Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
HeadlightArmor
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2011, 12:25 AM   #771
2SSRS@Gen5diy

 
2SSRS@Gen5diy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS IOM ,2014 Z/28, 66 Nova
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: By the lake in AZ
Posts: 13,696
Some time its the little parts that get you.
__________________
<img src=images/smilies/thumbdown.gif border=0 alt= title=Thumbdown class=inlineimg />
2SSRS@Gen5diy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 12:59 AM   #772
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,714
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2SSRS View Post
Some time its the little parts that get you.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 05:31 AM   #773
GMRULZ

 
GMRULZ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS & 2008 C6
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: VA
Posts: 1,823
PQ,

I don`t know if you havve looked into this or not but this was a problem w/ my car after the Whipple install. I would assume it would be an issue with any blower and any early 2010 that has not had a updated O/S from GM. Runs great for a minute or so while in open loop hits closed loop and dies. Here is what I said and the fix. not sure if your problem but something worth checking:

One thing that is very important that we found out the hardway. Please read the following as it is very important, I would assume for almost any blower install but this was definetly the case with my Whipple. I had taken off work to do this build w/ my friends, the first thing we did per whipples instructions was try to dowload the superchips tune in the car. did not work. Instead of calling whipple then we chose to continue with the job, pretty much had to get cracking as 1 freind took the day off too to help. We got it all done and attempted to install the tune again, called superchips that sat morn and no one was there, spoke to Jeff at Whipple who sent us some HPtuners tunes as we had plans on doing the fine tuning w/ HPtuners since my car is not stock and the superchips tune was for stock. Once the car went into closed loop it would not stay running. We tried everything, nothing worked my tuner came over no dice. Called superchips mon morning they said my Operating system in my computer was not supported by them. I have an early 2010 VIN ends 12,546 and I have never had an update done by GM to my PCM/TCM. My tuner tried and tried to get it to stay running w/ tuning in HPtuners. However, there were tables missing from my PCM that were in other peoples Whipple tunes who sent them to us trying to help me. Thanks again everybody. Well the table that was missing is the Air/Fuel Ratio Analysis program. Its not in the old OS, but is in the new OS from GM. I can`t understand why GM shipped cars w/ out this table. I guess they did a patchwork to get them to run NA, but boy it sure won`t run w/ the blower. Runs fine is open loop, hits closed loop let of on the gas floods out and cuts off no matter what you do. So I took the car to my dealer freind, had to tow it, they flashed it. Starts up runs and drives fine. Disabled AFM and drove it home. Crazy. So the moral here is if you have an older VIN w/ no updates, go weeks in advance and get your car flashed by the dealer w/ the updates. I have been through this pain for you. Don`t make the same mistake....Lol..


Link: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showth...hlight=whipple
__________________
2010 SS L99, 536rwhp 10.843@126.72. Whipple Supercharger stock pulley, ARH 1 7/8 longtubes w/ catted xpipe, magnaflow 3" mufflers, ADM Race CAI, 3:70 gears, lightweight wheels and nitto drag radials. Stock internal L99, stock converter.

Bolt on best before blower 12.22@113.29 w/ nothing but ARH headers, catted x-pipe, ADM CAI and a tune on stock Pzero`s!

Other car 2008 C6 Ls3, z51, A6, Npp Exhaust, best bonestock pass 11.80@118.82, Number 2 on the Corvette Forums Bonestock fastest list..
GMRULZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 07:27 AM   #774
Huggerorange73
Banned
 
Drives: The REAL C5
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norridge, IL
Posts: 1,830
Send a message via AIM to Huggerorange73
Quote:
Originally Posted by GMRULZ View Post
PQ,

I don`t know if you havve looked into this or not but this was a problem w/ my car after the Whipple install. I would assume it would be an issue with any blower and any early 2010 that has not had a updated O/S from GM. Runs great for a minute or so while in open loop hits closed loop and dies. Here is what I said and the fix. not sure if your problem but something worth checking:

One thing that is very important that we found out the hardway. Please read the following as it is very important, I would assume for almost any blower install but this was definetly the case with my Whipple. I had taken off work to do this build w/ my friends, the first thing we did per whipples instructions was try to dowload the superchips tune in the car. did not work. Instead of calling whipple then we chose to continue with the job, pretty much had to get cracking as 1 freind took the day off too to help. We got it all done and attempted to install the tune again, called superchips that sat morn and no one was there, spoke to Jeff at Whipple who sent us some HPtuners tunes as we had plans on doing the fine tuning w/ HPtuners since my car is not stock and the superchips tune was for stock. Once the car went into closed loop it would not stay running. We tried everything, nothing worked my tuner came over no dice. Called superchips mon morning they said my Operating system in my computer was not supported by them. I have an early 2010 VIN ends 12,546 and I have never had an update done by GM to my PCM/TCM. My tuner tried and tried to get it to stay running w/ tuning in HPtuners. However, there were tables missing from my PCM that were in other peoples Whipple tunes who sent them to us trying to help me. Thanks again everybody. Well the table that was missing is the Air/Fuel Ratio Analysis program. Its not in the old OS, but is in the new OS from GM. I can`t understand why GM shipped cars w/ out this table. I guess they did a patchwork to get them to run NA, but boy it sure won`t run w/ the blower. Runs fine is open loop, hits closed loop let of on the gas floods out and cuts off no matter what you do. So I took the car to my dealer freind, had to tow it, they flashed it. Starts up runs and drives fine. Disabled AFM and drove it home. Crazy. So the moral here is if you have an older VIN w/ no updates, go weeks in advance and get your car flashed by the dealer w/ the updates. I have been through this pain for you. Don`t make the same mistake....Lol..


Link: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showth...hlight=whipple
I think we have a winner right here....this makes the most sense and fits the bill of what's happening to a T.
Huggerorange73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 07:46 AM   #775
2010 SS RS

 
2010 SS RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS IBM Black Polished
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,108
It sure looks like when it begins doing its short and long trim and computer is trying to make its adjustments and running its tests that it is pulling out all the fuel....thus stalling. When you get it to your tuner I am sure he will see it trying to make these huge adjustments. Then the problem is to determine the reason why. Hopefully, it is just in the tune itself and he can adjust it so the tests dont attempt to pull as much out..Or maybe just the front 02 sensors turned off or something. You are so patient with all of this...I probably would have been across the county in Tx having Andy checking it out for me by now.
__________________
418 Stroker, 621RWHP 648 lbs TORQUE Built by Laramie GM Auto Center Tuned by Nick at Mac Autosport. EForce SC, 2 3/4pulley,LPE dual fuel pump, JRE Twin fuel rail upgrade, posi clutch kit, RX oilcatch can and breather, Callies Compstar crankshaft and rods, Racing bearings, CP -13.8 race pistons, steel rings, Comp Cams X6 blower cam, Springs, HD timing chain and tensioner, Doug Thorley Tri Y LT headers, 89.7lb injectors, RPM rollbar, DSS1400 shafts, Simpson 5 pt harness, BMR Toe rods and trailing arms, led lights, RPM input and output shafts
2010 SS RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 08:59 AM   #776
BackinBlackSS/RS
Go Blue!!!!!
 
BackinBlackSS/RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Cruze LT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 23,297
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
I'll check. But it's been working in this intake for 6 months.
Yes, but you are under very different circumstances now. Anyways, it just take a second to check. I read the PCM flash post, that really sounds like the problem right there. I hope you get it fixed soon. You know all this pain is gonna be SO worth it when you are done and when you get that win over GTAHVIT!!!
BackinBlackSS/RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 09:32 AM   #777
Coop

 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lawton/Fort Sill, OK
Posts: 1,633
So how does one know what vin# have the old OS?
__________________
2010 Camaro 1SS Inferno Orange Magnusson Supercharger Installed and Tuned by ADM Performance, Roto Fab CAI IOM painted, MBRP Cat Back Exhaust, Barton Industries Short Shifter, Clear Image Headers, Pedders coilovers, BMR Front/Rear sway bars Trailing Arms and End Links, VMax ported TB
Coop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 09:41 AM   #778
Russell James


 
Russell James's Avatar
 
Drives: '69 Drag, #37 TA Stock Car, '15 ILE
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 3,762
http://tis2web.xw.gm.com/tis2web

Should be able to plug the VIN in there to determine the O/S and updates available.
Russell James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 09:43 AM   #779
Darth_Emma
Psssssssssshhhhhhhhhhhhh!
 
Darth_Emma's Avatar
 
Drives: under contruction
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Marysville, Ohio
Posts: 13,150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Russell James View Post
http://tis2web.xw.gm.com/tis2web

Should be able to plug the VIN in there to determine the O/S and updates available.
I get this error message when I put my VIN in there:

E4214: WARNING: You have received this message for one of the following reasons:

1. Session has timed out.
2. Another user is using the same user id/password and has terminated your session.
3. Security violation - user does not have access to this application.
__________________
Darth_Emma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 09:49 AM   #780
Silver2SSRS6spd
Prefer to be blown!
 
