Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Nickey Chicago
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8

Forced Induction - V8 V8 Supercharger, turbo, nitrous discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2011, 04:02 PM   #801
zebra
just can't seem to leave
 
zebra's Avatar
 
Drives: your mom wild!!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: cold & windy
Posts: 11,588
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huggerorange73 View Post
Damn, you guys made me drag out all my notes and books from my classes I took

When a car is started, the computer is in open loop until certain criteria is met. The o2 sensors need to be heated to work properly, so this is the main reason there is a delay.

After the sensors are heated up, the car goes into closed loop and the O2 sensors make their corrections.

The computer will go back into open loop under a variety of conditions. Throttle Position (TP) is one way.

There are parameters in the computer that determine what the TP is for Open Loop, and other things.

When that TP is reached, and the car goes open loop, and richens up.


In closed loop fueling, the computer takes readings from the oxygen sensors which read +/- of 14.64 AFR (Stoich) and makes corrections for it. If your car is idling @ 13.5 AFR, the 02s can see this, and will know to pull out enough fuel to get back to stoich.

In open loop, the fueling is purely based off the MAF transfer function and the open loop fuel table. This table has to be calibrated any time you make MAF changes, and changes that affect the airflow of the MAF.

With that being said.....as long as the 02 sensors are warm, he's in the loop..given the fact they are heated, it's likely the car is in fact in closed loop.
ok, gotcha now

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlownSS View Post
Sometimes when you buy stuff from ted, he will give you a free tune!!!!! Maybe give him a call and see what he has to get you going......kinda like buying a tune and getting a free toy!
he didn't buy it from Ted - it was one of Ted's customers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Russell James View Post
That almost sounds like the MAF isn't reading the airflow. I've worked on a few cars that knocked like crazy off idle, and they turned out to be bad MAFs. On some cars you can turn the key off, unplug the MAF, then restart the engine. And if it idles perfectly with the MAF unplugged, something is wrong with the MAF or wiring. The ECM will use a default value if the MAF is unplugged. I've never tried that on a Camaro, but it has worked on every other car I've suspected a bad MAF.

The arrow on the MAF is pointing toward the engine? It can go in backwards.
is the MAF in a different location than stock with the Fastlane? that could also be throwing off the canned Maggie tune

Quote:
Originally Posted by Russell James View Post
Seems though - if the actuator was opened, stock injectors, and OE tune it should idle normally if nothing else was wrong.
actuator is now tied open, using the bigger injectors, and the OE tune wouldn't be that great with that huge intake & catless LTs

Quote:
Originally Posted by camaro1 View Post
have you even invested in a scan tool yet,, pick one up at your local parts store,, at least one that has live data,, it will at least give you the basics of what is going on

look at your LTFT and STFT (long and short term fuel trims) and see what they are doing,, this will tell you alot!!

what did you use to extend your map sensor harness to the rear of the supercharger intake, did you use your original map sensor from your intake manifold or was there a map already installed on the supercharger, and is it also reading correct on the scan tool. and is the small vacuum port plugged on the back of the supercharger by the map sensor
the SCT acts as a scan tool, if i remember right
the boost gauge port is plugged for now
__________________
zebra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 04:36 PM   #802
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,874
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2010 SS RS View Post
They only turned the rear O2 sensors off right? I thought I read that earlier. The fronts have to remain on in order to work. the multiple cylinder misfire is common on SC applications and can be turned off by your tuner. The lean sensor is the one that is the problem. Once you finally get your car to a tuner then it is probalby only 15 min away from running the way you want. Crazy that there are none in your area but I would not just go to the closest and available guy out there. The tuning is so vital to the safety of your engine and must be done by someone with a good rep. Even if it means you have to load it up and drive to get to one. It will be worth it and mean fewer problems down the road. I went thru two months while building mine so I totally know the frustration and brain thoughts you must be having. But it will be worth it.
Just waiting to find a tuner and get a trailer and truck. Gotta know where I"m taking it and when.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Russell James View Post
Does P0650 reset if you clear it and then restart and run the engine a couple times?

Is the check engine light working? With those 3 codes it should be on. It should also do a bulb check at first key on.

That MIL code means either there is a problem in the circuit to the MIL lamp, or an ECM problem.

If P0650 comes back after clearing, I think that's the key to whatever is wrong.
I'll clear it for now just for the hell of it.

