Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Gen5DIY
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8

Forced Induction - V8 V8 Supercharger, turbo, nitrous discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-14-2011, 02:25 PM   #726
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,717
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlownSS View Post
This sounds like a conversation we had last night! LOL Glad you (maybe) have it figured out!!!!
Yup. Exactly. And if nothing else, when they get it on the computer he can tell me exactly what it's doing.


Quote:
Originally Posted by GSUNCSU View Post
Have you found said tuner? and we got to find you an Easy Button.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 03:36 PM   #727
zebra
just can't seem to leave
 
zebra's Avatar
 
Drives: your mom wild!!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: cold & windy
Posts: 11,573
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
Talked to Magnuson. Good info. I think it's the tune. He told me to ziptie the actuator open. Essintialy making it a NA system to drive it to a tuner. He says he believes it to be my catless, long tube system espec with teh intake I have.
didn't we say something along these lines earlier? the engine's flowing more air than the tune knows what to do with. just make for daggum sure that if you're gonna drive on your N/A tune, you put your last set of injectors back in.

the last thing you want is for your bigger injectors to say "what... 80%?? okay!! "
__________________
zebra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 03:44 PM   #728
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,717
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by zebra View Post
didn't we say something along these lines earlier? the engine's flowing more air than the tune knows what to do with. just make for daggum sure that if you're gonna drive on your N/A tune, you put your last set of injectors back in.

the last thing you want is for your bigger injectors to say "what... 80%?? okay!! "
I think trailering it may be the best bet.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 03:47 PM   #729
BlownSS

 
BlownSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lincoln Nebraska
Posts: 1,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
I think trailering it may be the best bet.
Not alot of money for a whole lot of peace-of-mind! I cant wait to see how it goes!
__________________
2010 IOM SS/RS LS3, Hennessey HPE550 Polished Magnuson TVS2300 Supercharger. 3.4 Pulley. Kooks long tube headers / high flow cats. GHL Full exhaust. ZL1 Fuel Pump/ADM FPCM. MSW Bap. JRE ZL1 Race cam with new springs/pushrods/Trunion Upgrade. FIC 850cc injectors. ZR1 Map sensor. CAI Induction. JRE Tune.
BlownSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 03:49 PM   #730
zebra
just can't seem to leave
 
zebra's Avatar
 
Drives: your mom wild!!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: cold & windy
Posts: 11,573
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
I think trailering it may be the best bet.
or that. you're more than welcome to my truck if need be
i'd offer a trailer, too, but i had to rent mine before
__________________
zebra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 04:32 PM   #731
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,717
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlownSS View Post
Not alot of money for a whole lot of peace-of-mind! I cant wait to see how it goes!
Fingerscrossed. lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by zebra View Post
or that. you're more than welcome to my truck if need be
i'd offer a trailer, too, but i had to rent mine before
Ok. I still have to wait and hear from the tuner. If I can't get him to do it I'll have to go far off to do it.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 05:09 PM   #732
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,717
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Ok, so I wonder who can send me a tune based on my set-up.

Is that possible?

Something I can send back and get tweaked in little time.

Mobile, AL...........SUCKS......... for tuners and performance.

If there are any good shops, they sure dont' want to be found.

I shouold have kept my stock intake....... lesson learned.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 05:11 PM   #733
zebra
just can't seem to leave
 
zebra's Avatar
 
Drives: your mom wild!!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: cold & windy
Posts: 11,573
XXX Motorsports in p'cola. i know they do dyno tunes for boosted cars - not sure if they even offer data logging or not

850-457-DYNO
__________________
zebra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 05:12 PM   #734
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,717
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by zebra View Post
XXX Performance in p'cola. i know they do dyno tunes for boosted cars - not sure if they even offer data logging or not
Dude. If they seem cool to you, lets go. I'll rent a trailer. We go there. One way.
Quote:
Originally Posted by zebra View Post
XXX Motorsports in p'cola. i know they do dyno tunes for boosted cars - not sure if they even offer data logging or not

850-457-DYNO
Got it.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 07:27 PM   #735
1bacamaro
 
1bacamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2ss
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: naples florida
Posts: 432
call paul at torq. he is a great tuner and tunes with sct. he will get it going for you.
1bacamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 09:03 PM   #736
mlee
H-Town Camaro Club
 
mlee's Avatar
 
Drives: Number Twenty-Three
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Conroe, TX
Posts: 23,950
Get a hold of Wacker... and Trifecta... I have this feeling you will be doing a torque convertor soon and Trifecta has the best TC tune out there for the L99s. Might as well start with them now and you'll be all paid for when the cam and stall gets put in.
__________________
.
mlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 09:52 PM   #737
Russell James


 
Russell James's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 SS/RS LS3 IBM
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 3,365
If you have a scanner, are you getting O2 readings from both banks? I'm not so sure it's just the tune, seems like something goes wrong when it switches to closed loop. The MAF is used on open loop, so that is working. When it kicks to closed loop, the ECM then uses O2 readings along with the MAF to adjust fueling. All the wiring still OK going to the O2's? Have you checked all engine related fuses? Possibly a pin got backed out of a harness connection?

