Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
JDP Motorsports
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-08-2010, 02:25 PM   #1
CamaroSpike23
Mr. Nitpicky
 
CamaroSpike23's Avatar
 
Drives: anything I can get my hands on
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: anywhere and everywhere
Posts: 22,861
Send a message via Yahoo to CamaroSpike23
GM Publically admits Odo in ECM on Camaro...

For those of you wondering.

Quote:
Symptoms of Module Swapping


A variety of symptoms may appear in a Global A vehicle containing one or more control modules swapped from a like vehicle. Depending upon which control modules have been swapped, possible symptoms include:



· The VIN read by GDS and SPS does not match the vehicle.



· Current DTC B3902 - Incorrect IMMO ID Rec. set in IPC, SDM, ECM, HVAC, Steering Column Lock Control Module (if equipped) or BCM. There are no warning lamps or DIC messages and this DTC cannot be cleared.



· IPC module displays (- - -) for odometer and trip odometer values.



· Vehicle will enter power mode only if the key fobs that match the donor vehicle BCM are included in the swap.



· BCM and/or ECM has current DTC B389A - Environment Identification. There is a Service Theft System message on the DIC, the Security MIL is illuminated and this DTC cannot be cleared.



· ECM odometer value is incorrect for vehicle.



· Radio displays Locked

http://www.sandyblogs.com/techlink/2...l-modules.html





whole article
http://www.sandyblogs.com/techlink/index.html
__________________
Never race anything you can't afford to light on fire and push off a cliff
Quote:
Originally Posted by BowtieGuy View Post
Nobody makes CamaroSpike happy. You just disgust him a little less than other people.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bulldogwinters View Post
Read that link that Spike posted, it'll tell you everything you need to know.
Quote:
Originally Posted by WheelmanSS View Post
Post count is truly an accurate measure of how cool someone is on the Internet.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Norris View Post
I piss excellence
and fart awesomeness
Quote:
Originally Posted by BowtieGuy View Post
Nobody makes CamaroSpike happy. You just disgust him a little less than other people.
"You can think I'm wrong, but that's no reason to quit thinking.”
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overflow View Post
But not all people were born awesome like you, Spike.
CamaroSpike23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 03:12 PM   #2
Partick

 
Partick's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NorCal
Posts: 975
Rut-roh
Partick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 03:21 PM   #3
CamaroSpike23
Mr. Nitpicky
 
CamaroSpike23's Avatar
 
Drives: anything I can get my hands on
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: anywhere and everywhere
Posts: 22,861
Send a message via Yahoo to CamaroSpike23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Partick View Post
Rut-roh

I've been trying to tell people this.

for those wanting to swap ecm's to keep a stock tune on one and a performance tune on another, then swap before going to the dealership.

it will be found when the odometer in the ecm doesnt match up.
__________________
Never race anything you can't afford to light on fire and push off a cliff
Quote:
Originally Posted by BowtieGuy View Post
Nobody makes CamaroSpike happy. You just disgust him a little less than other people.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bulldogwinters View Post
Read that link that Spike posted, it'll tell you everything you need to know.
Quote:
Originally Posted by WheelmanSS View Post
Post count is truly an accurate measure of how cool someone is on the Internet.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Norris View Post
I piss excellence
and fart awesomeness
Quote:
Originally Posted by BowtieGuy View Post
Nobody makes CamaroSpike happy. You just disgust him a little less than other people.
"You can think I'm wrong, but that's no reason to quit thinking.”
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overflow View Post
But not all people were born awesome like you, Spike.
CamaroSpike23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 03:25 PM   #4
Partick

 
Partick's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NorCal
Posts: 975
Decided not to mess with mine when the previous threads went on and on and you could tell no one really knew for sure, just not worth it. CAI and exhaust and she runs like hell anyway.
Partick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 03:38 PM   #5
Robert91RS

 
Robert91RS's Avatar
 
Drives: Everywhere
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: TX
Posts: 852
So Spike, can you explain what this means and how it's related to tunes and reflashing before warranty work.
Robert91RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 04:10 PM   #6
mrray13


 
mrray13's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1LT RS Rally Yellow
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: southern Illinois
Posts: 3,059
Does this apply to the v8 cars only? The tech at my dealership stated in no uncertain terms that they cannot read histories of the E69 pcm if it's been reset. Not like there is a tune completely ready for the v6 cars just now anyway, but just curious.
__________________
PacMan
mrray13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 04:21 PM   #7
UCF w00t
Geek
 