Silver2SSRS6spd's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Silver/Black 2SS/RS Manual
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 2,678
The GMRulz post makes sense, hope that's it. Guess the first thing would be to check and see if PQ has an early modle.
__________________
MagnaCharger TVS-2300 550rwhp 540 rwt and a radical suspension under the car.
Silver2SSRS6spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 09:49 AM   #781
Russell James


 
Russell James's Avatar
 
Drives: '69 Drag, #37 TA Stock Car, '15 ILE
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 3,762
crap, it must be locked down to dealers. I'm getting the same error with my VIN. If you want to pm me the VIN, one of my neighbor friends is a Chevy service manager. He can access all the tech assist stuff at home with his ID. He's looked up bulletins for me before on weekends, so he should be able to do it if you need it looked up today.
Russell James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 09:50 AM   #782
2010 SS RS

 
2010 SS RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS IBM Black Polished
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,108
If you were an early vin and have taken your car in for the air conditioning "freeze up" flash then it has been updated already for you. If you bought it after the service bulliten for the air conditioning and I think the heater hose fix then it was done before delivery. It would be very rare to have not already had this done..If I remember this only had an effect on 30000 and under vins but cant be certain on that...sunday morning brain freeze and too lazy to look it up.

Good point to raise though. Once you have a tune installed place tape over your obdII with a warning to the dealer not to flash unless they talk to you.

They will load a flash over the top of your tune and set back to stock and then you wont be going anywhere. In my case I am converted to E85 and the car would not even start on a stock tune and would be dangerously lean.
__________________
418 Stroker, 621RWHP 648 lbs TORQUE Built by Laramie GM Auto Center Tuned by Nick at Mac Autosport. EForce SC, 2 3/4pulley,LPE dual fuel pump, JRE Twin fuel rail upgrade, posi clutch kit, RX oilcatch can and breather, Callies Compstar crankshaft and rods, Racing bearings, CP -13.8 race pistons, steel rings, Comp Cams X6 blower cam, Springs, HD timing chain and tensioner, Doug Thorley Tri Y LT headers, 89.7lb injectors, RPM rollbar, DSS1400 shafts, Simpson 5 pt harness, BMR Toe rods and trailing arms, led lights, RPM input and output shafts
2010 SS RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 10:18 AM   #783
Russell James


 
Russell James's Avatar
 
Drives: '69 Drag, #37 TA Stock Car, '15 ILE
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 3,762
Seems though - if the actuator was opened, stock injectors, and OE tune it should idle normally if nothing else was wrong.
Russell James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 10:24 AM   #784
2010 SS RS

 
2010 SS RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS IBM Black Polished
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,108
Quote:
Originally Posted by Russell James View Post
Seems though - if the actuator was opened, stock injectors, and OE tune it should idle normally if nothing else was wrong.
Yeah you got that right....Air is off somewhere or a sensor is sending info to the ECM causing it to over adjust when the trims kick in. Either the maf or the 02 sensors something is reading invalid data and messing with the fuel.
__________________
418 Stroker, 621RWHP 648 lbs TORQUE Built by Laramie GM Auto Center Tuned by Nick at Mac Autosport. EForce SC, 2 3/4pulley,LPE dual fuel pump, JRE Twin fuel rail upgrade, posi clutch kit, RX oilcatch can and breather, Callies Compstar crankshaft and rods, Racing bearings, CP -13.8 race pistons, steel rings, Comp Cams X6 blower cam, Springs, HD timing chain and tensioner, Doug Thorley Tri Y LT headers, 89.7lb injectors, RPM rollbar, DSS1400 shafts, Simpson 5 pt harness, BMR Toe rods and trailing arms, led lights, RPM input and output shafts
2010 SS RS is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to get engine cover modified after a Maggie install? 1meanss Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions 5 03-05-2011 09:00 PM
Another Maggie install .... Luvpilot Forced Induction - V8 9 06-20-2010 09:00 PM
maggie install, hose routing suggestions please n2oSS Forced Induction - V8 6 05-31-2010 03:59 PM
DIY : Install catback on 2010 Camaro SS Nine Ball Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 3 08-09-2009 04:36 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.