Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
sjm autoprod
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Other Generations > 1st & 2nd Generation Camaros

1st & 2nd Generation Camaros 1967-1969 Camaros / 1970-1981 Camaro

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-24-2010, 08:58 PM   #1
wood0691
 
Drives: 79 Z28
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 7
79 Z28 tach

i have a 79 z28, 350, th350, with factory tach. has a accel super coil #140003. my questions is, why am i burning out tachs? i mean it completely smokes the board in about 20 seconds. not sure whats going on with it, any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
wood0691 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 09:10 PM   #2
Mr Twisty


 
Mr Twisty's Avatar
 
Drives: the 2nd amendment home
Join Date: May 2008
Location: OK
Posts: 14,386
Wrong area, but...

What did you wire the tach signal to? If you fried more than one, I imagine it's wired wrong.
__________________
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
-- Benjamin Franklin
Great Racing Quotes

"Never run out of real estate, traction and ideas at the same time."
"I was doing fine until about mid-corner when I ran out of talent."
"Don't brake until you see God, just don't meet him"
Mr Twisty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 11:16 PM   #3
LimaCharlie


 
LimaCharlie's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro SS/RS - 2004 Silverado
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 2,701
Go to nastyz28.com and ask there.
LimaCharlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 11:28 PM   #4
ron10


 
Drives: 2010 2SS IOM L99
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: LOUISVILLE,KY..
Posts: 7,401
sounds like you have a short in the line.you may have the hot wire going to ground.trace your wires make sure they are not cut.if you think it is right,check it again.
ron10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 10:51 AM   #5
wood0691
 
Drives: 79 Z28
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 7
thanks guys, ive been on nastysz28 and cant get anywhere there, ive gotten more info here. sorry for the wrong posting area. but thanks again
wood0691 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 12:10 PM   #6
Mr Twisty


 
Mr Twisty's Avatar
 
Drives: the 2nd amendment home
Join Date: May 2008
Location: OK
Posts: 14,386
You might consider putting an additional fuse in-line, I wonder why it's frying without blowing a fuse..... Was 79 an electronic tach? You should be getting your tach signal from the distributor, is this right?

Double check all your tach wiring.
__________________
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
-- Benjamin Franklin
Great Racing Quotes

"Never run out of real estate, traction and ideas at the same time."
"I was doing fine until about mid-corner when I ran out of talent."
"Don't brake until you see God, just don't meet him"
Mr Twisty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 01:06 PM   #7
wood0691
 
Drives: 79 Z28
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 7
its not electronic and the signal is from the distributer. i think i have a short to ground cause the pink wire from the cluster that goes to the intrement panel reads continuity to ground on the hot wire. i cant know why im not blowing a fuse cause i cant find one inline with it. with i could find a schematic so i would know exactly what i was looking at LOL.........
wood0691 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 10:50 PM   #8
Mr Twisty


 
Mr Twisty's Avatar
 
Drives: the 2nd amendment home
Join Date: May 2008
Location: OK
Posts: 14,386
Let's start over... Is it a cable drive tach? If so, then you should only have power wires for a gauge bulb. Maybe I should have said "electric" instead of "electronic" LOL

Quick search found this... Might help.
http://www.nastyz28.com/2gcog/tech/u14swap.html

or.....
http://www.nastyz28.com/camaro/wire/73w-rear.jpg
__________________
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
-- Benjamin Franklin
Great Racing Quotes

"Never run out of real estate, traction and ideas at the same time."
"I was doing fine until about mid-corner when I ran out of talent."
"Don't brake until you see God, just don't meet him"
Mr Twisty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 11:00 PM   #9
ron10


 
Drives: 2010 2SS IOM L99
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: LOUISVILLE,KY..
Posts: 7,401
don't know if you have found your problem yet,but it wouldn't hurt to install an inline fuse on your hot wire,at least that will stop you from burning out your tach.
ron10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2010, 07:21 AM   #10
wood0691
 
Drives: 79 Z28
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 7
my bad mistercamaro, it is electric. i had a blond moment LOL. is there way to bypass the printed board? like take the tach out and go straight from the + and - on the battery and then to the distributor???

mr ron what size fuse will be good, the pink wire from the fuse block is whats feeding the cluster and its on a 10 amp fuse?
wood0691 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2010, 07:55 AM   #11
ron10


 
Drives: 2010 2SS IOM L99
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: LOUISVILLE,KY..
Posts: 7,401
Quote:
Originally Posted by wood0691 View Post
my bad mistercamaro, it is electric. i had a blond moment LOL. is there way to bypass the printed board? like take the tach out and go straight from the + and - on the battery and then to the distributor???

mr ron what size fuse will be good, the pink wire from the fuse block is whats feeding the cluster and its on a 10 amp fuse?
i would think a 10A would be fine.
ron10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2010, 08:13 AM   #12
Mr Twisty


 
Mr Twisty's Avatar
 
Drives: the 2nd amendment home
Join Date: May 2008
Location: OK
Posts: 14,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by wood0691 View Post
my bad mistercamaro, it is electric. i had a blond moment LOL. is there way to bypass the printed board? like take the tach out and go straight from the + and - on the battery and then to the distributor???

mr ron what size fuse will be good, the pink wire from the fuse block is whats feeding the cluster and its on a 10 amp fuse?
Only wire running to it is signal looks like. Are any of the other gauges or lights acting up?

Re-read your OP... What exactly is frying? How many times has it happened?

Check your wire colors on the gauge assy's connector with the photo on nastyz28.com... Wired the same?


Electrical problems are FUN
__________________
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
-- Benjamin Franklin
Great Racing Quotes

"Never run out of real estate, traction and ideas at the same time."
"I was doing fine until about mid-corner when I ran out of talent."
"Don't brake until you see God, just don't meet him"
Mr Twisty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2010, 08:56 AM   #13
wood0691
 
Drives: 79 Z28
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 7
everything is the same as the illastration but the #3 on mine isnt a double pink, it is a single pink. the #1 brown goes straight to the distributer marked tach, all the rest of the gauges seem to work fine. the temp gauge is unhooked and am useing an after market one but i cant see that making a differance. i have had this car for 3 weeks now so all that has been done to it i cant know.
wood0691 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2010, 10:28 AM   #14
wood0691
 
Drives: 79 Z28
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 7
guess im gonna try to get another printed board, for some reason i feel like that is the problem. ive got 12 volts to the tach and a good ground, the brown wire is connected straight to the dist. adn i have tried it with out the radio filter so im bout out of options. i dont want a big aftermarget tach stuck out like a sore thumb on my column, I WANT MY FACTORY TACH TO WORK!!!!! UGH
wood0691 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2010, 01:49 PM   #15
wood0691
 
Drives: 79 Z28
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 7
OK, the tach isnt burrning out the diods now but it goes around to about 55k and stays there running or with the switch in the on position. i am so lost, like a ball in tall grass.......;(
wood0691 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shno's House of Z Number 3 Camaro Z/28 Forum - Z/28 Specific Topics 15389 Yesterday 09:57 PM
Possible new option packages changes wanted for '11 '12 model years PYROLYSIS 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 91 09-15-2010 06:15 PM
Think about this and the Z28 5th gen 13F20 Camaro ZL1 Forum - ZL1 Specific Topics 41 09-04-2010 01:59 AM
5th gen vs 4th gen JCO2185 Chevy Camaro vs... 158 07-26-2010 09:16 AM
Production Stats and information sherifdude USA - Southcentral 0 10-31-2009 04:07 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.