Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Lethal Racing
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > Camaro Photos | Spyshots | Video | Media Gallery

Camaro Photos | Spyshots | Video | Media Gallery All Camaro related pictures, videos and other assorted media.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2009, 10:44 AM   #776
Xanthos
Almost-Original Postwhore
 
Xanthos's Avatar
 
Drives: Stick
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 12,658
Quote:
Originally Posted by MerlinZero View Post
anyone else notice that the gauges on the KM/H car go up to 260MPH???? WTF I want that....
Where do you get that? 300 KMPH is about 186 MPH.
- Xanthos

P.S. - looking at the gauges, what I think you're seeing are more KMPH markings, just in between the larger ones once you pass 200.
__________________
Xanthos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 11:09 AM   #777
HeatherR
 
HeatherR's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 CTS, 2008 Solstice GXP
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 702
Quote:
Originally Posted by UCF w00t View Post
Thanks. Sorry for being such a pain but can you remember what the options are?
The DIC has 2 menus with a total of 11 items than can be displayed (only 1 at a time):
– Vehicle Information menu
(units, tire pressure, remaining oil
life, coolant temperature, speed
warning).
– Trip/Fuel menu (trip odometers,
fuel range, average fuel economy,
average vehicle speed, digital
speedometer, OnStar® Turn-by-Turn
guidance).

Hope this helps.
HeatherR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 11:11 AM   #778
Speedy1975
FASTER!
 
Speedy1975's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Dodge Challenger
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 1,398
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeatherR View Post
The DIC has 2 menus with a total of 11 items than can be displayed (only 1 at a time):
– Vehicle Information menu
(units, tire pressure, remaining oil
life, coolant temperature, speed
warning).
– Trip/Fuel menu (trip odometers,
fuel range, average fuel economy,
average vehicle speed, digital
speedometer, OnStar® Turn-by-Turn
guidance).

Hope this helps.
What's "speed warning"?

Danger Will Robinson, you are exceeding the posted speed, Danger Danger.
__________________
-Speedy
2009 Challenger R/T
- Arrington Forged 6.0L and Magnacharger Supercharger - 553RWHP 627RWTQ

Speedy1975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 11:15 AM   #779
HeatherR
 
HeatherR's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 CTS, 2008 Solstice GXP
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 702
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy1975 View Post
What's "speed warning"?

Danger Will Robinson, you are exceeding the posted speed, Danger Danger.
Remember you have the option not to set it to that....and we never did! So, I am not sure what comes up--I can check though! Means I will have to drive faster than posted speeds though
HeatherR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 11:17 AM   #780
Number 3
Hail to the King baby!
 
Number 3's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 ATS 2.0T & '14 Chevrolet SS
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 8,243
You can set a speed that will have an overspeed "alert" go off when you reach that speed. You can pick what you want, say 88 mph and a chime will go off when you hit that speed.
Number 3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 11:20 AM   #781
Xanthos
Almost-Original Postwhore
 
Xanthos's Avatar
 
Drives: Stick
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 12,658
Thats nifty. I'd do this to help me remember to drive economically on long trips.

Though this car has cruise, doesn't it? Completely worthless then (None of my cars have ever had working cruise control). I'd probably just leave it on digital speedo.
- Xanthos
__________________
Xanthos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 11:23 AM   #782
HeatherR
 
HeatherR's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 CTS, 2008 Solstice GXP
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 702
Quote:
Originally Posted by XanthosV6 View Post
Thats nifty. I'd do this to help me remember to drive economically on long trips.

Though this car has cruise, doesn't it? Completely worthless then (None of my cars have ever had working cruise control). I'd probably just leave it on digital speedo.
- Xanthos
We left it on digital speed the whole time. Other cars we drive have the digital and you do really get used to it. It does have cruise.
HeatherR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 11:24 AM   #783
Primus
2G1FF1EV0A9113319
 
Primus's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1LT/RS 6MT
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Number 3 View Post
You can set a speed that will have an overspeed "alert" go off when you reach that speed. You can pick what you want, say 88 mph and a chime will go off when you hit that speed.
"when this baby hits 88mph you're going to see some serious $#!t"
__________________
2010 Camaro 1LT/RS M6 Black
1100: 10/13/2008
2000: 4/02/2009
3000: 4/08/2009
3300: 5/14/2009
3400: 5/21/2009
3800: 5/28/2009 VIN: 2G1FF1EV0A9113319
4000: 5/28/2009
4150: 5/28/2009
4B00: 5/28/2009

