Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
LSR Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-26-2010, 04:47 PM   #1
Mustang Killa

 
Mustang Killa's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2SS
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: az
Posts: 855
Is there 100% confirmation that previous tunes can be detected?

I've been reading all of these tune posts and it seems like someone gives a confident answer someone else rebutles it..so once the factory tune is restored do we know 100% yet whether or not It can be detected and to what extent? Would it look the same as if I were to clear the computer from a trouble code?? I also see a few tuners online saying theirs restore untraceable, is this confirmed or is it only speculated?

I'm about to pull the trigger on some longtubes and intake just getting jittery on it because of the tune..I can always throw stock bolt ons back on.

Thanks ahead of time for the input
Mustang Killa is offline  
Old 01-26-2010, 06:19 PM   #2
tjbusa
Serious Sleeper
 
tjbusa's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CGM 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lexington,SC
Posts: 3,170
As much as I've read into the matter, the answer is no, as long as your able to restore your stock tune, you should be fine. I will either get a custom dyno tune or a diablo sport tune with the aid of TED or Lew. I am just waiting on my Camaro to let me know its ready. A check engine light (CEL) is what I'm waiting on. 400 miles on my long tubes and no problem. http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=58363
Thousands have already tuned theirs, go with a reputable tuner and have the ability to put the stock tune back if the need arises. I will more than likely go with a Diablo sport due to this fact and a boatload of hand helds out there give you a 93 octane tune but can't dial in extra hp for your long tubes.
__________________
***************************************
Drive-by

Fact of Life:

After Monday and Tuesday
even the calendar reads...
W T F
***************************************
tjbusa is offline  
Old 01-26-2010, 06:28 PM   #3
BackinBlackSS/RS
Go Blue!!!!!
 
BackinBlackSS/RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Cruze LT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 23,365
I say the answer is no. Until someone personally has detected the tune, or have seen it in person done, I would say the question of can it or can't it is still up in the air. My guess is even if you return to stock it probably can be detected but it would not be easy to determine by your average gm tech. I mean they can't even figure out how to update my PDIM, so their answer is to order a new one.
BackinBlackSS/RS is offline  
Old 01-26-2010, 06:30 PM   #4
Mustang Killa

 
Mustang Killa's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2SS
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: az
Posts: 855
I am 90% goin with custom tune, i had bad experience with a superchips handhelp with my LS1 ta.
Mustang Killa is offline  
Old 01-26-2010, 06:32 PM   #5
BackinBlackSS/RS
Go Blue!!!!!
 
BackinBlackSS/RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Cruze LT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 23,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustang Killa View Post
I am 90% goin with custom tune, i had bad experience with a superchips handhelp with my LS1 ta.
Yeah, I would stay away from a handheld where you cannot get anything but their canned tunes. At least with the predator you can get custom tunes.
BackinBlackSS/RS is offline  
Old 01-26-2010, 06:56 PM   #6
tjbusa
Serious Sleeper
 
tjbusa's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CGM 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lexington,SC
Posts: 3,170
Quote:
Originally Posted by BackinBlackSS/RS View Post
Yeah, I would stay away from a handheld where you cannot get anything but their canned tunes. At least with the predator you can get custom tunes.
And dialed in by data loging
__________________
***************************************
Drive-by

Fact of Life:

After Monday and Tuesday
even the calendar reads...
W T F
***************************************
tjbusa is offline  
Old 01-26-2010, 07:01 PM   #7
BackinBlackSS/RS
Go Blue!!!!!
 
BackinBlackSS/RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Cruze LT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 23,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjbusa View Post
And dialed in by data loging
BackinBlackSS/RS is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 01:29 PM   #8
Steve@Vectormotorsports
 
Drives: Firehawk
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Port Huron
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustang Killa View Post
I am 90% goin with custom tune, i had bad experience with a superchips handhelp with my LS1 ta.
We would be glad to help you with your tuning solutions.
Steve@Vectormotorsports is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 09:38 PM   #9
06MonteSS
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2006 Monte Carlo SS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 226
the diablosport predator/trinity are proven not to leave any signs of activity...

as long as you restore the original backup stock tune back to the vehicle before you bring it in for any service work, they can not tell a thing... they'll never know it was ever there...

has been tested by GM service guru's, and can't find anything...
06MonteSS is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 09:52 PM   #10
CamaroScotty
Account Suspended
 