I'm just in waiting mode now till a tuner can get ahold of it.










Anyone know where I can get one of these? I'll call Magnuson and order one but I was hoping to get one locally. Went to 2 different Orileis, an Auto Zone, Car Quest, Advanced auto, and and a couple others today. Nobody even knows what the hell I'm talking about.

Name:  IMG_1106.JPG
Views: 564
Size:  115.3 KB
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 04:46 PM   #803
KILLER74Z28
MOD SQUAD
 
KILLER74Z28's Avatar
 
Drives: 2G1FT1EW9A9100666
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 5,675
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
Just waiting to find a tuner and get a trailer and truck. Gotta know where I"m taking it and when.

I'll clear it for now just for the hell of it.

I'm just in waiting mode now till a tuner can get ahold of it.

Anyone know where I can get one of these? I'll call Magnuson and order one but I was hoping to get one locally. Went to 2 different Orileis, an Auto Zone, Car Quest, Advanced auto, and and a couple others today. Nobody even knows what the hell I'm talking about.

Attachment 198940
Man, this is turning out to be a looooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooong mod install...
__________________

Who cares about the Blue Oval crowd and their little Ponys? We're getting our Camaro back-and it'll be Supercharged!-MDAII
Team LS3
KILLER74Z28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 04:46 PM   #804
wkdivr
 
Drives: 2004 GMC
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: W.Pa
Posts: 43
If you're trying to block off that port, you'll need a 1/8" pipe plug, I think. I think you could use that port for a fuel pressure gauge, too. If you're pointing to that whole block, then, then, no you're not going to find it locally. It's a custom piece made for the Magnuson fuel rails.
wkdivr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 04:54 PM   #805
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,874
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by KILLER74Z28 View Post
Man, this is turning out to be a looooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooong mod install...


It's just the tune. I underestimated my mods not working with the stock Maggie tune.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wkdivr View Post
If you're trying to block off that port, you'll need a 1/8" pipe plug, I think. I think you could use that port for a fuel pressure gauge, too. If you're pointing to that whole block, then, then, no you're not going to find it locally. It's a custom piece made for the Magnuson fuel rails.
I have the plug. I took it out to match the theads, but the schrader type valve that goes on it is what the fuel pressure gauge hooks to. I have a new gauge, but need the valve to fit it to. Just the valve. Not the whole braket.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 05:10 PM   #806
wkdivr
 
Drives: 2004 GMC
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: W.Pa
Posts: 43
Can you take the schrader valve off your stock rails?
wkdivr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 05:17 PM   #807
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,874
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by wkdivr View Post
Can you take the schrader valve off your stock rails?
Nope. It's not removeable.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 07:45 PM   #808
Jeddler
 
Jeddler's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Red 2SS RS A6
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Angelo, Tx
Posts: 150
PQ, does Your FP gauge sending unit have a male end? What brand is it? I may have some fittings laying around from a previous build that could make it work.

Jed
__________________
2013 Race Red Ford SVT Raptor: Luxury package. Stock for now.
2011 BLACK Tahoe LT 4x4: K&N 77 Series, Elite Engineering catch can

2010 RED 2SS/RS A6: SOLD!!!:(
2011 WHITE Silverado crew cab Z71 LTZ, 6.2L: SOLD!!!
Jeddler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 08:00 PM   #809
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,874
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeddler View Post
PQ, does Your FP gauge sending unit have a male end? What brand is it? I may have some fittings laying around from a previous build that could make it work.

Jed
Bought this one.

http://www.actron.com/product_detail.php?pid=16174

It doesn't have the male end I need to go into the fuel rail.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 09:11 PM   #810
Jeddler
 
Jeddler's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Red 2SS RS A6
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Angelo, Tx
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
Bought this one.

http://www.actron.com/product_detail.php?pid=16174

It doesn't have the male end I need to go into the fuel rail.
Damn. If I knew exactly how that FP tester tied in I could do some searching on summitracing and find the fittings that you would need.
I'm still trying to find the schrader valves that screw into 1/8"NPT. Isn't that what you would need?
I think Chevy's schrader valve size is -4an if that helps. I'll look some more tommorow and I'm sorry If none of this helps.