Delivered: 6/10/2009
Primus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 11:29 AM   #784
Xanthos
Almost-Original Postwhore
 
Xanthos's Avatar
 
Drives: Stick
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 12,658
I just need to stop and pick up some random garbage to fuel the fl... ABL... thats right... the ABL...
- Xanthos
__________________
Xanthos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 12:03 PM   #785
HeatherR
 
HeatherR's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 CTS, 2008 Solstice GXP
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 702
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2KZ28_For_Now View Post
3333 miles? (well, maybe kilometers for all the Candians) that has a really cool symmetry about it....

but then again, I digress....
It was set for miles...Also, we were VIN#33, but be careful with the numbers they are "funny numbers" kind of.
HeatherR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 12:11 PM   #786
Xanthos
Almost-Original Postwhore
 
Xanthos's Avatar
 
Drives: Stick
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 12,658
Vin 33... Theres more test fleet cars out there than I realized!
- Xanthos
__________________
Xanthos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 12:24 PM   #787
TLSTWIN
Romans10:9-13
 
TLSTWIN's Avatar
 
Drives: /\yes, this is me/\
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Vermilion, Ohio
Posts: 3,454
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeatherR View Post
--I can check though! Means I will have to drive faster than posted speeds though

Just get he video/audio on tape
TLSTWIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 12:33 PM   #788
UCF w00t
Geek
 
UCF w00t's Avatar
 
Drives: IOM 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Orlando
Posts: 4,456
HeaterR + Number3 > *
UCF w00t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 02:29 PM   #789
philthy

 
philthy's Avatar
 
Drives: 1971 Monte Carlo/2010 Camaro 2LT
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chesterfield, MI
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Number 3 View Post
You can set a speed that will have an overspeed "alert" go off when you reach that speed. You can pick what you want, say 88 mph and a chime will go off when you hit that speed.

That function is actually fun if you are borrowing someone else's car. My mom had it on her Riviera and I would set it for 30mph. She got all freaked out thinking the chime was telling her the car had a mechanical problem of some sort. I had to tell her when she scheduled a service appointment to check it out.
philthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 02:59 PM   #790
Number 3
Hail to the King baby!
 
Number 3's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 ATS 2.0T & '14 Chevrolet SS
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 8,243
I did the same to my mom with her Riviera many years ago. She called me and asked, "what did you do to my car"? "Why nothing, mom. You weren't per chance going over 55 were you"? Ha, I still laugh at that one.
Number 3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 09:10 PM   #791
Geno
 
Drives: 2013 Hyundai Genesis Coupe GT
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 172
I hate to keep bring this up but!!!! Did we ever find out if the airpump comes out of the trunk or is it attached and has a hose that will reach all 4 tires?????
Geno is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 09:32 PM   #792
HeatherR
 
HeatherR's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 CTS, 2008 Solstice GXP
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 702
Quote:
Originally Posted by XanthosV6 View Post
Vin 33... Theres more test fleet cars out there than I realized!
- Xanthos
There are not 33 out there...The numbers are not as straight-forward as you would think. From what I understand you could refer to this one as #8, but our vin ended with 33?
HeatherR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 09:34 PM   #793
HeatherR
 
HeatherR's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 CTS, 2008 Solstice GXP
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 702
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geno View Post
I hate to keep bring this up but!!!! Did we ever find out if the airpump comes out of the trunk or is it attached and has a hose that will reach all 4 tires?????
It comes right out and is 9V with a cord that reaches to the console to power it, then a short hose from the pump to the tire.
HeatherR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 09:43 PM   #794
camaropete
I love crepes
 
camaropete's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS RS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 5,313
Send a message via AIM to camaropete Send a message via Yahoo to camaropete
HeatherR and Number3, I just want to take another chance to thank you for making the next 38 days, 10 hours, 16 minutes and 30 seconds more bearable!
__________________
camaropete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 09:49 PM   #795
fastball
White 'n Nerdy
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,650
I'm perplexed at the gauge choices...... I was always under the impression that the reason GM now uses electronically calibrated gauges without the 2 sets of measurements printed on them is so they can be used across the board, no matter where the car is sold, and the only modification is whether to make Km/hr or Mph the default calibration.

When you swtich it in the DIC, the needle automatically goes to whichever increment is selected, right? So why the need for a Canadian speedo and a sepparate USA speedo?
__________________
fastball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 09:57 PM   #796
Mr. Wyndham
I used to be Dragoneye...
 
