Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
autoguy
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-02-2010, 11:52 AM   #1
2010 Bumblebee

 
2010 Bumblebee's Avatar
 
Drives: Transformers Edition Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mass
Posts: 1,050
How can I run 2 computers in a 2010 camaro one stock & one with a tune ????

Hello,
I hope I chose the correct category to place my post.

Without all the technical terms and abbreviations that I don''t know, is it possible to copy a 2010 camaro L99 V8 A6 computer and run either computer at any given time.

Another words have two computers and swap them back and forth? One with the stock tune, and one with another tune, to play with, or other tweaks??

If so will the car or the computer tell on you ? Will it throw codes? Will it say hey I've gone 1000 miles since the the last time I was plugged in something must be wrong ??

If possible what's the process? And how much does a new 2010 camaro computer go for right now?

What is the computer part number or spec number ? (is there more than one part to it?)

What software do I need to do it ??

Any links to the parts or software??
__________________
The Yellow Camaro Club
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/group.php?groupid=128

Northern Massachusetts & Southern New Hampshire Camaro Club
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/group.php?groupid=127

The mother of all supercharger questions thread
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=77958

My 2010 Camaro Review
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?p=2025442#post2025442

2010 Transformer Edition Camaro L99 Auto
2010 Bumblebee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 12:02 PM   #2
danhr
BAMF SS
 
danhr's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ford City, PA
Posts: 2,056
Send a message via AIM to danhr
just get hp tuners. read your stock tune and save it. then save a seperate tune for whatever on your laptop, or however many different tunes you want. whenever you want ot switch, you have to reflash your pcm (takes about 10 seconds).

here's a dumb question... why do you want to do this?
__________________
Bragging about a car that you paid someone to pick the parts and install them for you, is like paying someone to bang your wife, and then bragging about the kid.
"I'm sorry officer, no, I do not know why you pulled me over."
danhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 01:43 PM   #3
2010 Bumblebee

 
2010 Bumblebee's Avatar
 
Drives: Transformers Edition Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mass
Posts: 1,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by danhr View Post
just get hp tuners. read your stock tune and save it. then save a seperate tune for whatever on your laptop, or however many different tunes you want. whenever you want ot switch, you have to reflash your pcm (takes about 10 seconds).

here's a dumb question... why do you want to do this?


What I'm looking for is to duplicated my stock computer and put the duplicate in the car and if there is a problem I want to be able to put the original computer back.

So once the second computer is programed I want them to be interchangeable.
__________________
The Yellow Camaro Club
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/group.php?groupid=128

Northern Massachusetts & Southern New Hampshire Camaro Club
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/group.php?groupid=127

The mother of all supercharger questions thread
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=77958

My 2010 Camaro Review
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?p=2025442#post2025442

2010 Transformer Edition Camaro L99 Auto

Last edited by 2010 Bumblebee; 05-03-2010 at 11:53 AM.
2010 Bumblebee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 02:49 PM   #4
Mr_Draco


 
Mr_Draco's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 6,249
I'm afraid doing what you're wanting isn't as easily done as you think.

The ECM's are a royal pain to get to and are not meant to be changed out like the way you are wanting.

Then you have to get around the ECM storing the miles that was driven with that ECM installed. If the ECM and the odometer doesn't match up then GM will know something is up.
Mr_Draco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 03:27 PM   #5
SSOOCH
Camaro SL,UTs
 
SSOOCH's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS #16429
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: South Jordan, UT
Posts: 7,427
GM will know if you're swapping out ECM's.

I'm afraid if you want to play, you gotta pay. And one of those ways is voiding your warranty.
__________________
SSOOCH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 06:21 PM   #6
600hp-lpe


 
600hp-lpe's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS RS RJT MN6
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NH
Posts: 4,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSOOCH View Post
GM will know if you're swapping out ECM's.

I'm afraid if you want to play, you gotta pay. And one of those ways is voiding your warranty.
yup.. either stay stock w/ warranty, or mod and pay.

Chances are if you get work done at a quality shop, you won't need fixes/warranty work on the engine.
__________________
2010 2SS/RS RJT 6SP
600 HP Lingenfelter package 526 RWHP 491 RWTRQ
Pedders Justice package with Z-bar and supercar coilovers
LPE ZR-1 twin disc Clutch, LPE rear w/3.73 gears
NHRA cert. 8.50 CM 10 point roll cage, Cobra racing Seats
Gforce 5 PT. Harnesses, MOMO steering wheel and pedals
285/35/19 Bridgestone RE-11 Tires, CCW 19X10 SP16A Wheels
315/30/18 Front, 335/30/18 Rear Hoosier tires, CCW C2K Wheels
Racing Brake Rotors, stainless lines, MT800 Brake pads
HD Rear Axles, Toe Links, Trailing Arms, Lower Control Arms
Beware of the LPE Brotherhood
600hp-lpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 01:53 AM   #7
2010 Bumblebee

 
2010 Bumblebee's Avatar
 
Drives: Transformers Edition Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mass
Posts: 1,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_Draco View Post
I'm afraid doing what you're wanting isn't as easily done as you think.

