Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Rick@Livernois
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-27-2010, 11:02 PM   #18
BackinBlackSS/RS
Go Blue!!!!!
 
BackinBlackSS/RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Cruze LT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 23,297
Quote:
Originally Posted by CamaroScotty View Post
no
HMMM, well I guess that settles that.
BackinBlackSS/RS is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 11:05 PM   #19
Mr. Wyndham
I used to be Dragoneye...
 
Mr. Wyndham's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 1LE
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 26,454
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Wyndham
Quote:
Originally Posted by BackinBlackSS/RS View Post
HMMM, well I guess that settles that.
Unfortunately. :(


See, and forgive the laymen's terms, I know it's not called the "change code". BUT...the computer detects tampering. Be it tuning, or return to stock. It's sort of like that little white square on your cell phones that detect water penetration. The phone might dry, but that square will be purple forever....
__________________
"Keep the faith." - - Read Before You Post.

Mr. Wyndham is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 11:09 PM   #20
BackinBlackSS/RS
Go Blue!!!!!
 
BackinBlackSS/RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Cruze LT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 23,297
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoneye View Post
Unfortunately. :(


See, and forgive the laymen's terms, I know it's not called the "change code". BUT...the computer detects tampering. Be it tuning, or return to stock. It's sort of like that little white square on your cell phones that detect water penetration. The phone might dry, but that square will be purple forever....
Gotcha. I guess I'll just be purchasing a handheld for data logging, codes, etc.
BackinBlackSS/RS is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 11:20 PM   #21
steeleshark2


 
steeleshark2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Transformer 1SS Camaro
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Kingsland, Ga
Posts: 2,558
There has yet to be proof that a single person has been denied warranty work for reverting back to stock before going to the dealer. This goes for Camaros and any other vehicle. I have searched all over and not one place has it been said someone has been denied. However, I have found hundreds of people that has successfully gotten warrenty work (including engine/transmission work) with no problems reverting to the stock tune before going to the dealer. That includes camaros also. It would be posted EVERYWHERE if someone was denied. I wish people would bring proof when they say you will be denied warranty work even if you go back to stock before going to the dealer. So,take it for what it is worth!!
steeleshark2 is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 11:23 PM   #22
Mr. Wyndham
I used to be Dragoneye...
 
Mr. Wyndham's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 1LE
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 26,454
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Wyndham
Quote:
Originally Posted by steeleshark2 View Post
I wish people would bring proof when they say you will be denied warranty work even if you go back to stock before going to the dealer.
Not "will". "Can".

It's a very real chance, however rare, that you can be denied warranty work.
Most people take that chance....I probably would, too.
__________________
"Keep the faith." - - Read Before You Post.

Mr. Wyndham is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 11:33 PM   #23
steeleshark2


 
steeleshark2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Transformer 1SS Camaro
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Kingsland, Ga
Posts: 2,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoneye View Post
Not "will". "Can".

It's a very real chance, however rare, that you can be denied warranty work.
Most people take that chance....I probably would, too.
There have been many people denied because they kept a tune in the ecm. However, not ONE (at least posted somewhere) has ever been denied when they reverted back to stock. If it would be detectable, at least one instance would be posted somewhere and it would have spread like a wild fire. So, one can most likely imply that these tunes were undetecable by gm by going back to stock before warranty work. That is just my 2 cents anyway!! Until someone gets hit
steeleshark2 is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 11:37 PM   #24
Mr. Wyndham
I used to be Dragoneye...
 
Mr. Wyndham's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 1LE
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 26,454
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Wyndham
Quote:
Originally Posted by steeleshark2 View Post
There have been many people denied because they kept a tune in the ecm. However, not ONE (at least posted somewhere) has ever been denied when they reverted back to stock. If it would be detectable, at least one instance would be posted somewhere and it would have spread like a wild fire. So, one can most likely imply that these tunes were undetecable by gm by going back to stock before warranty work.
"most likely", "imply"....there is still a risk, even if it's never happened.

They are not undetectable, and I wish I could find the thread that proves it...
__________________
"Keep the faith." - - Read Before You Post.

Mr. Wyndham is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 11:39 PM   #25
steeleshark2


 
steeleshark2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Transformer 1SS Camaro
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Kingsland, Ga
Posts: 2,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoneye View Post
"most likely", "imply"....there is still a risk, even if it's never happened.

They are not undetectable, and I wish I could find the thread that proves it...
Ok, I agree with you there. You can never say never!
steeleshark2 is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 11:40 PM   #26
Mr. Wyndham
I used to be Dragoneye...
 
Mr. Wyndham's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 1LE
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 26,454
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Wyndham
__________________
"Keep the faith." - - Read Before You Post.

Mr. Wyndham is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 11:43 PM   #27
eynigush
SoCal C5 Family Member
 
eynigush's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SSRS Rally Yellow
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 412
Tuning from Trifecta in Washington is "guaranteed" to not be detectable. The software in your computer gets rewritten instead reflashed. The guy that does it is a former software writer from Microsoft. Im on the list for a group buy and I believe it's $240 plus shipping if you choose to do remote tuning via EZ flash cable. I have a few friends at a local dealership and will have them check my ECM after the tuning. I'll start a thread afterwards with the results as well as dyno numbers for comparison.