UCF w00t's Avatar
 
Drives: IOM 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Orlando
Posts: 4,456
Wow... this is lame... "The radio in Global A vehicles cannot be swapped due to the inability to alter the VIN in a radio once it has been learned."
UCF w00t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 04:28 PM   #8
CamaroSpike23
Mr. Nitpicky
 
CamaroSpike23's Avatar
 
Drives: anything I can get my hands on
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: anywhere and everywhere
Posts: 22,861
Send a message via Yahoo to CamaroSpike23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert91RS View Post
So Spike, can you explain what this means and how it's related to tunes and reflashing before warranty work.
I edited my previous post. (working on too many threads simultaneously ).


Basically, there was a discussion a while back about people buying a spare ECM and having a tune installed on it then if they had to go to the dealer, they would just swap ECM's. however, the mileage of the car would not match that of the stock ECM if one swapped back and forth..... unless they swapped once a week and drove the same amount of mileage.

as for reflashing/retuning, obviously, you are using the same ecm recording mileage so that wont be an issue. However, GM can see tunes on cars. whether the dealer can or whether a tuner says they are using the same scanner as GM to prove you cant see it. GM can.

but it goes back to the old, "you gotta pay to play".


Quote:
Originally Posted by mrray13 View Post
Does this apply to the v8 cars only? The tech at my dealership stated in no uncertain terms that they cannot read histories of the E69 pcm if it's been reset. Not like there is a tune completely ready for the v6 cars just now anyway, but just curious.
for the V6 ecm, I honestly do not know. I know that Trifecta performance is working on a tune for the v6. I'll see what I can find out.
__________________
Never race anything you can't afford to light on fire and push off a cliff
Quote:
Originally Posted by BowtieGuy View Post
Nobody makes CamaroSpike happy. You just disgust him a little less than other people.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bulldogwinters View Post
Read that link that Spike posted, it'll tell you everything you need to know.
Quote:
Originally Posted by WheelmanSS View Post
Post count is truly an accurate measure of how cool someone is on the Internet.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Norris View Post
I piss excellence
and fart awesomeness
Quote:
Originally Posted by BowtieGuy View Post
Nobody makes CamaroSpike happy. You just disgust him a little less than other people.
"You can think I'm wrong, but that's no reason to quit thinking.”
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overflow View Post
But not all people were born awesome like you, Spike.
CamaroSpike23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 04:41 PM   #9
tstpierre
 
Drives: 2010 Rally Yellow 2LT
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 63
trifecta certainly has tuned v6s. *staring at his stock and custom tune files*
__________________
Mods: Hennessey CAI, MBRP Exhaust, Stainless Works 1 5/8 Long Tube Headers and High Flow Cats, Trifecta Tuned
tstpierre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 05:46 PM   #10
toehead93


 
Drives: 2014 2SS/1LE
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: wpb fl
Posts: 2,678
This is for an ECM swap, what about re-tuning to stock?
__________________
Used Racing Brake 2 Peice Rotors for sale:
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=344754

Summit White 2014 2SS 1LE
Recaros, NPP exhaust, Nav
2010 2SS A6 - sold.
toehead93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 12:37 PM   #11
GaryTucker
 
Drives: 09 Vette GT1, 06 350Z, 82 MSE
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 573
Spike,
Thanks for pointing this out. I know this has been some folks standby and obviously it isn't going to work.
GaryTucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 09:31 PM   #12
Mr_Draco


 
Mr_Draco's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 6,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by toehead93 View Post
This is for an ECM swap, what about re-tuning to stock?
This also has been over before. Some dealers say that will be fine but it won't.

There are check digits in the factory tunes. These check digits are set up and programmed so that they can not be saved by a tuner so if you revert back to the factory tune, your car will have the stock tune but not the check digits. The dealers can not see if these digits have been tampered with or removed but when they send in the tune to GM as they are required to in order to do any engine warranty work, GM will see the check digits missing and deny the warranty work.