Mr. Wyndham's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 1LE
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 25,788
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Wyndham
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastball View Post
When you swtich it in the DIC, the needle automatically goes to whichever increment is selected, right? So why the need for a Canadian speedo and a sepparate USA speedo?
Maybe because the speedos on both cars are so high, you'd have to crunch a lot more numbers in to accomodate Kph? I have no idea...but it's a thought. I mean, if you think about it -- Heather's gauges go to 300. I think that would drive people in the US insane that they can't use 40% of the dial.
__________________
"Keep the faith." - - Read Before You Post.
SIGN UP for 2014 Camaro5 HPDE @ Gingerman Raceway!
Mr. Wyndham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 10:36 PM   #797
stovt001


 
stovt001's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 Cobalt, 2004 Taurus wagon
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: California
Posts: 3,817
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoneye View Post
Maybe because the speedos on both cars are so high, you'd have to crunch a lot more numbers in to accomodate Kph? I have no idea...but it's a thought. I mean, if you think about it -- Heather's gauges go to 300. I think that would drive people in the US insane that they can't use 40% of the dial.
Yeah. Go take a look at the GT-R speedo. 60 is at about the 8 o'clock position. The difference between 40 and 60 mph is measured in fractions of degrees. Not good.
__________________
"It's kind of fun to do the impossible" - Walt Disney

There's a great big beautiful tomorrow
shining at the end of every day
There's a great big beautiful tomorrow
Just a dream away
stovt001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 10:38 PM   #798
stovt001


 
stovt001's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 Cobalt, 2004 Taurus wagon
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: California
Posts: 3,817
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeatherR View Post
The DIC has 2 menus with a total of 11 items than can be displayed (only 1 at a time):
– Vehicle Information menu
(units, tire pressure, remaining oil
life, coolant temperature, speed
warning).
– Trip/Fuel menu (trip odometers,
fuel range, average fuel economy,
average vehicle speed, digital
speedometer, OnStar® Turn-by-Turn
guidance).

Hope this helps.
So how does that working having 2 menus with 11 items that can be displayed on at a time. Is that one item from each menu at a time, or anything from one menu at a time, or just one thing out of those 11 at a time. If it is the latter, then what is the point of two menus? Thanks!
__________________
"It's kind of fun to do the impossible" - Walt Disney

There's a great big beautiful tomorrow
shining at the end of every day
There's a great big beautiful tomorrow
Just a dream away
stovt001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 10:52 PM   #799
Mr. Wyndham
I used to be Dragoneye...
 
Mr. Wyndham's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 1LE
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 25,788
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Wyndham
Quote:
Originally Posted by stovt001 View Post
So how does that working having 2 menus with 11 items that can be displayed on at a time. Is that one item from each menu at a time, or anything from one menu at a time, or just one thing out of those 11 at a time. If it is the latter, then what is the point of two menus? Thanks!
Maybe I should let Heather answer...but I think...*think* it's the same general idea as the Cobalt, just with two sets of information 'screens' instead of one long list (like the Cobalt). You choose your menu, and then cycle through the information, one at a time. It looks like one menu is performance-oriented, and the other is for everyday touting around. The two menus provide separation of information, thus speeding up the time it takes to cycle through the info screens.

Sorry I jumped on this Heather, am I close?
__________________
"Keep the faith." - - Read Before You Post.
SIGN UP for 2014 Camaro5 HPDE @ Gingerman Raceway!
Mr. Wyndham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 12:07 AM   #800
HeatherR
 
HeatherR's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 CTS, 2008 Solstice GXP
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 702
Thanks Dragoneye! That sounds right to me. One long list to cycle through vs. two organized the way it is makes it more user friendly IMO. You tend to cycle through once in a while, and leave it to a preferred setting th rest of the time. It is also where directions pop up when using turn by turn navigation which is cool and safer than on the radio.
HeatherR is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Camaro Product Manager - interview Moose 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 11 04-04-2012 07:10 PM
Onstar....a spy???? please comment dieseldave24v General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion 138 02-23-2012 02:12 PM
CNN: Camaro: From sketchpad to street - The rebirth of a muscle car ... Gatecrasher 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 49 10-05-2009 04:33 PM
Answeres to questions I have stumbled on dieseldave24v 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 13 02-23-2009 07:56 PM
Comparison Test, by Proxy: 2010 Chevrolet Camaro vs. 2009 Dodge Challenger SRT8 AirGoya Chevy Camaro vs... 86 07-24-2008 12:20 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.