Drives: Your new SLP Camaro!
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cedarburg, WI
Posts: 6,805
Send a message via Yahoo to CamaroScotty
Quote:
Originally Posted by 06MonteSS View Post
the diablosport predator/trinity are proven not to leave any signs of activity...

as long as you restore the original backup stock tune back to the vehicle before you bring it in for any service work, they can not tell a thing... they'll never know it was ever there...

has been tested by GM service guru's, and can't find anything...
Can you define GM service Guru?
CamaroScotty is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 09:53 PM   #11
turleylox
 
turleylox's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Chevy Camaro
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Smiths Grove, KY
Posts: 189
This might be a little off topic but I purchased one of these Diablo tuners but I haven't installed it yet. I was waiting to get everything done at once. My question is, if I add Long tubes, Exhaust & Cold Air Intake will the Diablo be able to tune this the way I want it? Or will I have to still take it somewhere and have it profesionally tuned by someone that knows what their doing. Unlike me lol.
turleylox is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 09:53 PM   #12
The_Blur
Moderator, USN
 
The_Blur's Avatar
 
Drives: 6.2L of AWESOME! 2011 L99 2SS
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NAS Pensacola
Posts: 14,146
Send a message via AIM to The_Blur
Quote:
Originally Posted by CamaroScotty View Post
Can you define GM service Guru?
Can you take in one of these cars and have your service guys check on this? We're all interested.
The_Blur is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 09:56 PM   #13
Mr. Wyndham
I used to be Dragoneye...
 
Mr. Wyndham's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 1LE
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 25,786
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Wyndham
Yes, they can all be detected. There is a change-code in the computer that no hand-held tuner or even the big guys have access to. If you modify anything, that change code will raise a flag.

I'll work on finding the thread on this. There was a big controversy over it.
__________________
"Keep the faith." - - Read Before You Post.
SIGN UP for 2014 Camaro5 HPDE @ Gingerman Raceway!
Mr. Wyndham is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 09:56 PM   #14
CamaroScotty
Account Suspended
 
Drives: Your new SLP Camaro!
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cedarburg, WI
Posts: 6,805
Send a message via Yahoo to CamaroScotty
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Blur View Post
Can you take in one of these cars and have your service guys check on this? We're all interested.
Don't fear the service guys....fear the cable they run from the PC to the Camaro, which takes information and gives it to GM via the internet. Direct communication, if you will.

If our service techs are Guru's, I don't fear them at all. HEck, they by me lunch from time to time
CamaroScotty is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 09:58 PM   #15
steeleshark2


 
steeleshark2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Transformer 1SS Camaro
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Kingsland, Ga
Posts: 2,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by turleylox View Post
This might be a little off topic but I purchased one of these Diablo tuners but I haven't installed it yet. I was waiting to get everything done at once. My question is, if I add Long tubes, Exhaust & Cold Air Intake will the Diablo be able to tune this the way I want it? Or will I have to still take it somewhere and have it profesionally tuned by someone that knows what their doing. Unlike me lol.
Yes it can!! You can do it yourself or go with a custom tune.

http://eprowebdesigns.com/*******_Tune/

Either way, make sure you have the usb interface for your computer.
steeleshark2 is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 09:59 PM   #16
BackinBlackSS/RS
Go Blue!!!!!
 
BackinBlackSS/RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Cruze LT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 23,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoneye View Post
Yes, they can all be detected. There is a change-code in the computer that no hand-held tuner or even the big guys have access to. If you modify anything, that change code will raise a flag.

I'll work on finding the thread on this. There was a big controversy over it.
But if you return to stock won't the change code revert back to whatever it is supposed to be?
BackinBlackSS/RS is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 10:01 PM   #17
CamaroScotty
Account Suspended
 
Drives: Your new SLP Camaro!
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cedarburg, WI
Posts: 6,805
Send a message via Yahoo to CamaroScotty
Quote:
Originally Posted by BackinBlackSS/RS View Post
But if you return to stock won't the change code revert back to whatever it is supposed to be?
no
CamaroScotty is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 10:02 PM   #18
BackinBlackSS/RS
Go Blue!!!!!
 
BackinBlackSS/RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Cruze LT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 23,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by CamaroScotty View Post
no
HMMM, well I guess that settles that.
BackinBlackSS/RS is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 10:05 PM   #19
Mr. Wyndham
I used to be Dragoneye...
 