There are a couple of tuners that claim to have the ability to save the check digits but since dealers software don't really have anyway to determine whether the check digits have been tempered with, there is no way to validate the claims unless you send it off to GM.
Mr_Draco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 11:44 AM   #13
Russell James


 
Russell James's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 SS/RS LS3 IBM
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 3,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_Draco View Post
This also has been over before. Some dealers say that will be fine but it won't.

There are check digits in the factory tunes. These check digits are set up and programmed so that they can not be saved by a tuner so if you revert back to the factory tune, your car will have the stock tune but not the check digits. The dealers can not see if these digits have been tampered with or removed but when they send in the tune to GM as they are required to in order to do any engine warranty work, GM will see the check digits missing and deny the warranty work.

There are a couple of tuners that claim to have the ability to save the check digits but since dealers software don't really have anyway to determine whether the check digits have been tempered with, there is no way to validate the claims unless you send it off to GM.

I'm not sure this is all correct. From my understanding there is a Cal ID and a CVN (Cal Verificatin Number), both of which are displayed on the dealer's handheld Tech II. I've never heard of check digits.

They look up what the car should have for those two numbers, compare to what the Tech II is displaying... and they either match or they don't.

Then another factor is you really can't make a blanket statement that covers all tuning devices/companies. There are differences. Best to ask a specific tuner a specific question and they will tell you the straight poop as it relates to their products.
Russell James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 01:33 PM   #14
mrray13


 
mrray13's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1LT RS Rally Yellow
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: southern Illinois
Posts: 3,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by tstpierre View Post
trifecta certainly has tuned v6s. *staring at his stock and custom tune files*

And on anything other then the original ECM swapped tune, no gains have stuck on the v6 cars, save the transmission shifts better. Unless you have dyno/track proof otherwise?

Okay, back on topic, lol.
__________________
PacMan
mrray13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 01:48 PM   #15
camarowa

 
camarowa's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SVT Raptor, sold 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: PNW....almost canada
Posts: 1,899
Please correct me if I am wrong, but I was under the impression that Lingenfelter was able to tune the V6? I am an absolute novice to this so don't shoot me.


Quote:
Originally Posted by mrray13 View Post
And on anything other then the original ECM swapped tune, no gains have stuck on the v6 cars, save the transmission shifts better. Unless you have dyno/track proof otherwise?

Okay, back on topic, lol.
__________________
- Pfadt Suspension Package; Springs & Sways
- Brembo Brake Upgrade (Yellow); Courtesy Fesler Built
- Custom Magnaflow Exhaust
- Blacked-Out Bowties & RS Emblems, Front bowtie delete
- Full Dynamat Extreme Trunk Coverage
- Tinted side markers
- Interior DSV Customs Leather Upgrades
- Airaid CAI V2
- Forgestar F14 Gunmetal 20x9, 20x11
- Doug Thorley Shorties
camarowa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 03:55 PM   #16
mrray13


 
mrray13's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1LT RS Rally Yellow
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: southern Illinois
Posts: 3,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by camarowa View Post
Please correct me if I am wrong, but I was under the impression that Lingenfelter was able to tune the V6? I am an absolute novice to this so don't shoot me.
That's what Graham stated in the forced induction thread. Dunno if that tune would apply to a naturally aspirated car though...


From what I've read from Beauwulf and scrming, the Trificta tune on their cars produced zero gains on the dyno, Beauwulf actually slowed down a bit initially in the 1/4 mile. After tweaking the transmission torque management for shifting, it seems as though the tune is working for that. Still no clear cut numbers on just a tune for a naturally aspirated car, at least to my knowledge.
__________________
PacMan
mrray13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 05:15 AM   #17
WongBob
Dig Race?
 
WongBob's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 AGM 2SS/RS 1LE
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minden, LA
Posts: 318
Well then... guess im glad I didnt buy that second pcm. Oh well, guess I will crack it open and start tuning when I get home.
WongBob is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ambient lighting (ABL) - the FINAL update = LIMITED TO DOOR PANELS CamaroScotty 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 338 04-15-2009 05:33 PM
Answeres to questions I have stumbled on dieseldave24v 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 13 02-23-2009 06:56 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.