only speculated?

I'm about to pull the trigger on some longtubes and intake just getting jittery on it because of the tune..I can always throw stock bolt ons back on.

Thanks ahead of time for the input
Mustang Killa is offline  
Old 01-26-2010, 06:19 PM   #2
tjbusa
Serious Sleeper
 
tjbusa's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CGM 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lexington,SC
Posts: 3,132
As much as I've read into the matter, the answer is no, as long as your able to restore your stock tune, you should be fine. I will either get a custom dyno tune or a diablo sport tune with the aid of TED or Lew. I am just waiting on my Camaro to let me know its ready. A check engine light (CEL) is what I'm waiting on. 400 miles on my long tubes and no problem. http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=58363
Thousands have already tuned theirs, go with a reputable tuner and have the ability to put the stock tune back if the need arises. I will more than likely go with a Diablo sport due to this fact and a boatload of hand helds out there give you a 93 octane tune but can't dial in extra hp for your long tubes.
__________________
***************************************
Drive-by

Fact of Life:

After Monday and Tuesday
even the calendar reads...
W T F
***************************************
tjbusa is offline  
Old 01-26-2010, 06:28 PM   #3
BackinBlackSS/RS
Go Blue!!!!!
 
BackinBlackSS/RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Cruze LT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 23,297
I say the answer is no. Until someone personally has detected the tune, or have seen it in person done, I would say the question of can it or can't it is still up in the air. My guess is even if you return to stock it probably can be detected but it would not be easy to determine by your average gm tech. I mean they can't even figure out how to update my PDIM, so their answer is to order a new one.
BackinBlackSS/RS is offline  
Old 01-26-2010, 06:30 PM   #4
Mustang Killa

 
Mustang Killa's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2SS
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: az
Posts: 855
I am 90% goin with custom tune, i had bad experience with a superchips handhelp with my LS1 ta.
Mustang Killa is offline  
Old 01-26-2010, 06:32 PM   #5
BackinBlackSS/RS
Go Blue!!!!!
 
BackinBlackSS/RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Cruze LT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 23,297
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustang Killa View Post
I am 90% goin with custom tune, i had bad experience with a superchips handhelp with my LS1 ta.
Yeah, I would stay away from a handheld where you cannot get anything but their canned tunes. At least with the predator you can get custom tunes.
BackinBlackSS/RS is offline  
Old 01-26-2010, 06:56 PM   #6
tjbusa
Serious Sleeper
 
tjbusa's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CGM 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lexington,SC
Posts: 3,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by BackinBlackSS/RS View Post
Yeah, I would stay away from a handheld where you cannot get anything but their canned tunes. At least with the predator you can get custom tunes.
And dialed in by data loging
__________________
***************************************
Drive-by

Fact of Life:

After Monday and Tuesday
even the calendar reads...
W T F
***************************************
tjbusa is offline  
Old 01-26-2010, 07:01 PM   #7
BackinBlackSS/RS
Go Blue!!!!!
 
BackinBlackSS/RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Cruze LT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 23,297
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjbusa View Post
And dialed in by data loging
BackinBlackSS/RS is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 01:29 PM   #8
Steve@Vectormotorsports
 
Drives: Firehawk
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Port Huron
Posts: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustang Killa View Post
I am 90% goin with custom tune, i had bad experience with a superchips handhelp with my LS1 ta.
We would be glad to help you with your tuning solutions.
Steve@Vectormotorsports is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 09:38 PM   #9
06MonteSS
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2006 Monte Carlo SS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 226
the diablosport predator/trinity are proven not to leave any signs of activity...

as long as you restore the original backup stock tune back to the vehicle before you bring it in for any service work, they can not tell a thing... they'll never know it was ever there...

has been tested by GM service guru's, and can't find anything...
06MonteSS is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 09:52 PM   #10
CamaroScotty
Account Suspended
 
Drives: Your new SLP Camaro!
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cedarburg, WI
Posts: 6,801
Send a message via Yahoo to CamaroScotty
Quote:
Originally Posted by 06MonteSS View Post
the diablosport predator/trinity are proven not to leave any signs of activity...

as long as you restore the original backup stock tune back to the vehicle before you bring it in for any service work, they can not tell a thing... they'll never know it was ever there...

has been tested by GM service guru's, and can't find anything...
Can you define GM service Guru?
CamaroScotty is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 09:53 PM   #11
turleylox
 
turleylox's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Chevy Camaro
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Smiths Grove, KY
Posts: 200
This might be a little off topic but I purchased one of these Diablo tuners but I haven't installed it yet. I was waiting to get everything done at once. My question is, if I add Long tubes, Exhaust & Cold Air Intake will the Diablo be able to tune this the way I want it? Or will I have to still take it somewhere and have it profesionally tuned by someone that knows what their doing. Unlike me lol.
turleylox is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 09:53 PM   #12
The_Blur
Rock Chalk
 
The_Blur's Avatar
 
Drives: Demon Super Sport
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 14,689
Send a message via AIM to The_Blur
Quote:
Originally Posted by CamaroScotty View Post
Can you define GM service Guru?
Can you take in one of these cars and have your service guys check on this? We're all interested.
The_Blur is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 09:56 PM   #13
Mr. Wyndham
I used to be Dragoneye...
 
Mr. Wyndham's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 1LE...Drove: 2012 ZL1
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 28,106
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Wyndham
Yes, they can all be detected. There is a change-code in the computer that no hand-held tuner or even the big guys have access to. If you modify anything, that change code will raise a flag.

I'll work on finding the thread on this. There was a big controversy over it.
__________________
"Keep the faith." - - Read Twice Before You Post.
...Anxiously waiting to order a silver "Z"...

Mr. Wyndham is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 09:56 PM   #14
CamaroScotty
Account Suspended
 
Drives: Your new SLP Camaro!
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cedarburg, WI
Posts: 6,801
Send a message via Yahoo to CamaroScotty
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Blur View Post
Can you take in one of these cars and have your service guys check on this? We're all interested.
Don't fear the service guys....fear the cable they run from the PC to the Camaro, which takes information and gives it to GM via the internet. Direct communication, if you will.

If our service techs are Guru's, I don't fear them at all. HEck, they by me lunch from time to time
CamaroScotty is offline  
 
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.