Jed
__________________
2013 Race Red Ford SVT Raptor: Luxury package. Stock for now.
2011 BLACK Tahoe LT 4x4: K&N 77 Series, Elite Engineering catch can

2010 RED 2SS/RS A6: SOLD!!!:(
2011 WHITE Silverado crew cab Z71 LTZ, 6.2L: SOLD!!!

Last edited by Jeddler; 01-16-2011 at 09:33 PM.
Jeddler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 10:27 PM   #811
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,874
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeddler View Post
Damn. If I knew exactly how that FP tester tied in I could do some searching on summitracing and find the fittings that you would need.
I'm still trying to find the schrader valves that screw into 1/8"NPT. Isn't that what you would need?
I think Chevy's schrader valve size is -4an if that helps. I'll look some more tommorow and I'm sorry If none of this helps.

Jed
No sweat. Basically it looks like a fat tire valve. The stock Camaros all have one on the end of the drivers side fuel rail. It's just not removeable. The end of the tester hose just screws onto the valve.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 10:53 PM   #812
Kilo-9
Dog Is My Copilot
 
Kilo-9's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,373
On my 4th gen, I used a 1/8" NPT 90° elbow from Earl's and mounted a small Autometer fuel pressure gauge right to the rail:
Attached Images
 
__________________
Kilo-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 10:59 PM   #813
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,874
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilo-9 View Post
On my 4th gen, I used a 1/8" NPT 90° elbow from Earl's and mounted a small Autometer fuel pressure gauge right to the rail:
So where do I find that fitting?

OH, and DAMN that looks pretty.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 11:04 PM   #814
Kilo-9
Dog Is My Copilot
 
Kilo-9's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,373
Thanks! Unfortunately, I had to sell the 4th gen to buy the 5th gen. Oh well, it was a great choice in my mind!

Here is a link to the fitting info:
http://www.holley.com/991401ERL.asp
Summit and Jegs both stock Earl's.

Here's a link to the gauge:
http://www.autometer.com/cat_gaugede...earch&gid=2808
Also available at Summit and Jegs.
__________________

Last edited by Kilo-9; 01-16-2011 at 11:06 PM. Reason: Wrong gauge link.
Kilo-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 11:08 PM   #815
Kilo-9
Dog Is My Copilot
 
Kilo-9's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,373
Actually, if there's room, you could screw the gauge directly into the hole on the Magnuson fuel block. The inlet of the Autometer gauge is 1/8" NPT.
__________________
Kilo-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 11:22 PM   #816
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,874
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
I need this. Only not red.



Name:  filtered%20fitting.jpg
Views: 459
Size:  21.2 KB
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 12:46 AM   #817
KILLER74Z28
MOD SQUAD
 
KILLER74Z28's Avatar
 
Drives: 2G1FT1EW9A9100666
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 5,675
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post


It's just the tune. I underestimated my mods not working with the stock Maggie tune.

I have the plug. I took it out to match the theads, but the schrader type valve that goes on it is what the fuel pressure gauge hooks to. I have a new gauge, but need the valve to fit it to. Just the valve. Not the whole braket.
From your misfortunes we all learn a valuable lesson. Thanks for being our CAMARO5 martyr...

__________________

Who cares about the Blue Oval crowd and their little Ponys? We're getting our Camaro back-and it'll be Supercharged!-MDAII
Team LS3
KILLER74Z28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 12:59 AM   #818
zebra
just can't seem to leave
 
zebra's Avatar
 
Drives: your mom wild!!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: cold & windy
Posts: 11,588
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
I need this. Only not red.
well i highly doubt you're gonna find one in Inferno Orange

Quote:
Originally Posted by KILLER74Z28 View Post
From your misfortunes we all learn a valuable lesson. Thanks for being our CAMARO5 martyr...

i was gonna say guinea pig, but that works, too
__________________
zebra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 01:15 AM   #819
bilydean
 
bilydean's Avatar
 
Drives: One of the rare ABM camaros
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 418
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
I need this. Only not red.



Attachment 199073
Try this link.
https://www.race-mart.com/Fragola-FRG-481604.html

Dean
__________________
1100 4/28
2000 5/23
3000 5/27
3400 6/20 TPW of 6/29
3800 7/3
4D00 7/8 interned at QC
4B00 7/16 Released from QC
4200 7/20

8/5 We picked up the car

Last edited by bilydean; 01-17-2011 at 01:16 AM. Reason: wrong link
bilydean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 01:18 AM   #820
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,874
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by KILLER74Z28 View Post
From your misfortunes we all learn a valuable lesson. Thanks for being our CAMARO5 martyr...