Mr. Wyndham's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 1LE
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 25,786
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Wyndham
Quote:
Originally Posted by BackinBlackSS/RS View Post
HMMM, well I guess that settles that.
Unfortunately. :(


See, and forgive the laymen's terms, I know it's not called the "change code". BUT...the computer detects tampering. Be it tuning, or return to stock. It's sort of like that little white square on your cell phones that detect water penetration. The phone might dry, but that square will be purple forever....
__________________
"Keep the faith." - - Read Before You Post.
SIGN UP for 2014 Camaro5 HPDE @ Gingerman Raceway!
Mr. Wyndham is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 10:09 PM   #20
BackinBlackSS/RS
Go Blue!!!!!
 
BackinBlackSS/RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Cruze LT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 23,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoneye View Post
Unfortunately. :(


See, and forgive the laymen's terms, I know it's not called the "change code". BUT...the computer detects tampering. Be it tuning, or return to stock. It's sort of like that little white square on your cell phones that detect water penetration. The phone might dry, but that square will be purple forever....
Gotcha. I guess I'll just be purchasing a handheld for data logging, codes, etc.
BackinBlackSS/RS is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 10:20 PM   #21
steeleshark2


 
steeleshark2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Transformer 1SS Camaro
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Kingsland, Ga
Posts: 2,558
There has yet to be proof that a single person has been denied warranty work for reverting back to stock before going to the dealer. This goes for Camaros and any other vehicle. I have searched all over and not one place has it been said someone has been denied. However, I have found hundreds of people that has successfully gotten warrenty work (including engine/transmission work) with no problems reverting to the stock tune before going to the dealer. That includes camaros also. It would be posted EVERYWHERE if someone was denied. I wish people would bring proof when they say you will be denied warranty work even if you go back to stock before going to the dealer. So,take it for what it is worth!!
steeleshark2 is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 10:23 PM   #22
Mr. Wyndham
I used to be Dragoneye...
 
Mr. Wyndham's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 1LE
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 25,786
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Wyndham
Quote:
Originally Posted by steeleshark2 View Post
I wish people would bring proof when they say you will be denied warranty work even if you go back to stock before going to the dealer.
Not "will". "Can".

It's a very real chance, however rare, that you can be denied warranty work.
Most people take that chance....I probably would, too.
__________________
"Keep the faith." - - Read Before You Post.
SIGN UP for 2014 Camaro5 HPDE @ Gingerman Raceway!
Mr. Wyndham is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 10:33 PM   #23
steeleshark2


 
steeleshark2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Transformer 1SS Camaro
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Kingsland, Ga
Posts: 2,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoneye View Post
Not "will". "Can".

It's a very real chance, however rare, that you can be denied warranty work.
Most people take that chance....I probably would, too.
There have been many people denied because they kept a tune in the ecm. However, not ONE (at least posted somewhere) has ever been denied when they reverted back to stock. If it would be detectable, at least one instance would be posted somewhere and it would have spread like a wild fire. So, one can most likely imply that these tunes were undetecable by gm by going back to stock before warranty work. That is just my 2 cents anyway!! Until someone gets hit
steeleshark2 is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 10:37 PM   #24
Mr. Wyndham
I used to be Dragoneye...
 
Mr. Wyndham's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 1LE
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 25,786
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Wyndham
Quote:
Originally Posted by steeleshark2 View Post
There have been many people denied because they kept a tune in the ecm. However, not ONE (at least posted somewhere) has ever been denied when they reverted back to stock. If it would be detectable, at least one instance would be posted somewhere and it would have spread like a wild fire. So, one can most likely imply that these tunes were undetecable by gm by going back to stock before warranty work.
"most likely", "imply"....there is still a risk, even if it's never happened.

They are not undetectable, and I wish I could find the thread that proves it...
__________________
"Keep the faith." - - Read Before You Post.
SIGN UP for 2014 Camaro5 HPDE @ Gingerman Raceway!
Mr. Wyndham is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 10:39 PM   #25
steeleshark2


 
steeleshark2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Transformer 1SS Camaro
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Kingsland, Ga
Posts: 2,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoneye View Post
"most likely", "imply"....there is still a risk, even if it's never happened.

They are not undetectable, and I wish I could find the thread that proves it...
Ok, I agree with you there. You can never say never!
steeleshark2 is offline  
 
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.