The big difference between open and closed loop is the O2 readings controlling the fueling. Could be something completely different, but worth checking out if the ECM is reading the O2s.
Russell James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 10:04 PM   #738
zebra
just can't seem to leave
 
zebra's Avatar
 
Drives: your mom wild!!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: cold & windy
Posts: 11,573
i have trouble believing this car would be in closed loop withing 1 minute of a cold start when it's 20* outside
__________________
zebra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 10:39 PM   #739
Russell James


 
Russell James's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 SS/RS LS3 IBM
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 3,365
If stone cold, your right it will take several minutes to get to closed loop. Any starts prior in the day though, it could be switching fairly quick. That would be an interesting check tomorrow on the first cold start. Does it run fine for longer on the first cold start? A scanner will also show the loop status. Should be some codes to if the fueling is off enough to stall.
Russell James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 11:13 PM   #740
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,717
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
I'll test it frist thing in the morning. I bought a fuel pressure gauge tonight.

Can't use it though. Till I get a valve port to hook it to. Mine fuel rail doesn't have one.

But I will start the car first thing in the morning and watch it.

The start that was in the video earlier was first am start.



Quote:
Originally Posted by mlee View Post
Get a hold of Wacker... and Trifecta... I have this feeling you will be doing a torque convertor soon and Trifecta has the best TC tune out there for the L99s. Might as well start with them now and you'll be all paid for when the cam and stall gets put in.
Way over the 500.00 lmao
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 06:08 AM   #741
Scott@Bjorn3D


 
Scott@Bjorn3D's Avatar
 
Drives: Kami, 2013 2SS LS3 Luvin
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Eufaula, Alabama
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via MSN to Scott@Bjorn3D
Make Peace with Ted. Order CNC VMAX from Ted since Chris just bought one and buy a tune from Ted and be done with it. Ted could probably have you running today if you would listen to me. 300.00 from Ted and your tranny will be freaking tuned also. You should really quit being so pig headed at times.

Shit did i really just type that?
__________________
2013 2SS, GM Strut Tower Brace, CAI Intake Black, VMAX TB, Elite Catch Can, Hotchkis Chassis Brace, Hurst Shifter, 3.91 1LE Complete Rear End, NPP, 1LE Track Pack,Factory Reproductions Style 41 ZL1 Fitment Wheels 10" on all 4 corners
Scott@Bjorn3D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 06:38 AM   #742
wkdivr
 
Drives: 2004 GMC
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: W.Pa
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott@Bjorn3D View Post
Make Peace with Ted. Order CNC VMAX from Ted since Chris just bought one and buy a tune from Ted and be done with it. Ted could probably have you running today if you would listen to me. 300.00 from Ted and your tranny will be freaking tuned also. You should really quit being so pig headed at times.

Shit did i really just type that?


I would tend to agree. Do what's needed to get a tune from somebody as reputable as Janetty. Then after your other mods ( don't worry, there'll be more!!!) you can send him your logs, and he can adjust accordingly.
wkdivr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 07:37 AM   #743
Huggerorange73
Banned
 
Drives: The REAL C5
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norridge, IL
Posts: 2,115
Send a message via AIM to Huggerorange73
Quote:
Originally Posted by zebra View Post
i have trouble believing this car would be in closed loop withing 1 minute of a cold start when it's 20* outside
Damn, you guys made me drag out all my notes and books from my classes I took

When a car is started, the computer is in open loop until certain criteria is met. The o2 sensors need to be heated to work properly, so this is the main reason there is a delay.

After the sensors are heated up, the car goes into closed loop and the O2 sensors make their corrections.

The computer will go back into open loop under a variety of conditions. Throttle Position (TP) is one way.

There are parameters in the computer that determine what the TP is for Open Loop, and other things.

When that TP is reached, and the car goes open loop, and richens up.


In closed loop fueling, the computer takes readings from the oxygen sensors which read +/- of 14.64 AFR (Stoich) and makes corrections for it. If your car is idling @ 13.5 AFR, the 02s can see this, and will know to pull out enough fuel to get back to stoich.

In open loop, the fueling is purely based off the MAF transfer function and the open loop fuel table. This table has to be calibrated any time you make MAF changes, and changes that affect the airflow of the MAF.