You can save money buying used but be prepared to order stuff. If your set-up is far from stock, have a way to get the car to the tuners. Find a tuner in advance.

I'll still have saved about 900.00 but what a pain.
Quote:
Originally Posted by zebra View Post
well i highly doubt you're gonna find one in Inferno Orange



i was gonna say guinea pig, but that works, too
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 03:34 AM   #821
brAnd7onX
Team L99
 
brAnd7onX's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS IOM
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,535
Read this whole entire thread starting from post 1 and just finished (2 hours). PQ seems to have the worst luck dating all the way back to when he first got the car and he had to do a fuse pull from running low octane gas

Are they working on the tune as we speak?
brAnd7onX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 07:52 AM   #822
Darth_Emma
Psssssssssshhhhhhhhhhhhh!
 
Darth_Emma's Avatar
 
Drives: under contruction
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Marysville, Ohio
Posts: 13,151
Quote:
Originally Posted by brAnd7onX View Post
Read this whole entire thread starting from post 1 and just finished (2 hours). PQ seems to have the worst luck dating all the way back to when he first got the car and he had to do a fuse pull from running low octane gas

Are they working on the tune as we speak?

Yeah, but his misadventures are never boring and always educational with a smattering of humor thrown in. This site wouldn't be what it is without PQ!
__________________
Darth_Emma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 08:51 AM   #823
klatterblast

 
klatterblast's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 2ssrs blk.
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: walker la.
Posts: 1,700
PQ did you find a tuner ? come to baton rouge and let geoff tune it he is good.
http://www.engpwrsys.com/
__________________
T-BONES BLACK 2SSRS TEAM L99

CAI w/ADM scoop,Magnacharged 3.8 pulley,L92 ported heads,ss valves,patriot springs,yella terra rockers,Comp cam,L99 to LS3 conv.ATI super damper,Taylor plug wires,NGK plugs,ARH 1 7/8 lt headers w/Borla stingers,Elite oil catch can,trans cooler,Jannetty built Richmond 4.11 rear end,Spohn trailing arms,front Racing Brake rotors,Hawk hps pads,BMR end links,AACstyle lighting. Thanks to Shane & crew for engine work at Thunder Racing & tuner Jeoff at EPS. 501rwhp-463rwtq ++
klatterblast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 10:13 AM   #824
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,874
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by brAnd7onX View Post
Read this whole entire thread starting from post 1 and just finished (2 hours). PQ seems to have the worst luck dating all the way back to when he first got the car and he had to do a fuse pull from running low octane gas

Are they working on the tune as we speak?
I am spending the day today pounding the pavement to find a tuner here. If I can't, I'll have to go somewhere.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth_Emma View Post
Yeah, but his misadventures are never boring and always educational with a smattering of humor thrown in. This site wouldn't be what it is without PQ!
I really ain't this big of a trainwreck.

This stuff is just all new to me. I should have had a tuner already. The plan was to get it going with the maggie tune and drive it till I found a tuner.

Quote:
Originally Posted by klatterblast View Post
PQ did you find a tuner ? come to baton rouge and let geoff tune it he is good.
http://www.engpwrsys.com/
That link does not work. BUT, I may go there. You got a number for them?
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 10:25 AM   #825
GTAHVIT
One Lucky Guy.
 
GTAHVIT's Avatar
 
Drives: #22 Tom Henry Racing 2010 2SS/RS
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Saint Augustine FL
Posts: 28,770
Quote:
Originally Posted by Russell James View Post
crap, it must be locked down to dealers. I'm getting the same error with my VIN. If you want to pm me the VIN, one of my neighbor friends is a Chevy service manager. He can access all the tech assist stuff at home with his ID. He's looked up bulletins for me before on weekends, so he should be able to do it if you need it looked up today.
google "tis2web"

then click on the first link in the list.

Should work then.


GTAHVIT is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to get engine cover modified after a Maggie install? 1meanss Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions 5 03-05-2011 09:00 PM
Another Maggie install .... Luvpilot Forced Induction - V8 9 06-20-2010 09:00 PM
maggie install, hose routing suggestions please n2oSS Forced Induction - V8 6 05-31-2010 03:59 PM
DIY : Install catback on 2010 Camaro SS Nine Ball Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 3 08-09-2009 04:36 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.