--Eddie
__________________
Kooks 1 7/8 headers w/high flow cats
Magnaflow Cat-back Competition Series
Cold Air Intake by CAI Inc.
eynigush is offline  
Old 01-28-2010, 12:24 AM   #28
Milk 1027
Camaro➎ moderator
 
Milk 1027's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 BLK 1LE
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 13,515
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoneye View Post
"most likely", "imply"....there is still a risk, even if it's never happened.

They are not undetectable, and I wish I could find the thread that proves it...
Dragon. The thread where the info is, is not public. Try looking in the other section. It's also in PM's. I think I copied and pasted them there.

Sadly, they won't believe us, unless we show it comes from a reputable source. You and I both know we can't do that. (or shouldn't)
__________________
Milk 1027 is offline  
Old 01-28-2010, 12:26 AM   #29
The_Blur
Jayhawk USN
 
The_Blur's Avatar
 
Drives: Demon SS
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 14,623
Send a message via AIM to The_Blur
Quote:
Originally Posted by Milk 1027 View Post
Dragon. The thread where the info is, is not public. Try looking in the other section. It's also in PM's. I think I copied and pasted them there.

Sadly, they won't believe us, unless we show it comes from a reputable source. You and I both know we can't do that. (or shouldn't)
I believe you.
The_Blur is offline  
Old 01-28-2010, 12:33 AM   #30
Milk 1027
Camaro➎ moderator
 
Milk 1027's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 BLK 1LE
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 13,515
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Blur View Post
I believe you.



The truth is that, people have to understand that you have to pay to play. If you do anything to a car, that causes it to malfunction, it is your responsibility to take care of the cost to repair it.

A tune changes the parameters in which a car operates. Therefore, it can cause something to go wrong with your engine. If you want to get a tune, I would suggest using a reputable Tuner. Tuner being the key word. Not all speed shops have tuners that know what they are doing. If something happens to your car. Take it to your dealer and hope that it wasn't the tune that hurt it.
__________________
Milk 1027 is offline  
Old 01-28-2010, 12:39 AM   #31
The_Blur
Jayhawk USN
 
The_Blur's Avatar
 
Drives: Demon SS
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 14,623
Send a message via AIM to The_Blur
Here's a question: can they tell if you remove the ECM and replace it for warranty work?
The_Blur is offline  
Old 01-28-2010, 12:48 AM   #32
Milk 1027
Camaro➎ moderator
 
Milk 1027's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 BLK 1LE
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 13,515
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Blur View Post
Here's a question: can they tell if you remove the ECM and replace it for warranty work?
If you have a different ECM than from factory, yes.

ECM's are tracked from factory and they know which serial number goes into which VIN on cars.
__________________
Milk 1027 is offline  
Old 01-28-2010, 12:57 AM   #33
The_Blur
Jayhawk USN
 
The_Blur's Avatar
 
Drives: Demon SS
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 14,623
Send a message via AIM to The_Blur
Quote:
Originally Posted by Milk 1027 View Post
If you have a different ECM than from factory, yes.

ECM's are tracked from factory and they know which serial number goes into which VIN on cars.
Follow the scenario.

John's car comes with ECM 1. John buys ECM 2.

John gets headers, exhaust, intake, and a tune on ECM 2. ECM 1 sits in the garage.

John needs to visit the dealer. John reinstalls ECM 1. ECM 2 sits in the garage.

ECM 1 came with the car. The dealer scans ECM 1. Will the dealer detect a problem with ECM 1 or the potentially warranty-voiding presence of ECM 2?
The_Blur is offline  
Old 01-28-2010, 01:02 AM   #34
Milk 1027
Camaro➎ moderator
 
Milk 1027's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 BLK 1LE
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 13,515
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Blur View Post
Follow the scenario.

John's car comes with ECM 1. John buys ECM 2.

John gets headers, exhaust, intake, and a tune on ECM 2. ECM 1 sits in the garage.

John needs to visit the dealer. John reinstalls ECM 1. ECM 2 sits in the garage.

ECM 1 came with the car. The dealer scans ECM 1. Will the dealer detect a problem with ECM 1 or the potentially warranty-voiding presence of ECM 2?
I've been asked this before and don't know how to fully explain since I myself am not an expert in this. But the way ot was explained to me made sense. Apperantly the ECM keeps a small portion that tracks the Oil Life System. Although, some would suggest that, it isn't the case. It plays a very small part in the OLS, but however small, it is there.
This means, that if you switch back and forth between ECM, the small part that plays a role in this will be off from the actual car milage displayed in the OLS.



Don't know if I explained that right. I always get flamed fortrying to explain this. But I'm not the GM engineer. That's just what I was told by one.
__________________
Milk 1027 is offline  
 
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.