With that being said.....as long as the 02 sensors are warm, he's in the loop..given the fact they are heated, it's likely the car is in fact in closed loop.
Huggerorange73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 07:50 AM   #744
Scott@Bjorn3D


 
Scott@Bjorn3D's Avatar
 
Drives: Kami, 2013 2SS LS3 Luvin
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Eufaula, Alabama
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via MSN to Scott@Bjorn3D
But he is running CAT Less. The sensors are not reading anything.
__________________
2013 2SS, GM Strut Tower Brace, CAI Intake Black, VMAX TB, Elite Catch Can, Hotchkis Chassis Brace, Hurst Shifter, 3.91 1LE Complete Rear End, NPP, 1LE Track Pack,Factory Reproductions Style 41 ZL1 Fitment Wheels 10" on all 4 corners
Scott@Bjorn3D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 08:06 AM   #745
Huggerorange73
Banned
 
Drives: The REAL C5
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norridge, IL
Posts: 2,115
Send a message via AIM to Huggerorange73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott@Bjorn3D View Post
But he is running CAT Less. The sensors are not reading anything.

That is incorrect....there are 2 sets of 02 sensors on the car, one set before the cats ( which will be in the collector of the header ) and one post cat ( in the cat or the off road pipe ).

The rear 02 sensor are disabled in the PCM so they don't throw codes...the front 2 are still sending info the PCM to determine A/F ratio.
Huggerorange73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 09:08 AM   #746
Scott@Bjorn3D


 
Scott@Bjorn3D's Avatar
 
Drives: Kami, 2013 2SS LS3 Luvin
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Eufaula, Alabama
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via MSN to Scott@Bjorn3D
He told me he did not hook anything to the headers. Made it sound like the cables and sensors are just tied up on his car in a loop.
__________________
2013 2SS, GM Strut Tower Brace, CAI Intake Black, VMAX TB, Elite Catch Can, Hotchkis Chassis Brace, Hurst Shifter, 3.91 1LE Complete Rear End, NPP, 1LE Track Pack,Factory Reproductions Style 41 ZL1 Fitment Wheels 10" on all 4 corners
Scott@Bjorn3D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 09:12 AM   #747
BackinBlackSS/RS
Go Blue!!!!!
 
BackinBlackSS/RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Cruze LT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 23,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott@Bjorn3D View Post
He told me he did not hook anything to the headers. Made it sound like the cables and sensors are just tied up on his car in a loop.
He would have to have the collector 02 sensors or his car would be even more screwed up than it is now.
BackinBlackSS/RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 09:12 AM   #748
BlownSS

 
BlownSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lincoln Nebraska
Posts: 1,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott@Bjorn3D View Post
Make Peace with Ted. Order CNC VMAX from Ted since Chris just bought one and buy a tune from Ted and be done with it. Ted could probably have you running today if you would listen to me. 300.00 from Ted and your tranny will be freaking tuned also. You should really quit being so pig headed at times.

Shit did i really just type that?
Sometimes when you buy stuff from ted, he will give you a free tune!!!!! Maybe give him a call and see what he has to get you going......kinda like buying a tune and getting a free toy!
__________________
2010 IOM SS/RS LS3, Hennessey HPE550 Polished Magnuson TVS2300 Supercharger. 3.4 Pulley. Kooks long tube headers / high flow cats. GHL Full exhaust. ZL1 Fuel Pump/ADM FPCM. MSW Bap. JRE ZL1 Race cam with new springs/pushrods/Trunion Upgrade. FIC 850cc injectors. ZR1 Map sensor. CAI Induction. JRE Tune.
BlownSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 09:21 AM   #749
Russell James


 
Russell James's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 SS/RS LS3 IBM
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 3,365
Before running much more, I'd check the oil. Make sure the oil doesn't smell like gas. Just to make sure it's not way overfueling and washing down the cylinders. You can get a rough idea if the stall is from rich or lean by blipping the throttle while its starting to die. If it chugs, revs real slow, and puffs out dark smoke.... way too rich. If it stumbles, hesitates, pops, revs quick, no dark smoke, no gas odor, then way too lean.

A few more run times (as long as it's not flooding the oil with gas) should be enough to set a code. If the oil is good, I'd give it a few more warm up runs, check the data and codes. If it's not setting codes, maybe it is just the tune. But normally it takes quite a significant mechanical change to a motor such as a big cam to not even be able to stay running on the stock tune. Fuel pressure should be fine if it idles good in open loop.

The O2 readings, short term fuel trim, when the problem is happening should tell the story.
Russell James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 09:52 AM   #750
Huggerorange73
Banned
 
Drives: The REAL C5
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norridge, IL
Posts: 2,115
Send a message via AIM to Huggerorange73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott@Bjorn3D View Post
He told me he did not hook anything to the headers. Made it sound like the cables and sensors are just tied up on his car in a loop.
If that's the case....he's got some serious issues on his hands.
Huggerorange73 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to get engine cover modified after a Maggie install? 1meanss Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions 5 03-05-2011 09:00 PM
Another Maggie install .... Luvpilot Forced Induction - V8 9 06-20-2010 09:00 PM
maggie install, hose routing suggestions please n2oSS Forced Induction - V8 6 05-31-2010 03:59 PM
DIY : Install catback on 2010 Camaro SS Nine Ball Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 3 08-09-2009 04:36 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.