The ECM's are a royal pain to get to and are not meant to be changed out like the way you are wanting.

Then you have to get around the ECM storing the miles that was driven with that ECM installed. If the ECM and the odometer doesn't match up then GM will know something is up.
I was thinking about this. But does the ECM read the odometer or is the odometer in the ECM?? And does the ECM even care if the next time it's plugged in a 1000 mile has gone by ?

I just want to play with stuff. My car is 100% stock. I like to tinker and learn stuff. I'd like to turn off the AFM and play with the cooling fans, shift points, tune it, ect.. But leave it stock.
__________________
The Yellow Camaro Club
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/group.php?groupid=128

Northern Massachusetts & Southern New Hampshire Camaro Club
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/group.php?groupid=127

The mother of all supercharger questions thread
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=77958

My 2010 Camaro Review
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?p=2025442#post2025442

2010 Transformer Edition Camaro L99 Auto
2010 Bumblebee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 06:31 AM   #8
el ess A
formerly "el ess X"
 
el ess A's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 & 2013 Camaros
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Aiken, SC
Posts: 3,142
Refer to posts 5 and 6 above. Sage advice and +1 on that from me.
el ess A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 07:04 AM   #9
Unfair
Banned
 
Drives: 2001 Camaro SS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 754
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2010 Bumblebee View Post
Warantee issues.

I'm concerned about the flash counter.

What I'm looking for is to duplicated my stock computer and put the duplicate in the car and if there is a problem I want to be able to put the original computer back.

So once the second computer is programed I want them to be interchangeable.
So you want to be able to mess up your own car and fraud your warranty to have GM pay for damage you might cause? awesome.
Unfair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 09:36 AM   #10
GaryTucker
 
Drives: 09 Vette GT1, 06 350Z, 82 MSE
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 573
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unfair View Post
So you want to be able to mess up your own car and fraud your warranty to have GM pay for damage you might cause? awesome.
Why not right? There are tuners on here actually selling software that supposedly will allow the purchaser the ability to scam GM...why wouldn't an individual think it is ok?

I'm with all of you. My new car would be quite a bit cheaper if we didn't have the cost of warranty fraud (as GM knows they won't catch it all) built into the base cost of my vehicle.

I just wish GM would do a pro-rata reimbursement of warranty expense for those of us that never have to utilize the service...but that will never happen as those of us that don't abuse the system or even use the system get to pay for those that do... Hmmm...that sounds like some other system we are all facing...

To the OP...Pay to Play is the way to approach your modifications. If you can't afford to fix what you break after you modify it...then leave it alone.
GaryTucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 12:16 PM   #11
DangerZL1

 
Drives: Accord
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Memphis, TN Area
Posts: 1,910
[/QUOTE=GaryTucker;1800040]
I just wish GM would do a pro-rata reimbursement of warranty expense for those of us that never have to utilize the service...but that will never happen as those of us that don't abuse the system or even use the system get to pay for those that do... Hmmm...that sounds like some other system we are all facing...
[/QUOTE]

If GM allowed people to opt out of the warranty and receive cash, then the price of the Camaro would go up if estimated warranty costs are averaged over all Camaro's produced. They'd be paying for warranty costs they might not incur.
DangerZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 12:18 PM   #12
DangerZL1

 
Drives: Accord
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Memphis, TN Area
Posts: 1,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryTucker View Post
I just wish GM would do a pro-rata reimbursement of warranty expense for those of us that never have to utilize the service...but that will never happen as those of us that don't abuse the system or even use the system get to pay for those that do... Hmmm...that sounds like some other system we are all facing...
If GM allowed people to opt out of the warranty and receive cash, then the price of the Camaro would go up if estimated warranty costs are averaged over all Camaro's produced. They'd be paying for warranty costs they might not incur.
DangerZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official SYNERGY GREEN Camaro Thread Tran Camaro Photos | Spyshots | Video | Media Gallery 3119 Yesterday 01:25 PM
LS3 goes 11`s Bonestock! GMRULZ Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 28 12-08-2008 09:10 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.